We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Helpful Employees!”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #36 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2011

A great location - right on a quieter section of Waikiki beach. The Mai'Tai Catamaran even leaves from right in front of the hotel.

Definitely ask for Lilly Okinaka at the beach rental hut - she is extremely friendly and helpful and can even direct you to some great spots on other parts of the Island. She suggested an unbelievable snorkel trip on the Makaha coast that we LOVED! It's people like Lilly that make our trips to Hawaii so memorable!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gscable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,256 - 3,262 of 6,254 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2011

Fab location right on the beach, but rooms have been scantily refurbished; painting a bathroom really doesnt cut it, and there is no excuse for moldy grout in the bathroom when guests are paying $400 per night, no matter how great the location. Room size average, service good. Bar downstairs serves excellent but expensive cocktails.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david_sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My wife and I stayed here over night last week on our way home from Maui visiting family in Oahu. We got a beautiful oceanside room on the 31st (top) floor. Like all SPG properties, the Staff was great and you can't beat the location for everything on Waikiki.

Room Tip: If you are a SPG Member, this is a great deal with Points and Cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drsdc63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

My poor daughter had her IPhone lifted/stolen last night whilst we sat at dinner in the Sheraton's Yoshiya Restaurant... Yes we believe, unfortunately, it was one of the waiting staff and a disturbance was created at our table with the dropping of cutlery. We have been back but no one is interested so just a warning - don't leave anything out at this Japanese Restaurant as it will disappear. Expect much better at the Sheraton.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank JWPisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

Although the Sheraton pools and common areas are spotless and truly beautiful, the rooms are basic and a little rough around the edges and the sheer volume of guests gives the hotel a buzz that is far from relaxing. That being said, the adult infinity pool is amazing, this is the perfect location to explore Waikki, and the hotel's Rumfire restaurant/lounge is a true gem with stunning views and a first rate (and cheap!) happy hour. If you book on priceline be prepared for a crappy room without a balcony, however if you're lucky the front desk might take pity on you and upgrade you to a "mountain view" blacony room. Stock up on necessities (booze & snacks) at the ABC store in the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Centre and enjoy. And don't forget to hit the "Mai Tai Bar" at the adjacent Royal Hawaiian Hotel for a sunset mai-tai.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frankieschmorbett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We arrived late morning after that horrible flight from Australia - although 'technically' too early to check-in, one of our rooms was ready for us. They had the kids' (14 and 19 y.o.) booked onto another floor, but quickly switched that to a room on the same floor, and they informed us it should be ready after lunch.

Our room had a stunning view over the ocean and the biggest bed I have ever seen (and proved very comfortable too, not too soft). What was strange though was there was only 1 bedside light. Both of us like to read in bed before going to sleep. If I hadn't of had me a little portable book reading light it could of been pistols at dawn over who got the side of the bed with the lamp! Another oddity was the lack of exhaust fan in the bathroom.

The kids' room was ready even earlier than they said so we went and got their keys and took their stuff down the hall. I must admit I was a bit miffed that they had even better view (straight up Waikiki Beach to Diamond Head) but ours was nice to watch the sunset from.

Speaking of sunsets, the thing to actually do is go down to the bar/restaurant by the infinity pool and order a scrummy cocktail while enjoying the sunset view - the cocktails are big and reasonably priced at $10 (actually price rose to $10.50 during our stay).

Aussie's will be glad to hear that Peet's downstairs does pretty good coffee (tho the latte is a tad hotter than is traditional). Order a small though, as this is almost as big as our talls. The yoghurt parfaits are delicious for breakfast too.

I had read that this hotel had only coffee-makers in the rooms - but they DO have kettles too! Take your own tea-bags tho as the hotel only provided 2 (flavoured) bags in the room.

We really had a nice time and would highly recommend this hotel as a place to stay. Being right on the beach there is no traffic noise, the two hotel restaurants we ate at (Rum Fire and the one by the pool) were priced on par with other restaurants in the area, and Rum Fire was one of the few restaurants we found in Waikiki that offered some vegetarian selections - daughter being a vego). DO opt for an ocean view room tho - it is worth the extra cost.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

We had a room with a beach front view and also a balcony and it was lovely just sitting there in the sun having a drink or reading a book. Beds are very comfortable and the air-conditioning is excellent. You can stand in the bathroom and look out over the ocean, just beautiful. Starbucks cafe in the hotel is excellent for breakfast. We did not eat in the hotel for lunch or dinner but found plenty of restaurants close by. The pools in the hotel are excellent and you step straight out from the hotel onto Waikiki beach. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book a room with ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynne033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,216 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $352 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing