We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is great for location. just walk across the road.
Hotel is very tired - needs a great deal of upgrading
Is used by a large number of tour companies
Pool is small
Bar is small
Staff is very friendly

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaburlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Aloha donnaburlington and thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location, but regret to learn that our decor, etc. did not meet your expectations. Please know that we value your feedback and and have shared this with our management team. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,257 - 1,263 of 3,599 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

The Hotel had many Hawaiian functions going on and encouraged guest participation. Lei making, Hula dancing, etc. Just across the street from Waikiki Beach. Walking distance to just about everything here. Big Celebration (much like food/art festivals in California) at the park by the Zoo. The room left much to be desired. Adequate.

Room Tip: inquire about amenities being replenished on subsequent days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pajoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Aloha pajoan and thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our May Day celebration and activities. We apologize that our rooms did not meet your expectations, but appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you again for your time. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many Sheraton hotels around the world and Australia and we can't believe that this prestige hotel chain would lend it's name to this totally run down, tired looking property! It truly is beyond shabby with peeling wall paper. cracked toilet cysterns and even though we paid extra for a high ocean view room with a balcony, the balcony didn't have any chairs on it, so I dragged out the big arm chair from our room.
On the plus side, the location is great as it's right in the heart of Waikiki and it was quite clean. Some of the staff were lovely, but then some could be quite rude and uninterested.
Since coming home I've now further researched and have found that there is a hotel just a half block down with fully renovated large rooms at a much cheaper rate so our next trip to Hawaii we'll be staying there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Aloha Ruinedout and thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. We regret to learn that you recent experience with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize that our decor including wall paper, toilets and room furniture were not to your satisfaction and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding these items. We'll send you a direct message requesting your room number so that we can have our housekeeping team follow up directly on the matter regarding the lanai furniture that should have been in your room. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. Mahalo again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've stayed here twice now and I have to say, first time around I would have given it a 4.5 (18 months ago), we were treated well, and at no extra charge were upgraded to a room that overlooked the beach and pool (which is also the sunrise) so the views were beautiful! This time however, we paid for an 'ocean view' and we were upgraded to a 'premium ocean room' and i'm sorry but i can BARELY see any ocean! I have an extremely noisy view of the road and multiple carparks, but not an ocean! So I wouldnt recommend anyone asking for this room and im equally not sure where the 'upgrade' was! The other very frutrating thing is, I cant have a car as i am under 25, yet im paying for a carpark in the set $18 per day which also pays for two bottles of water and in room internet, one of our days we didnt even get water! I think if you dont have a car you shouldnt have to pay!!!
All this aside, i dont have any issues with the room itself, its big enough for two people, wouldnt go anymore than that because the beds are tiny and you wont want to share! The location is also really handy, being in the middle of everything!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebbecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Aloha Rebbecca R and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that your room did not meet your expectations and apologize that we were not able to provide the same room as your previous stay with us. We understand the frustration caused by the parking fee being part of the resort charge and are currently working on a solution that will best satisfy our guests. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Waikiki. We apologize again for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and thank you for your honest comments. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice hotel well located. Unfortunately it took three times before we got a decent room. We booked months in advance for my cousins wedding and asked for a two double bed room deluxe with ocean view. First room had a decent partial ocean view but one bed and my son didn't want to share. My cousin complained and within 30 min we were given keys to a new room which we found had a nice view...of a parking lot. We complained again and this time we were given a room much higher up with ocean view with two beds and could finally unpack. The room are nice, as were the bathrooms. They have a great breakfast buffet but we thought it was free and discovered it was quite pricey but still convenient and everything in Hawaii is pricey. So nice hotel and I would not complain if not for having to keep moving rooms when we were travel weary.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Aloha Lori F and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the room moves and appreciate your honest comments regarding the process. We're happy to learn that you were pleased with the room you were provided after your changes. We apologize for any confusion and inconvenience regarding the breakfast buffet. Thank you again for your feedback. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Kaiulani Wing is an antiquated noisy section which would not rate 3 stars. The decor is shabby, the aircinditioning is noisy old fashioned type and our room was over the loading dock and garbage dump, with a 4 story car park opposite. Admittedly the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for the newer wings or go to a better hotel as the main ones are all run by Sheraton
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Philwhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Aloha Philwhill and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that your recent stay with us did not meet you expectations. We apologize for the noise you experienced in our Kaiulani Wing and understand that the parking garage and loading dock noise can be frustrating. We appreciate your pointing out that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. Mahalo again for your feedback. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

while not on the beach, it's an easy walk to the beach. price was great. internet in the rooms are ethernet but wifi in the lobby along with 8 computers and a printer for public use. Parking is part of the "resort fee" which is hard to find in that part of Honolulu. Buffets looked bountiful but too many other good places to eat for a more reasonable price. Pool area and evening entertainment was great.

Room Tip: rooms with an even number look out on diamond head and the pool, entertainment area so noisier but e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerrijellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Aloha gerrijellison and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We'er happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our wired only internet in the Ainahau Tower and are pleased to share that our entire hotel will recieve a wifi update in May. We regret to learn that you chose not to enjoy our buffet, but are pleased to know that you found alternate dining options in the surrounding area. We're also happy to learn that you enjoyed our nightly entertainment by the pool. Mahalo again for your comments. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Alohilani Resort Waikiki Beach
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
628 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,159 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $197 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Splitty, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing