We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sheraton ?????????” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #49 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Aust
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Sheraton ?????????”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many Sheraton hotels around the world and Australia and we can't believe that this prestige hotel chain would lend it's name to this totally run down, tired looking property! It truly is beyond shabby with peeling wall paper. cracked toilet cysterns and even though we paid extra for a high ocean view room with a balcony, the balcony didn't have any chairs on it, so I dragged out the big arm chair from our room.
On the plus side, the location is great as it's right in the heart of Waikiki and it was quite clean. Some of the staff were lovely, but then some could be quite rude and uninterested.
Since coming home I've now further researched and have found that there is a hotel just a half block down with fully renovated large rooms at a much cheaper rate so our next trip to Hawaii we'll be staying there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lor O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha Ruinedout and thank you for taking the time to review out hotel. We regret to learn that you recent experience with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize that our decor including wall paper, toilets and room furniture were not to your satisfaction and we appreciate your honest feedback regarding these items. We'll send you a direct message requesting your room number so that we can have our housekeeping team follow up directly on the matter regarding the lanai furniture that should have been in your room. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location. Mahalo again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    676
    1,411
    776
    305
    174
See reviews for
990
1,169
212
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've stayed here twice now and I have to say, first time around I would have given it a 4.5 (18 months ago), we were treated well, and at no extra charge were upgraded to a room that overlooked the beach and pool (which is also the sunrise) so the views were beautiful! This time however, we paid for an 'ocean view' and we were upgraded to a 'premium ocean room' and i'm sorry but i can BARELY see any ocean! I have an extremely noisy view of the road and multiple carparks, but not an ocean! So I wouldnt recommend anyone asking for this room and im equally not sure where the 'upgrade' was! The other very frutrating thing is, I cant have a car as i am under 25, yet im paying for a carpark in the set $18 per day which also pays for two bottles of water and in room internet, one of our days we didnt even get water! I think if you dont have a car you shouldnt have to pay!!!
All this aside, i dont have any issues with the room itself, its big enough for two people, wouldnt go anymore than that because the beds are tiny and you wont want to share! The location is also really handy, being in the middle of everything!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebbecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha Rebbecca R and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that your room did not meet your expectations and apologize that we were not able to provide the same room as your previous stay with us. We understand the frustration caused by the parking fee being part of the resort charge and are currently working on a solution that will best satisfy our guests. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed our location in the heart of Waikiki. We apologize again for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and thank you for your honest comments. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice hotel well located. Unfortunately it took three times before we got a decent room. We booked months in advance for my cousins wedding and asked for a two double bed room deluxe with ocean view. First room had a decent partial ocean view but one bed and my son didn't want to share. My cousin complained and within 30 min we were given keys to a new room which we found had a nice view...of a parking lot. We complained again and this time we were given a room much higher up with ocean view with two beds and could finally unpack. The room are nice, as were the bathrooms. They have a great breakfast buffet but we thought it was free and discovered it was quite pricey but still convenient and everything in Hawaii is pricey. So nice hotel and I would not complain if not for having to keep moving rooms when we were travel weary.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha Lori F and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the room moves and appreciate your honest comments regarding the process. We're happy to learn that you were pleased with the room you were provided after your changes. We apologize for any confusion and inconvenience regarding the breakfast buffet. Thank you again for your feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller in Alice
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Kaiulani Wing is an antiquated noisy section which would not rate 3 stars. The decor is shabby, the aircinditioning is noisy old fashioned type and our room was over the loading dock and garbage dump, with a 4 story car park opposite. Admittedly the room was clean and the bed comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for the newer wings or go to a better hotel as the main ones are all run by Sheraton
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Philwhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha Philwhill and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that your recent stay with us did not meet you expectations. We apologize for the noise you experienced in our Kaiulani Wing and understand that the parking garage and loading dock noise can be frustrating. We appreciate your pointing out that you were pleased with the cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. Mahalo again for your feedback. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, California, United States
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

while not on the beach, it's an easy walk to the beach. price was great. internet in the rooms are ethernet but wifi in the lobby along with 8 computers and a printer for public use. Parking is part of the "resort fee" which is hard to find in that part of Honolulu. Buffets looked bountiful but too many other good places to eat for a more reasonable price. Pool area and evening entertainment was great.

Room Tip: rooms with an even number look out on diamond head and the pool, entertainment area so noisier but e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrijellison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha gerrijellison and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We'er happy to learn that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Waikiki. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by our wired only internet in the Ainahau Tower and are pleased to share that our entire hotel will recieve a wifi update in May. We regret to learn that you chose not to enjoy our buffet, but are pleased to know that you found alternate dining options in the surrounding area. We're also happy to learn that you enjoyed our nightly entertainment by the pool. Mahalo again for your comments. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

good location opposite the beach ,everything within walking distance.clean rooms that were a good size .as part of the resort fee international phone calls were free (mobile and land lines for an hour a day)! great coffee shop just outside the hotel complex.staff friendly and helpful those at the tour desk really informative .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaytraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha holidaytraveller101 and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you utizlied the long distance calling included in our resort fee. We're also happy to learn that you found our staff helpful and friendly. Mahalo again for your time and we look forward to seeing you again. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I wasn't particularly impressed with this hotel, and having stayed at the Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel at the beginning of our trip.

The reception area is spacious but dated. The staff were friendly but didn't do anything to rave about. We put in our reservation that it was our 10th Anniversary. Not even a mention at check-in, nothing in the room or at any time during our stay.

The room was not huge and the bathroom was compact. The room had an adjoining door, but we don't believe anyone was staying in there as we didn't hear anything.

The balcony door was incredibly difficult to open. The bed was comfortable. We were located on the 27th floor and the view looking along the beach of Waikiki and toward Diamond Head was very nice.

They had music at night which finished at 9:30pm, until then don't both trying to sleep.

The biggest pain for me was NO WI-FI. You have to use the computers in the foyer, where Wi-Fi is also available. They charge you $18 a day for internet but it is only wired internet...if I had known this I wouldn't have bothered staying here.

We found this hotel really catered for the mass market Japanese tourist, not couples or individuals. In comparison to the Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel, yes it doesn't have a pool, it is smaller, it isn't a big hotel, but it was just so much better to me! (And they can manage Wi-Fi in every room.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSW42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha TSW42 and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize that our team did not properly celebrate and congratulate you and your spouse on your anniversary, as this was a special time for you. We're happy to learn that you enjoyed the view from your room, and we apologize that you found the balcony door difficult to open. We'll send you direct message to request your room number so that we can have our team follow up on this report. We do apologize for the wired only access in our tower rooms and would like to let you know that we'll be updating the wifi in our entire hotel this May, at which point all the rooms will have wifi. We know the lack of wifi is frustrating and appreciate your feedback, as this type of concern has resulted in our being able to request for the update that otherwise may not have occured until much further in the future. We regret to learn that you felt our hotel catered toward the mass market, but we also thank you for bringing this to our attention, as we move forward with improvements. Mahalo again for your honest comments. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing