We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Can't Wait To Go Back”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #35 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Can't Wait To Go Back”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki for our honeymoon and were really impressed with the professional, friendly manner in which we were looked after by the wonderful staff. This is a really nice hotel and would certainly be our first choice when we return to Waikiki. We stayed on a 12th floor suite (out of 31 floors) which had great views in 2 directions from the 2 balconies.

A quick summary of our experience:

First the good things:

- We took the option of having access to the club lounge as part of our package (open in morning for breakfast) and then open between 4 and 8pm each day and providing a selection of snacks/food and drinks at no charge (need to pay for alcohol). This was one of our favourite things as it was a more relaxed, quiet retreat from the crowds and also a great view from the 30th floor. The lounge staff were wonderful and provided friendly, personal and efficient service.

- The staff in the hotel were fantastic. Every single staff member we encountered was friendly, welcoming and helpful. They really did make it a wonderful experience to stay at the Sheraton.

- The infinity pool!!!! Fantastic views and love the appearance of pool extending into the ocean. Was great to use the hotel provided floating beanbags to float around and relax in the pool & sun. Also good that this is an adults only pool so don't have to worry about kids playing (there is another great pool as well with a decent water slide, etc for the kids, so is good for everyone).

- Very nice, modern and clean interior appearance of the hotel. I believe it may have recently been renovated and this shows. Our room was immaculate as were the common areas, etc.

- Great location in close proximity to all of the shops and nightlife of Waikiki. Great views in all directions from the hotel.

- Lots of facilities and activities to be involved in. The hotel provided some free cultural activities for those that were interested (we did aqua-yoga), as well as provided beach type equipment for hire at reasonable prices.

And to provide a balanced view, the downsides/areas for improvement were (many of which I noted in other reviews before we went, and to be honest were very minor):

- There was a moderate queue to check in and a bit of a wait (maybe 5 minutes, so really in the scheme of things is nothing at all). I'd seen comments about this before, and realistically is because everybody goes to check-in at the same time when check-in opens at 3pm. Minor

- This is a big hotel (by the look of it one of the largest in Waikiki) and whilst they have heaps of elevators servicing the 31 floors, there were quite a few times when there was a big gathering waiting to crowd into the lift. Maybe this would work better if there were a selection of lifts that service particular floors, rather than all lifts serving every floor. Once again was only a minor issue and only happened to us on maybe 3 or 4 occasions. Minor.

- It was almost impossible to get a lounge chair by the infinity pool. We weren't staying there during a peak time, and it was clear that many people would put their towels to reserve the lounge chairs early in the day and then head off elsewhere (they weren't in the pool judging by the numbers). This was the most annoying thing of our stay, however once again not major by any means as we could get a nearby seat in the bar and wait until someone eventually did the right thing and left. I'm not sure there is a great deal the hotel can do about this and is more to do with selfish behaviour by people.

- The hotel's location is good, central to Waikiki and close to everything. Whilst it is located right on the beach, one thing we weren't aware of was that the hotel doesn't really front a beach as such - the section of water in front of the Sheraton is a sea wall and footpath, which also is needed I suppose so they can have the infinity pool. I compare this to most of the other hotels along the strip which have actual frontage to a beach (with sand). This is a very minor issue as well as you only have to walk 1 minute to the side of the hotel to be back onto the main beach. Extremely minor.

So overall, there were lots of great things about the hotel and our stay and really only some very minor issues. I would certainly recommend the Sheraton Waikiki and I know that this will certainly be our hotel of choice for any future visits we make to Waikiki.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,271
    2,248
    853
    320
    255
See reviews for
2,063
2,088
164
476
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

i I LOVE this hotel. We stayed here last year when we got engaged and came back for our honeymoon January 2012. It’s a huge, very busy hotel, but once you get over that fact it’s awesome and the location is perfect. We were upgraded to an oceanfront room which was fabulous, except the music from the bar downstairs played until 2:00 am on the Friday. I’d much rather have fallen asleep to the sounds of the waves than to Rihanna. Oh well, it was a free upgrade, so what can you do? The staff was great, especially Jones at the pool. We looked forward to seeing him every day. Since our flight didn’t leave until late at night, we were given a hospitality suite to use for a half an hour in the late afternoon. It’s a great idea, but when we got to the suite it hadn’t been made up yet! Luckily the housekeeper was right nearby so she did a quick clean-up. So much for the nap I so desperately wanted, though (I wasn’t going to lie on the bed that hadn’t been changed). Other than that, our stay was perfect! We plan on returning next year for our anniversary.

Room Tip: get an oceanfront room if you can afford the splurge - watching the sunrise over Diamond Head is ama...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meghan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel was perfect.. We were there for a bachelor party(ok that's a little off considering its hawaii vs vegas) but location was right in the smack dab area for food, shopping if your into that and beach.

The rooms were clean and modern, right at the edge of waikiki beach.. on site food go to the to bar/lounge place for grub vs the one by they smaller pool..

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jf005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Nice hotel, very crowded. No problems with the elevators always ready. Just not a small comfy place. No personal contact with any staff. Felt as if we were just another tourist to them. I would go elsewhere other than Wakiki unless you like to shop high end stores and fight traffic. We got a ocean front room on the 26th floor (we smoke) and it was nice. View was great. Room was clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cfrazier22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I'm halfway through my stay here on a preferred guest discount rate with ocean front room. It is in the heart of Waikiki beach so expect exorbitant prices on every little thing around and lots of tourists - many from Japan, stay here. The hotel re-model is decent quality but by no means deserving of state of the art. I'd only give the rooms 3 stars. Small bathroom, old hardware on patio doors- so bad that the wind howling through the door in my first room necessitated a room change. The front desk staff was excellent in this regard, finding me the last available room to match my original. Pool is nice, but small and the chairs get scooped up pretty fast - a lot of people leave towels on them to "save" them. Bar food/breakfast nothing special but they will cost you ;) A lot of activity and music in evenings by pool so not quiet then when facing ocean. Also it is not on a large beach per se, but you can walk down and there is a small sand area available, or walk to public beach down the block. If you want quiet island getaway, this is not the place (and I mean Waikiki). If you want shopping, and lots of activity, it is. It is comfortable at the Sheraton but it is large and not so luxurious, so keep expectations there. One main gripe: house cleaning is not up to snuff. They don't really clean well (not vaccum every time, hair found on bed, not wipe sink thoroughly). Union problem? Not sure, but not up to stature of the hotel name... I do *love* the Sheraton/Four Points beds and pillows! Very comfortable!

Room Tip: Ocean has - ocean! But can be noisy from pool noise, and entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SalsabyJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

They have done a lot of work to this place with new pools, bars and general population areas. rooms are bit (tired) but the views towards the ocean and/or diamond head soon make up for the rooms. It is a very busy hotel with lots of groups and conferences in house but it is a fun place to stay nonetheless. Rumfire is great place to eat tapas and drink cocktails. The deli is great for lunch by the pool and you are only metres from the beach where you can get access to the best activity of the island - a mai tai sunset cruise on board a catamaran. If you can handles the crowds then this place is worth considering.

Room Tip: The higher up the more spectacular the view and ask for an ocean and/or diamond head facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WyeRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Market, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

The staff was friendly and helpful, but the rooms were somewhat lacking. We requested an oceanfront king and got two double beds. The room did not have a chair to sit in. Housekeeping finally located an old office type chair and that was it. There is a small hassock in the room that is supposed to double as a chair. We did have an ocean view overlooking the infinity pool and that was great. When we checked in we did not have a private balcony but the manager was accommodating and transferred us to another room that had a private balcony. The hotel is in a perfect location with access to nearby shops and restaurants. Overall the stay was pleasant but the rooms really need renovating. Storage is very limited in the room and the foldout shutters between the room and the bathroom took some getting used to.

Room Tip: Book early and request the highest room in the hotel for the view. Be sure and specify a private ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NOTGONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing