We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

My daughter and I stayed for 3 nights in October 2012. Check in was painless and efficient. The room was comfortable and reasonably well appointed. We used room service and this was very good. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful. The infinity pool was great and we appreciated the "no rug rats" policy! We ate in the restaurant and were very happy with this too. Loved this so much that I am returning in February with my husband!

Room Tip: Breakfast is expensive if you don't have a big appetite. Pay the extra for the ocean view, it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neeceyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    2,180
    826
    307
    247
See reviews for
1,987
2,012
160
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki for 5 nights for our anniversary. It was the first trip to Hawaii for both of us. The hotel was great. I don't really think the location could've been better. We enjoy being able to walk around and see different things on vacation and there were tons of great shops right there. We had a pretty basic room. It was nice and comfortable. Decent size too. But if you're going to Hawaii to spend time in your hotel room you shouldn't be going anyway! The great thing was being able to walk right out onto the beach. We took the elevator down, took a quick left and you were looking out across a beautiful infinity pool right onto the ocean. Being able to relax in the pool and watch the ocean and sunsets was amazing. There was a small patch of beach that was pretty private off to the side. You have to watch for the catamarans when they come in, but was a great little area to play in the waves. We're already planning a return trip and I'd be shocked if this isn't the place we pick again. I usually like to change it up a little and try different hotels if I return to a location but I can't imagine any place working better for what we like.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vince R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

One of the best locations in Waikiki. The resort is quite large which makes it impersonable. The staff in the reception area would not know who is coming or going. The adults infinity pool is fantastic, but sometimes it is hard to get a spot. The aqua aerobics team were really good. The rooms were decent, the only changes I would recommend is installing screens to the sliding door as we had seagulls entering our room. You need the doors open for fresh air. Secondly, lounge chairs on the balcony would be ideal.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totzys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in late September. Check in was easy. The hotel itself was pretty crowded for late Sept. Our room was on the 4th floor overlooking the garden area of the hotel next door and of Diamond Head. Lovely view and quiet. We also had a very large patio with 2 chairs and a table. Very cozy beds with nice linens and 4 pillows each. The bathroom had a strange mirror/window that looked into the main part of the room. Nice for a couple maybe, but not for us. One issue we had was that if we wanted a lounge chair by the pool, we had to arrive at the pool deck by about 7am! One morning, we arrived at 6:45 and someone had already placed some items on several lounge chairs. So, we mentioned it to a pool guy who said he'd "tag" it. By 9:40, no one ever showed up. We asked if he'd come move the items so we could move closer to the pool, only to be told he'd tag it then! Tagging was a 2 hour wait, so we waited for 5 hours for someone who NEVER showed up! Very aggravating. Left a very bad taste in my mouth. I feel it's very rude for people to hog chairs they have no intention of using. (just my opinion) As for the location, it's near lots of great restaurants and shopping. Upscale and chain places. I doubt I'd stay here again. If I were to return to Waikiki, I'd stay next door the the Royal Hawaiian.

Room Tip: A high room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmksandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Recently stayed 3 nights at the Sheraton Waikiki and was not impressed.

Room Assignment: Despite having a reservation that indicated "Ocean View" for which we paid additional fees for attendance at a conference, my wife and I received a Partial Ocean View room (meaning we could only see the ocean from the balcony). After seeing the room, I immediately returned to the SPG Gold member check-in desk and spoke to a Manager about the room. He indicated that he could not change our room that night (despite the fact that we're Gold members and paid for a full ocean view) and would check for different availability the next day. We never heard from the manager for the rest of our stay. He did provide complimentary access to the club lounge for our stay, which had amazing views. However, it was disappointing to be on the beach and not have the view for which we paid.

SPG Gold Members: As mentioned above, no upgrade (this hotel is apparently always very booked, I was told it is sold out 300 days per year, so chances of any type of upgrade are slim). As a Gold member we did receive free valet parking ($33 /day), which was a nice benefit.

Lobby: As others have mentioned, when you enter the lobby, it is difficult to tell that you are in a hotel, as it is open with shops and constant flow of traffic. Consequently, it is not very welcoming as guests.

Rooms: The rooms are minimalist with very average appointments in both the bathroom and bedroom. Nothing special considering the daily rates paid. The beds were comfortable. There is a closet with shelves, but no dresser to store your clothes. Other than our items on hangers, we lived out of our suitcase.

Kai Market: We ate the buffet breakfast daily and the breakfast food was generally good and we had a very pleasant server (Elaine) two days. She earned our SPA chip and she seemed very pleased to receive it -- giving the chip was one of the highlights of the trip and is a great idea.

Pools: This hotel is extremely crowded and the pools are not that big, so we never spent any time at the pools. The infinity pool is beautiful but people begin reserving chairs at 6 am, so you must get there early to secure a spot. The other pool seemed to be more family-oriented and also very crowded. At both pools the lounge chairs are touching each other (so I hope you like your neighbor).

Location: Very good location for Waikiki -- minutes from shopping, restaurants and the beach.

Crowds: This is a very crowded hotel (think New York busy) and not as peaceful as some of the neighboring hotels.

Japanese Clientele: There is a significant Japanese clientele and the hotel does a good job catering to them -- the breakfast buffet has many Japanese breakfast items, there are Japanese items in one of the markets and a Japanese restaurant (we did not eat here). I think this would be positive if you are Japanese.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is GREAT! Views are awesome. You can walk to everything. The beach walk is beautiful.We had friends staying in 2 other nearby hotels that you could reach by walking on the beach. Amenities are first class and the staff is exceptional. Having said that that downside is that the area around the hotel is way too crowded. The streetside from 9 AM to 5 PM is like any city.
I'm glad that we stayed in Waikiki for our first visit but will pick less busy part of Hawaii when we return. A must visit spot is a small beach 15 minutes north of Diamond Head next to the Blow Hole Park. The signs say stay out but the locals climb down over the rocks to the sand and spend their day there. We did this on 2 afternoons.

Room Tip: Anything on the beach side has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walkoj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went to Honolulu for the first time and stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki. This is truly a 5 star hotel with the best facilities and pools in Waikiki. All the staff were a pleasure to deal with, from the ladies in reception to the pool boys, in particular Jason from reservations he was fantastic when coordinating our holiday, he set the mood for our Sheraton experience in Hawaii. I can't thank him enough.
Our room was amazing overlooking Diamond Head and Waikiki beach, the view was breath taking!
Some people complain about the daily amenity fee but when you consider this fee includes secure parking, free wifi, bottled water, a photo of your stay plus so much more, in my opinion it's very good value.
There are so many things to like about this Hotel and I must not forget the food, we loved RumFire, great atmoshere and yummy food.
We can't wait to get back to Hawaii and wouldn't stay anywhere else.
Thank you for a wonderful and a very memorable holiday, Mahalo.

Room Tip: Request a Diamond Head view room great views of Waikiki beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foti_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing