We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Geraldton, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Romantic Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Sheraton Waikiki was our first stop on our honeymoon early 2012. We loved our 5 days here in an ocean front room on the 23rd floor. Staff were friendly and helpful and we received a bottle of champagne because we were honeymooners as well as a room upgrade we were told. We had actually booked the ocean front room just in case we didn't get the free honeymoon upgrade offered by our travel agent. Loved the pool and lounge area although the sun lounges were usually full. the hotel is in a great location. Everything we needed was close by. The restaurants at the front of the hotel near the pool were amazing at night with beautiful views by candle light and excellent food. you need to get there early though as it seems to be very popular, with people waiting. Our room was clean, beds very comfortable and i would definitely go back... for longer this time. 5 days is not nearly enough! Perfect for a wedding or honeymoon destination.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a must for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiehoneymooners12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    2,181
    826
    307
    247
See reviews for
1,987
2,013
160
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January 2013. Had initally booked to stay at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani but they moved us to the Sheraton Waikiki as they had overbooked. The rooms were ok, not as big as the Hilton but fairly nicely fitted out. We had a terrible view down over some rubbish dumpsters but the pool area (which we couldn't see from our room) had recently been redone & was very nice.
It's in a great central location, next to the 'pink'hotel & has good shops in the foyer etc and check in/out staff were friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Mrs_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Spent new years holidays in Wiakiki and were very dissapointed at the level of cleanliness.

First room was filthy throughout with stained bedcovers and bathroom disgusting.
Asked for another room which had pubic hairs on toilet seat and bedsheets, had to call the manager who whitnessed it himself and agreed not to their expected standard.

Certainly not a 4 Star hotel as promoted in Australia will certainly not be recommending to anyone, should have booked Princess Moana, stayed there 2 years ago and was fantasctic.

Room Tip: Always check condition before unpacking your bags
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mikexyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for 6 days in a deluxe ocean front room. We were on a high level and the view was spectacular. It was lovely sitting on the balcony early in the morning and again in the evening. We prefer rooms which have a balcony with a railing which you could see through. Two out of three floors have solid balconies. The rooms are large but fairly basic.

The adult only infinity pool is very pleasant with the large bean bags to float around on. We thoroughly enjoyed relaxing in these bean bags and taking in the view along the beach of Diamond Head. You do have to be at the pool early in the morning to secure a lounge. We didn't experience the family pool area. The covered lounges are for hire and we found them quite expensive.

We did order room service for breakfast twice and this was quite satisfactory. We had to pay a resort fee for the phone, wi-fi etc. The small beach on the right hand side of the infinity pool is also very nice to swim at. Their is a catamaran that leaves from there at regular intervals during the day.

Easy access to the main street through the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Arcade.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kim11P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were very impressed with the hotel and surrounds. We got a good deal for 3 nights.
But were surprised when we found out that the main pool was closed for renovations and there were huge building works going on. You could not get anywhere near the front entrance. It was just a massive building site. For any responsible, respectable hotel or booking agent they would have told you - but no mention was made at all about this prior or at booking.
Also in our hotel booking we pre-paid for $48.00US for hotel to airport shuttle transfers. When our shuttle arrived - which was the tour company operating through the hotel, they refused to honor or accept our pre-paid receipt /voucher. Our flight was at 11pm. The shuttle was late (pre-planned I expect so we didn't have time to do anything else) No one was around to be able to rectify and the shuttle guy was so rude and aggressive. We tried to get a taxi but it was cheaper and quicker to get the shuttle - so had to pay another $50.00US.
It left a bitter taste - especially as it was our honeymoon. And its not like we can afford this sort of hotel normally - and with the exchange rate to USD dollars it was double our currency - so not as if its not that big a deal. Guy Kobayashi was the agent on the voucher - it was starwood tours - and Ilima tour and transportation. but they're probably out of business now and using a different name - as it was a couple of years ago. But thought people should be warned.
(We had a similar thing happen in New Orleans from a hotel to the wharf for a ship cruise - they doubled the cost, were late so you couldn't do anything, were so aggressive and rude and loud to intimidate you and then get worse when you refuse to tip them for their scam.)
Also watch the parrot guys on the street up waikiki. The come and tell you to hold their parrot. The take a photo and then tell you its $USD10-20 donation for the welfare of the parrot. They say the photo will take 15 mins to develop an you walk away with a photo that never actually develops as the camera was bung and a fuzzy blur of a photo that you didn't really want in the first place.
But otherwise Hawaii is great, landscape, temperature, food, nature, sun, sea and sand.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

This last trip we took was the first big trip with my toddler and my husband, so I thought it wise to pay a little more for a 'nicer' hotel so that we would be taken care of. No fuss no muss.

However, for over $2000.00USD for a week's stay; there were no bathrobes provided, no bath slippers. Internet was not free, and had to be covered by a 'Daily Resort Charge' (see DRC info below).

Due to an extreme mix up regarding the reservation, I was hassled every single day by hotel staff to sort out the charges on the reservation. I had to spend at least an hour every day downstairs talking to hotel staff to sort it out.

They also have a new 'Daily Resort Charge' which was a prerequisite to pay which covered basic amenities in the room like Wifi, Bottled Water and Free breakfast for one child with a paying adult. Because of the mix up, they expected me to pay the 'Daily Resort Charge', even though I had intermittent access to the Wifi and Housekeeping staff didn't show up every day.

Instead of enjoying my week in Waikiki, we spent more time discussing the issues with our hotel room than enjoying hotel itself.

Lastly, the in-house laundromat is horrendously hot. Couldn't get out there fast enough after loading all my clothes. The washer and drier were very hold and not working properly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoyalTemptress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We visited Oahu for only two days -- just long enough to visit Pearl Harbor. Our trips to Maui and Kauai were our real tropical retreat destinations.
We were pleased with our stay at the Sheraton Waikiki. The first thing that struck us was the open lobby/first floor. There were no doors and the wind whirled through, not a bad thing, just unusual. We sat on rocking chairs by the koi pond as we waited for our room to be ready and watched a parade of well dressed ladies to almost naked bikini-clad girls.
Our beach-front room was well-appointed and comfortable, and it overlooked the infinity swimming pool below. The infinity pool isn't really intended for swimming as much as it is for lounging and floating on big pillows -- very relaxing.
The tour bus for the Pear Harbor tour arrives very early in the morning, before any of the Sheraton restaurants are open. We had seen a Denny's restaurant nearby the night before, so we had breakfast at Denny's on Waikiki! We ate there as a last resort and were surprised with the cleanliness, excellent service and excellent food!!! Who knew? So, the next morning, we went back to Denny's as our first choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadrunnersNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing