We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I usually don't complain but I have to in this case. I am currently staying at the Sheraton Waikiki and had an issue starting from us checking in! I booked a two queen bed bedroom about a year ago and the rooms has been paid in full since that time. When my friend and I checked in we were told they no longer have two queen bed rooms available. The front desk lady went into the back room and was gone for twenty minutes until she came back to say all she can do is give us a king. We said that was unacceptable and which led her to go back into the back office to "look things up" and moments later came back and said oh we JUST had a cancellation for a two queen bed room. Like we bought that lie. We proceed to our room to only be further disappointed with the lack of quality. This is rated as a four star hotel but the room we were given does not match the star rating of the hotel. I paid a good amount of money to stay here and I am now questioning that decision. The room is tiny and extremely bare. You don't get the Hawaiian feel and I could be convinced this is a room you'd find at a motel 8... No exaggeration.

You would have thought the room situation was a fluke but come to find out my friend whose wedding we are here for had the same issue the day before and was told they no longer have a king bed available but can offer her two queens... Mind you they are on their honeymoon!! Not okay. And two and a half hours later she was given her king bed room that she booked.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sketz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are very sorry about the inconveniences you experienced and we are happy they were taken care of. We appreciate your feedback about encourage you to contact us directly if you encounter any other issues during your stay. Thank you again and we hope you enjoy the rest of your stay. 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,034)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Waikiki
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,362 - 2,368 of 6,034 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

We renewed our vows here at the Sheraton Waikiki. There was a bit of a glitch with the changing of the guards in terms of the catering coordinator. No worries, though. We had an excellent time at the pools and it is very close to the beach. It is open to the public so please be aware that you are not the only person sharing the space. Food was excellent at the places we chose to eat at and the rooms are very clean and the views are amazing.

Room Tip: If you can afford to get a room that looks over the ocean do so. It is worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafandsara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your wonderful review. Congratulations on renewing your vows, we're very happy you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed 8 nights in a 1BR suite looking down Waikiki to Diamond Head in the distance. Priceless.
Cool hotel - Great breezy open main floor, with several shops & cafes. (Their beachfront café -Edge of Waikiki - is quite good, as is the RumFire Bar). Beautiful grounds. It's a block from Kalakaua, the main E-W drag, and a block from Lewers St, which has a bunch of good shops & restaurants. BIG pool for the families, which is in the shade of the building in the afternoon (plus OR minus, depending). The cool infinity pool is off limits for kids - a minus for me, since mine are old enough NOT to act like kids when the occasion prompts. They'd have liked to hang there.
All staff we encountered were friendly and professional. Notably, the valet guys out front especially. Hula Grill, which we liked so much we went twice, is a three minute walk up the beach.
A few minuses:
--It's at the west end of Waikiki - GREAT for views if your room faces east, but a 5-10 minute walk to the center of Waikiki. No biggie, but we had surfboards with us and it was a bit of a trek to Canoes (surf break there)
--The furniture in the room needed serious updating. I didn't care, since we had beach all over us all the time. But did I mention the view?
--Crowded. Like all hotels in the area that are worth staying at, I'd presume.

That's about it, though. We roamed a bit by or through some of the hotels I passed on before reserving at the Sheraton. The Moana Surfrider might be a worthy competitor, if my wife and I were there sans kids. But with them (12 & 14yo), it's no contest.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$ for the Waikiki/Diamond Head view.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrGeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are delighted you chose to stay with us and appreciate your great comments and feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back on your next Hawaiian vacation. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

It's hard to find a hotel with a location where from your room you can watch people swimming and surfing on Waikiki Beach, but go downstairs and you are really close to the Main Street and shops, restaurants etc.

We've stayed a number of times and will again. Great for families .

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with an ocean view, it's well worth it.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woodstony00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your wonderful feedback. We are very happy you have enjoyed your numerous stays and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at the Sheraton in Hawaii back in 2011 with my sister. It was such a beautiful hotel. Amazing exterior as well as interior, great room, great view, very nice staff. The room was clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed and good air con ! Our view was great over looking the ocean and infinity pool. We had a breakfast one morning down at the buffet which was great. Very nice atmosphere over looking the ocean as well as very attentive and kind staff. I believe that the hotel was good value for money...a bit on the expensive side but still very good. Have a Baskin Robins in the hotel lobby was also very good. The pool and bar area looked great although didnt have time to relax down there as we were only there for a few days and there was just too much to see ! This was defs a hotel I would return to. Great location as well ! xo alexandria xo

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are amazing, also try to get a high floor as the noise from the pool area can get...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexandriaMcInerney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Sheraton Waikiki Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled you and your sister enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Traveled in June with family. We have 2 kids, 10 and 7 years old. We have been to Oahu before but never stayed in Waikiki. If you like the busy tourist experience, this hotel is ideal. It is in a great location with shops and restaurants within walking distance.

The staff at the hotel were great and very friendly. The breakfast buffet at Kai and take out food at Ingredients was also great (try their pizza).

The pool was great for kids. They have a kiddy pool area and water slides. They also have an adult only infinity pool.

The only draw back with this hotel was the condition of the room. It was showing it's age. No dressor or closet space for clothes. The room just seemed dusty and a little dirty. Mold around the bath tubs and tiles were visible. I would have given the hotel 3 stars just based on the room but since we got it at such a bargain I gave it a 4.

I would only recommend this hotel if you get a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twosweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback. We are very excited you liked the pizza and pools. Our management team is currently working on our next updates to our guest rooms and your comments are very helpful. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

$30 a night is a lot to add to the bill that very few people seem to know about. All hotels in hawaii seem to do this but the Sheraton Waikiki was the dearest. It also caters for the Japanese tourist with price of items displayed in Japanese first.
The hotel was good clean and centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlegem558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Guest Experience Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your recent feedback about your stay with us. We are very sorry to learn you were unaware of our resort fee. We have information about it located in numerous areas of our website and require all of our travel agent partners to post the information noting the fee upon booking and confirmation. Please let us know where you booked and we will be happy to contact them to ensure they update their information. Mahalo again for your comments and we look forward to connecting with you soon. 377GuestExperienceTeam@Sheraton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,077 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $323 - $679 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing