We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite hotel in Waikiki”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“My favorite hotel in Waikiki”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This property went through an extensive renovation about 4 years ago and it definitely shows. The standard rooms are fine, nothing fancy. But, there is so much to do at this hotel and the location is the BEST. For example, within the hotel there is a Baskin Robins ice cream parlor (genius) and several nice shops. And, just outside the hotel there is a food court just steps away with lots of choices. And, the beach location is perfection. Although there are TONS of tourists at Waikiki Beach, there is a reason why some call it the best beach in the world. Great sand and gently rolling waves mean you can relax with the kids. One afternoon, we played with a sea turtle in just three feet of water. The hotel staff said it was fairly rare to see one on this busy beach. Overall, a great hotel for families and couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Esqtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your recent feedback. We are always thrilled to read such wonderful comments about our resort. We are happy you enjoy the enhancement we have made over the years and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,236
    2,218
    843
    315
    252
See reviews for
2,033
2,059
161
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great location. The staff are extremely friendly and very service oriented. I would highly recommend this hotel. The building is older but has been well maintained. Restaurant pricing is high with fair to good quality; therefore suggest that you eat offsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your recommendation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This hotel would be great for families. We had a Diamond Head view and I'd say it'd have to be one of the best views you could get on Waikiki. We had booked a smoking room but when we checked in we were told that hotel had become 100% non-smoking. It would have been nice to have been told this before we checked in - one of the reasons we chose this hotel because it was one of a few hotels in Honolulu that had smoking rooms. There is a smoking area on Level 2 which consisted of a concrete roof top - no chairs - no shade.
It's a bit noisy but you have to expect that with so many families staying there.
Staff friendliness is a bit hit and miss - the guy who checked us in was really friendly. The woman who checked us out couldn't have been less interested in us (or her job!!). One nice touch - we left a tip every day for the housemaid with a thank you note - each day she left a note thanking us - that's nice and something I haven't seen in other US hotels.
I don't get the resort charge thing. Why not just increase the daily tariff?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvlerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and apologize for any confusion or lack of communication regarding our smoking policy. We would greatly appreciate knowing how you booked your stay so we can be sure to have the information corrected immediately. Thank you again for your great feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

I was very surprised, in a bad way, by this hotel. Staff were generally very unhelpful and borderline rude with the exception of the club lounge staff who were actually very good. Room had items of trash in corners, pools were murky/unclean and seemed unable to cope with the sheer volume of people in them and associated dirt/sunscreen. Water coolers at pool NEVER had any water in them and only time pool staff spoke to us was to shout at my 2 sons who had inadvertently gone into the adult pool (no signs we could see to advise they were not allowed). When they went into the other poo, area and (again no signs) went into the slide area they were actually screamed at by an attendant as they were now too big for that pool. Food by pool was average but very expensive. When I asked why we had no robes in our room I was bluntly told only club guest got those and I was only a Platinum Starwood guest - first time that has ever been so dismissed.

There also seems to be a partly submerged wall in the water at the beach which my woife was slammed against by a wave.

Club Lounge (yes we had access to that but could not have a bath robe..) was actually excellent and staff there were warm and helpful.

Without doubt the worst and most unfriendly Starwood property I have ever stayed at. Just my opinion, but I would not stay here again

Room Tip: Book a club room as Lounge has excellent view and good breakfast. Upgrading when you get there seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 179Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. We would appreciate connecting with you directly so we can properly follow up with you, as some of your comments are very concerning. Mahalo, 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

All the things in this Hotell is great. Good and great service, i love this place and the breakfast is sooo good, speciel the orange juices. The massage you need to try, its really really good. i took 30 minutes and i never feelt that good in my life

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenak738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed the fresh juice, massage and everything else during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Start your day with Massimo an amazing enthusiastic instructor to do yoga aquatic a great way to start your morning with this beautiful Italian sexy man! Must do it every morning to have a pleasurable day (his gorgeous) and if you make it to be the finalist you get a 10min massage over looking the beach complementary AMAZING!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Talia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful comments about our Yogaquatics and infinity pool. We are delighted you enjoyed an invigorating start to your day. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything at this hotel is very well done. The rooms all look recently updated and are kept very clean. I didn't get a chance to get to any of their restaurants but the pool bartenders and wait staff are great. There is no better Maitai than the ones they make there. With all the shops in the lobby and the Waikiki traffic I wouldn't call it a relaxing place to stay and walk around but if you want peace and quiet then you're really not going to find it anywhere on the strip.

The front desk staff seemed a little slow at checking people in but this might be due to the fact that there are many different international travelers here and the staff has to be able to communicate with all of them. With all the traffic in and out of the shops and pool the hotel is kept very clean. The hotel isn't cheap but I never felt like I wasn't getting my money's worth. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing