We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspite of being an aged hotel, worth staying.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 1, 2013

For the price, this hotel is a great deal. Though not on the beach, the beach is a very short stroll away. If you like Waikiki, all the major attractions are within walking distance. The hotel is a little aged and is slated for major renovations next Summer. The staff is extremely friendly and courteous. Caution, this hotel is not for the culturally or ethnic insensitive. The hotel has arrangements with several travel agencies in Asia so, while I was there, I would estimate that 60% of the guests were from Asia. For me, this was fantastic since I find Asian travelers more hospital that those of the 48 contiguous States. For those who have health issues, Straub Medical Clinic is located on premises which should relieve you of any medical concerns you may have while visiting Waikiki. The food and entertainment in the hotel is top notch. Live Hawaiian music permeates throughout the lobby and restaurant during dinner hours. Later, I would recommend the hotel's Splash Bar. On two consecutive nights, while a guitarist was playing tunes, hotel guests and vendors did impromptu hulas. It was fantastic! Bet you didn't know that there are more Hula Halaus (Hawaiian dance groups) in Japan that all of Hawaii and the other 49 States combined.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank damookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Aloha damookie and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location, ideal pricing and friendly associates. We are also thrilled to learn that you enjoyed our live Hawaiian music - thank you for sharing this! We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 3,553 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed here for close on 2 weeks and really enjoyed the close location to Waikiki Beach and all the shopping and other Oahu experiences.
The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating, and would go out of there way to help.
The pool is excellent and the service of drinks and fruit brought out to you at Waikiki beach was much appreciated on a very warm day.
Yes the rooms are a little updated, but how much time do you really spend there at such a wonderful location.We had amazing views, a desk , and plenty of wardrobe space for all our clothes and extra purchases.
We woud certainly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool side .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tourist199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Aloha Tourist199 and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we appreciate your kind words regarding our friendly associates. We are glad to learn that you found our location convenient and that you took advantage of our Big Kahuna Beach Service. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was disgusting, so outdated and dirty. I felt uncomfortable sleeping in the bed and the bathing was dirty and the toilet was broken. The staff was rude and not helpful with finding things to do. Overall, I would never stay here again and honestly would question staying at a Sheraton again. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Britt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Aloha Britt S and thank you for taking the time to provide your honest feedback regarding our hotel. As you can imagine, we are very disappointed to learn that our hotel did not meet your expectations and we truly apologize for this. We have sent you a private message requesting your specific room number so that we can have the noted toilet issue checked up on. We are particularly disappointed to learn that you did not have pleasant encounters with our associates, as their key purpose aside from operating the hotel is to provide our guests with the utmost aloha spirit. Please accept our apologies regarding your less than pleasant experience. Mahalo again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is one of the older ones in Waikiki. Great location though, in the thick of things and walking distance to everything in Waikiki. The beach is across the road. The room wasn't huge, but had everything we needed, including air conditioning. The check in staff were friendly and helpful. We got a good deal on our room rate and thought it was great value for money, considering the location. Ok, it's not up to the standard you would expect at a Sheraton, but considering it's about half the price of the other Sheraton in Waikiki, we were happy overall.

The pool area has loads of sun loungers and the pool itself isn't huge, but it's not that busy as the beach is across the road. The food and drinks at the pool bar are good. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant so I can't say what that was like.

All staff were helpful, friendly and accommodating. We booked a Pearl Harbor tour through the tour desk, which was great.

Room Tip: If you're not too bothered about a view and want to save money, go for a Standard room, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosynMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha RosynMarty and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location convenient. Thank you for your honest comments regarding your experience. We hope welcome you back to you the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani again soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were pleased with the hotel. The staff were very helpful the room was great with a wonderful view over the beach. The cleaning staff were first class as they always left sour room spotless and with all amenities new. The staff in the restaurant suggested better ways of making our dollars go further - well done. All in all the hotel made our first stay in Hawaii very pleasant. For the money we paid this was excellent accommodation. Well done Sheraton PK. Greg and Deslie Broad, Australia

Room Tip: We feel that we had value for money. We will certainly stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Aloha Greg and Deslie and thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us; particularly your kind words about our housekeeping and restaurant associates. We are also honored that you chose the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel for your first visit to Hawaii, as we know you have quite a number of choices when booking hotels in Waikiki. We appreciate your comments and we hope to share our aloha with you again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We were a little disappointed in this hotel, having stayed at several Sheraton hotels all over the world previously. The bathroom was super outdated. I walked in and said, "This looks like my grandma's bathroom." The pool was miniature, and there is no hot tub. It was right across the street from a good place to swim on Waikiki beach though. And in prime location for Waikiki shopping and dining.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuperDrDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Aloha SuperDrDavey and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that our product did not meet your expectations, but we do appreciate your honest feedback. We're happy that you enjoyed our convenient location in Waikiki and appreciate that you shared this in your review as well. Mahalo again for your time. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff were very nice. The rooms were not great. It is a very old hotel. If you take the cost of the hotel into effect, it is not a bad deal. Don't go expecting the Ritz. It is very convenient location, close to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Aloha 38731 and thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff as well as your honest words regarding your review of our room product. We hope to welcome you again soon at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,896 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $190 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing