We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome adult pool, rooms ok”
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #37 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

2nd time stayed here and the adult pool was the draw card. Rooms are ok, but then most rooms in Waikiki are pretty average. On both trips, we were upgraded, which was a nice touch. Arrived early and no room available, so we dropped our bags and headed straight to the pool. Get there early otherwise no pool chairs available. Great location, near everything. Great view from the pool, great sitting in the beanbags, great seeing the turtles while sitting in the beanbags, great pool that is adults only so not screaming kids splashing around. Bliss.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexMove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback. We are very excited you chose to stay with us again. We totally agree with you about the infinity pool, bliss may be the best word to describe it. Thank you again and we hope to see you again on your next Hawaiian holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (6,180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,251 - 3,257 of 6,180 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

We won this on priceline and would definitely stay here again. It is in a perfect location, right on Waikiki beach and close to tons of restaurants. The adult only pool is romantic for adults and the other pool is perfect for kids with the water slide! The rooms were boring but the pool and location made up for it. I stayed 1/2 of the week at Sheraton Waikiki and other 1/2 of the week at JW Marriott Ko'Olina. It's nice to split your stay between the two so you can enjoy the peace and quiet of Ko'Olina and the fun night life of Waikiki.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkerpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Aloha and thank you for your recent review. We love your excitement about our resort. We are thrilled your family enjoyed their stay and we can't wait to welcome you back. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

This hotel is in a great spot. Rooms smallish, but well appointed. Restaurants good...but expensive, as they all seem to be on Waikiki. There is a small resort fee. Many of the rooms do not have a balcony.

I object to having to pay a $50 fee for chairs on beach for the day. One kind of expects them to be low cost or a perk when staying on beach.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marionm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Aloha and thank you for your recent feedback about your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed our location as well as our room decor. We will pass on your comments about the beach chairs on to the management team. Mahalo for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

The resort staff was always extremely friendly and helpful. They resort was clean and had an awesome pool and bar on the ocean. The room was very disappointing. It looked like it was missing furniture - no desk, a small stool under a nightstand was the ONLY furniture in the room. The flatscreen was one of the smallest I have seen in a hotel room. The room was very noisy with noise coming from the roadway below -- i was on the 18th floor.

Room Tip: higher up is better -- some rooms on 5th floor look directly at an old rooftop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are very excited you enjoyed the pool, RunFire and our friendly staff. We have shared your concerns about the noise and furniture with the management team and they are looking into solutions. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

this was our last stop before heading home....
we spent 5 nights there and it was wonderful.....

the kids loved it....
the pool was great for the kids and place was very kids friendly and clean.....
room was a good size for a hotel room.....
it was clean and tidy and bathroom was also very clean.....
everything was good about the place....

staff where helpful and the location was closae to everything....
beach shops and resturants....
would go back there again if we go to hawaii....

loved the shopping and we went to the culture centre that was also good...
a must is also pearly harbour that was a great day but get there early....

Room Tip: ask for beach view.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizsrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Aloha and mahalo for your recent review of our resort. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Sounds like you were very busy during your 5 nights with us, hopefully you got a little time to relax before the long flight home. We really appreciate you taking the time you share your experience with us and we certainly hope to welcome you back on your next Hawaiian holiday. A hui hou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I really can not complain about the Sheraton Waikiki. We arrived from our long haul flight from Sydney early in the morning, as our room was not available, they gave us access to a courtesy room so that we could shower and freshen up - we had not paid for an early check in, so this convenience being extended to us was very welcome.

We were told that our room would be available at 3 but feel free to check before if we wished. Our luggage was stored and pool access cards given so that we may make use of all facilities while we waited - all in all a great check in experience. I wish I could remember the name of the lady staff member who checked us in - she was a true asset to the hotel.

We got into our room at appox 2pm. We were given a partial ocean view on the 17th floor. The room was clean / functional with a comfortable bed, clean bathroom and a large balcony. Only negatives would be the noisy air con and the (very) basic bathroom amenities. The mini bar fridge was also empty, this could be a + or a - depending on ones opinion.

The selling point of this hotel is the location and the pools. The 'edge' infinity pool is simply divine.. Easily my new favorite pool in the world (even better than marina bay sands in singapore). The larger pool and water slide was also fun for an afternoon (who says 34 is too old for water slides).

All in all, the deal we got on the room from a 'name your price' site ($140) effectively renders any and all issues encountered mute. Even the surprise 'resort charge' ($25 a day) can be forgiven.

One thing to note - the resort charge INCLUDES parking... we opted to not rent a car because of the supposed high parking charges in waikiki.. we only wish we had known parking was included before we arrived.

The big questions:

Was this property value for money: for what we paid, yes yes YES.
Would I stay here again: already planning too.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonBusinessAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2011

Aloha and mahalo for your very thorough review of your stay with us. We truly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and we are thrilled you enjoyed your holiday. We have tried to ensure all online booking companies have our resort fee listed with the inclusions so our guests know all about it prior to their stay, but we will perform another audit asap. Thank you again for your review and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back on your next Hawaiian holiday... btw water slides are officially fun at any age:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

The lost and found dep't. at the Sheraton are staffed with professional/humorous folks. The ocean view rooms are worth every penny if you don't mind the aroma of sweet grilled pineapple and meat around happy hour. But that's just it, while I meditated around 420 pm each afternoon of our 9 day stay, wifey and daughter were relaxing poolside. They didn't get to experience "OHana" the family of green turtles that swam up to the property each afternoon. I was on the 14th floor (13th in reality) and got to see the 5 ft wide mama turtle glide around while baby turtles were in tow. In Native culture, if you see these turtles it means you will have a long life ahead.
I hope so, so I can return when I'm 80 years old and enjoy the fine room service and a hike up Diamondhead Volcano for the heck of it.
If you want to try out your Japanese then the Sheraton Waikiki is for you as it is patronage by Japanese old and young alike will tickle your fancy. I've got one of those fancy apps on my iPhone that speaks Japanese phrases so I had fun on the many trips up and down the extremely fast elevators (16 in all).
The bell service is quick, getting up to my room quicker than me. Not to worry, they were happy just to see me.
That's just it, from arriving to departing, the impeccable service by the Sheraton staff is phenomenal.
While eating ice cream and drinking my iced, soy, large, 4 shot vanilla, extra shot americano down by the elevators I say the unavoidable.
A tired American tourist spilled his ice chest onto the floor causing a large pool of ice and water - a posing danger to all who walked by.
A Sheraton employee who appeared to be a painter sprung into action!
He quickly let people to watch their step and running to get a sign.
He returned with caution signs and called for back up.
A team of managers and other staff showed up and cleaned up the 15 gallon mess!
I looked to my left for the painter and there he was taking a photo for two tourists by the sand sculpture!
That's what I call exceptional customer service.
You'll find that here at the Sheraton.
My wife enjoyed the Infinitiy Pool since she is deftly afraid of sharks.
I live in a time zone 4 hrs away so opening my patio door at 3 am helped me go back to sleep.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms are top choice. It's noisy on the East wing. I guess you could stay in one of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PATY2KMURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,595 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,185 reviews
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $302 - $730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing