We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Amazing!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Waikiki

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sheraton Waikiki
Ranked #33 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had a truly wonderful stay at the Sheraton Waikiki for three nights in April 2011 while in Hawaii for our honeymoon trip. I had originally booked at a MUCH less expensive Starwood hotel on Waikiki but 24 hours before our arrival, I decided to splurge on this hotel since it offered more of the Hawaiian experience I was hoping for. Although it cost three times as much, I don't regret it one bit - it was worth every penny! (Even the cancellation fee we incurred at the other hotel). The rooms are clean and anything you could possibly want is right at your doorstep. We ate at Ingredients and RumFire Lounge every day - the ribs at Rum Fire were some of the best I've had. We also enjoyed a fire dancing show one evening by the Infinity pool. I can not say enough about our experience, it was magical. We can not wait to get back to Hawaii!

Room Tip: We booked a King Ocean Front - amazing view of both Waikiki beach and Diamond Head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deputysgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Aloha and congratulations on your recent wedding. Thank you so much for your wonderful comment about your stay with us. We are so thrilled you chose to spend part of your honeymoon with us and even more excited to know how much you enjoyed your special time. We really appreciate you sharing your experience with us and can't wait to welcome you back soon, there should be an anniversary right around the corner:) A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,184
    2,178
    825
    307
    247
See reviews for
1,984
2,010
160
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aliso Viejo, California, USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of October. Where do I begin? Check-in line for platinum/gold members was short; thank goodness I'm a gold starwood member otherwise I would have been in line for at least 1 hour. Unfortunately their staff does not know their own policies - was offered club level at check-in, room wasn't ready, came back and was instructed that unable to get the upgrade unless I paid an additional $55/per day since I was only a gold member. They should never have offered it in the first place. I did however received an upgrade to an ocean view room....view was fantastic. Ask for even rooms ending in 02-10 and you should have a view of Diamond Head; my room was 1206. Attempted to have something to eat from the hot grill at "Ingredients"; girl behind the counter was coughing into her hand, wiping her sweat from her forehead even though she was wearing gloves. Disgusting.....no manager on site and told the concierge desk. BE CAREFUL!! Resort not worth paying full price....

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hippo1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Aloha and thank you for your recent feedback about your stay with us. We apologize for any confusion regarding your SPG status and check-in, we have contacted the front desk manager and they are addressing the issue. We also contacted the Ingredients management and they are very sorry and appreciate you bringing this to their attention. Mahalo again for your comments, we appreciate you sharing your experience and we will correct the issues asap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

This hotel is very nice...perfect location! The best thing about this property is the infinity pool &
the yoga and water aerobics classes every morning with Mossimo...really GREAT!! The pool boys were also very accomodatinng and friendly! The rooms are nothing really special and the front desk people had a bit of an attitude upon checkin..a poor first impression, however all in all we had a great time and would definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkraftee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Aloha and mahalo for your recent review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and we totally agree with you about the infinity pool and the yogaquatics with Massimo. We are sorry to hear about the first impression and we will relay your comments to the front desk management. Thank you again for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here in July 2011 for 7 nights- hotel is located in a fantastic spot of Waikiki , right on the beachfront and on the Waikiki Beach Walk , with a great range of services, restaurants and shops on the doorstep. That is were it ends though as we were not really impressed with the hotel room and facilities offered. They charge high prices for 3 star resort.

We travelled with our 12 y.o daughter , stayed in an ocean front room with 2 double beds. We opened the door and were surprised at how small the room and bathroom are. The mini fridge is located in a bedside cupboard that was noisy with the compressor cutting in and out. There is not a lot of storage so expect to have you stuff "out" in the room and bathroom.

The view off the verandah is breathtaking though, but the outdoor furniture is not comfortable and worn. We were only supplied with 2 chairs even though 3 of us were booked. The kids pool area was great provided it was not windy! You really could not use the side of the hotel were the kids pool and outdoor dining for rumfire restaurant is located if it was the windy. The main foyer corridors also became a wind tunnel. The adult infinity pool was more protected, though is for over 15 years and does not get the sun until late in the morning. You will need to get down "early' to reserve a sunlounge though, especially if you want an umbrella! They have a poor system were "guests reserve a lounge by sitting a towel etc on a lounge , yet not actually coming back for several hours. I went down at 8 am to find all the pool side lounges "taken" yet no-one else in sight. The other guests did not turn up until 10-10.30. Very poor system given they do not really have a lot of seating for the number of guests. Good-luck getting a pool float too!

There is a small area of beach off to the side of the infinity pool,though this is also used by the Mai-Tai Catamaran so you need to keep an eye out for them beaching during the day.

We were very disappointed that the public are able to enter to resort from the beach with no security checking if they are resort guests. Other resorts have a security gate that restricted access to pool areas etc. Guest are given wrist bands for towels though backpackers and "visitor" use the "exclusive" pool areas having just walked up from the beach.

If you want a "resort holiday" were you can rely on adequate facilities to accomodate your needs and easy daily access , don't stay here. This hotel ticks the boxes on paper, but falls extremely short in being able to provide for the number of guests ( and visitors) staying at the hotel.

We moved from here to stay 9 nights at another resort in Waikiki- I wish we stayed there for the whole 16 nights of our trip.

Loved Waikiki and already booked again for July 2012- but will not be staying here again. Hey .....you don't need to stay here to use the facilities anyway!!!!!!!.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozziefamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Aloha and thank you for your recent review of our resort. We are very sorry to hear about your disappointment. We have brought the issues you encountered to the attention of the management team and since your stay we have implemented various measures to better serve our guests at the pools. We appreciate you sharing your experience with us and would love an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Mahalo and A hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Our stay at the hotel could not have been better. Our room was large and the beds were so comfortable. Love the balcony to watch the sunset and too see diamond head in the distance. The staff is very helpful and friendly, the woman who checked us in was sweet as could be.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troi41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Aloha and mahalo for sharing your recent experience with us. We are always thrilled to hear when our guests had a wonderful time. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shell Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

Once again we had a fantastic stay, the location is the best, and the view from our ocean front room to Diamond Head is just iconic. Only 2 negatives... Housekeeping needs to step it up as every day of our 7 night stay our room had not been made up by the time we returned ( left room at 8 got back around 2 or 3) and Rumfire... Why change the Mai Tai? Guys if ain't broke don't fix it, it's a classic leave it as it was it's way too sweet now, I had to go over and drink at the Edge to enjoy the Mai Tai's I love.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oceanroad4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Aloha and mahalo for your recent feedback about your stay with us. We are always excited when guests return to stay with us and we hope you always feel like this is a second home to you. We will pass your comments on to the housekeeping and the RumFire teams. Also, on your next stay you can request the housekeeper to service your room before or after a certain time if you know when you will be out of your room. Mahalo again for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next Hawaiian holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Firstly, I must say I am surprised this hotel is ranked #28.It definitely deserves a much higher rating. I was a little worried to choose this hotel after several reviews on here, and I usually do like to look into things before booking. My husband and I planned to leave our two young children at home and take a week off to celebrate my birthday.Originally we were going to choose the Moana Surfrider after recommendations from friends, but are so thankful we chose the Sheraton. We got an amazing deal through Hotwire for $125USD a night(I booked it back in May) so I wasn't expecting anything more that the most average room in the hotel. My husband wrote ahead to ensure everything was ok for our upcoming stay and mentioned my birthday.All we were really after was an early check in after a long flight from Australia,.

We arrived at the hotel around midday and at check in found out we had been upgraded at no cost to a partial ocean view-king bed. Not only this, but we received two flower lei's and were guest of the day which got us free coupons on the catamaran for a ride each.How amazing.
The horror check in stories I read i imagined the line out the door but found only a few people ahead of me.

The rooms are very large and spacious, super clean and a decent sized balcony with very comfortable chairs. We overlooked the royal hawaiian gardens and the larger pool.
The VIP pool is great. Staff are fantastic here-although sometimes pooliside service can be really slow as there were usually only two waiters. We didn't bother getting there super early for the front chairs, as we were just happy to get some sun, and spent the rest of the time lounging in the pool floats which were fun.
The staff around the VIP pool are fantastic at ensuring it is only hotel guests and are very quick to usher children under the age of 16 straight out of there. The other pool is very family oriented. Its not very patrolled and I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of these people are not hotel guests as the pathway walks straight through here.
Food is good poolside, and I must say cocktails here are definitely a few dollars cheaper than down the road at the Moana and Royal hawaiian.

Yes this hotel is busy. It feels like a big Las Vegas style hotel with people everywhere but i didn't mind that at all. It was very quiet at night. We didn't even hear our neighbours who had young children.
The only thing would be I would push more for a higher floor. Unfortunately we were on level 4 and our room sat right above the conference centre. One morning we were woken by loud voices on the balcony below(conference centre-people having a smoke) and on our last day awoke at 6:30 am to find workmen banging away at assembling scaffolding. I guess this sort of thing can't be helped

Location is awesome. Right on the beach, right in the heart of waikiki but far enough back from Kalakaua Ave to be quiet.
The only negative is their front area staff need to smile a bit more. The pool guys are always happy chirpy and helpful, but concierge and valet looked a little moody at times.

Lovely place and we will be back :)

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor.Facing the royal Hawaiian and pool is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natski81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonWaikiki, Online Marketing Team at Sheraton Waikiki, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Aloha and mahalo for your thoughtful review of our resort. We are thrilled you had such a wonderful birthday holiday. We totally agree with you about our rating but we are working hard to improve our guests' experiences and the rest should take care of itself. We are very pleased to share your comments with the management team and look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully sooner rather than later:) Mahalo again and a hui hou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,109 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Waikiki

Property: Sheraton Waikiki
Address: 2255 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2579
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#32 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 1695
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Waikiki on Oahu's oceanfront in Hawaii has Khakara Spa, delicious restaurants, and the largest ballroom in Waikiki. We're the perfect destination for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Jetsetter, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Sheraton Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Waikiki
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Waikiki Honolulu
Sheraton Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing