We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dayton, Nevada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

The property is old. That picture of the pool? -- don't know how they took it because it is tiny. If you are looking for convenience: in the center of shopping, and across the street from beach, then stop here and book. Bathrooms -- old but very clean. Rooms clean and smelled fresh. We prepaid a 1 night stay for two rooms on same floor and got just that! Plus we each had nice views of the ocean looking over the roof line of the Surfrider. Decent sized lanais. Ate at the Surfrider, and had outdoor drinks there, too. Check in was a bit slow, as was checkout. Bonus: Parking Garage -- for your rental car!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPrincess69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha TravelPrincess69 and thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We appreciate your honest comments and we're happy that you were pleased with your accommodations. We apologize for any inconvenience caused due to wait times at check-in and check-out and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding this, as it allows us to make improvements to our service delivery. We appreciate your time and we hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    1,435
    794
    308
    179
See reviews for
1,024
1,196
213
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed here a week ago. The room was on the 7th floor and faced the pool. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The drawer and closet space was plentiful. The bathroom, though clean was very old and the drain in the tub didn't work well. I have stayed here many times over the last 12 years and it's always been a good stay. I especially like the downstairs area by the pool and restaurants. Everynight they have good Hawaiian music and hula dancing. You can't beat the location! The entire staff is always ready to help. I especially appreciate the chairs you can take to the beach. Even though this place needs some TLC, i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are noisier by the International Marketplace. That's why I like the main building facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha hawaiiturtle and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. More importantly, thank you for your 12 years of continued loyalty to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel - we truly appreciate this as we know you have many choices in Waikiki. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we apologize for the inconvenience caused by the tub drain. We're happy that you enjoy our nightly live entertainment and Big Kahuna Beach Service. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel was clean inside and stuffs were helpful. Very nice location close to the beach, restaurants, and shops. You can walk to pretty much anywhere and spend the whole day in Waikiki. I just visited the hotel and didn't stay there, but I would like to stay someday.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lemonade4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha Lemonade4 and thank you for taking the time to share your review of our hotel. We're happy to learn that you found our location in the heart of Waikiki to be convenient and we also hope to welcome you back to our hotel to stay with us. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Second Hotel i visited in Waikiki. The hotel is nice and clean, the staff is very helpful and the overall feel for the hotel is nice, however due to the fact that there are other hotels along the beach in Waikiki, the hotel fails to deliver the out of the ordinary views that some of the other hotels at Oahu has to offer!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Aloha Ebba S and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you found our hotel to be nice and clean, and our staff friendly. We do have high ocean view rooms with stunning views of Waikiki, however your correct that we don't have as many rooms with these views as some of our beach front neighbors. Thank you again for your time. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This was my 4th time vacationing in Waikiki. My wife, toddler son and I were on a budget this year so we stayed at this hotel instead a higher star hotel than we had in the past.

I have to admit that I was skeptical after reading some bad reviews, but our experiences ended up much better than expected.

We stayed 6 nights in Sept 2013 in an ocean view king in the Ainahau Tower.

The room was a bit dated, but nothing to really complain about. I was fine for us and housekeeping did a good job each day for us.

If you're keeping a car there, when you first arrive, you will drop off your luggage with the attendant who will then direct you to park in the self parking structure. You can then check in at the lobby and the bell staff will bring your luggage to your room. Make note of your rental car details (make/model/color) since you need to provide this info when checking in and getting the car permit.

For parking, the only elevator access is on the 3rd and 4th floors on the Ainahau tower side. Just look for the signs that show where there is an elevator. For most this may not be needed, but we had a stroller so we always needed it.

The hotel lobby is always busy with people, the elevators do sometimes take a long time and get crowded, there is a lot of noise from outside at night time, and the rooms are dated. This all really wasn't a big deal since I know Waikiki and what to expect, especially if staying in that area. If that kind of stuff bothers you, then spend the extra money someplace like the Surfrider or Sheraton on the beach or just stay further away from the busy part of Waikiki or go to another island like Kauai or the Big Island. But if you're not high maintenance and used to the busy pace and noise of Waikiki, then this hotel is fine.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room in the Ainahau tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbug301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha travelbug301 and thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your thorough review and helpful tips provided for future guests. We're happy that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Loved the welcome drinks - and our reception lady Ping was just wonderful. Got a special deal that included upgrade to a pool view and free buffet breakfast daily. Great view - and the breakfast & staff were fabulous. Even had a cook making omelettes to order! The location is wonderful - a short stroll to everywhere. The resort fee was worth it for free wi-fi, free parking and the free international calls to Australia. Have stayed at Sheraton waikiki too - and while it is more impressive location and decor wise, this place was far more comfortable - and much less crowded. It was easy to find a table around the pool for our cocktails. Would stay here again :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathiecatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha cathiecatt and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Princess Kaiulani and we truly appreciate all of your kind comments, especially your praises for Ping our guest service agent. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just booked today for another holiday in April next year. Only downfall we couldn't get free breakfast at the same special as last April. Looking forward to renewing acquaintances with familiar staff. We prefer a Poolside room in the Princess Wing. 27 weeks to go but whose counting, Only worry is when does International Market area demolishing start? Could create a lot of noise.

Room Tip: Pool view high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley P P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Aloha Beverley P P! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. The International Marketplace redevelopment will begin in January 2014. Our team is working with our neighbors to ensure as little impact as possible to our guests. Thank you for your continued loyalty to the Princess Kaiulani Hotel - we truly appreciate it! Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,801 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing