We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“oneback”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“oneback”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

i stayed for 6 nites paid 18.50 tourist tax a .day for not more then 2bottles of water a day felted ripped off will not be back rather go to bali and get better value, rooms old, bar staff slack, the location is the best thing about this hotel

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha chris c and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We understand your comment regarding the resort fee and apologize that our associates did not provide information regarding the included amenities. Please know that the following is inclusive in the fee: high-speed Internet access in guest room and use of the Link@Sheraton, self-parking for one (1) vehicle (no valet), unlimited local and 1-800 telephone calls per day (cumulative of both domestic and international calls), two (2) bottles of water in room per day, Children 12 & under eat for free from Children's Menu in designated dining outlets with paying adult (one paying adult per one child), Big Kahuna Beach Services, two (2) non-alcoholic Princess Punch drinks per stay. Mahalo again for bringing this to our attention. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    1,447
    801
    310
    181
See reviews for
1,040
1,203
214
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are looking for a centrally located and very convenient hotel in Waikiki, this hotel is pretty good. In terms of price, it compares very favourably to other Sheraton properties which are close by and a lot pricier We had a room in the Kaiulani Wing which had no view but it was very clean and had amazingly comfortable beds and very crisp white linen. The let down is the bathroom which needs an update and has poor water pressure in the shower. Although the hotel is located in the busier part of Waikiki, the rooms are surprisingly quiet and we had really undisturbed sleep. One thing to beware of... You get charged a "Resort Fee" on top of your room tariff of US $18.85 (incl tax) and this covers things like 60 minute daily free IDD calls, room WIFI, beach towels etc.. So make sure you make full use of the services included.
The Hotel is one street back from the beach which is why it's well priced but its easy to get to, just walk across the Main Street to the beach on the other side (directly in front of the Moana Surfrider). Overall, good value for money hotel and well positioned.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha Mark H and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We're happy to learn tha tyou enjoyed our convenient location in the hear of Waikiki as well as our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper beds. We'd like to have our maintenance team check on the water pressure in your room and ask that you email your room number to us at 00380GuestExperienceTeam@sheraton.com. Mahalo again for your honest comments. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel. Great location for shops and Waikiki beach, but if you want quiet and relaxing, this is not the place to go! We were on the 23rd floor and still had noise from the hotel evening entertainment at night at the bar and from the street outside all through the night, particularly delivery lorries. The view from our room was good. The hotel was a bit shabby, particularly the pool area. Room was clean but basic. We didn't eat at the hotel, choosing to eat at restaurants in nicer hotels instead and we had breakfast at I HOP which was a couple of blocks away. The staff were courteous but not particularly friendly. We were not expecting the $18 per day resort charge that we were told we had to pay but did take advantage of the international phone calls and car parking which this covered. The charge also covered internet access in our room but this was not wireless and we had to sit in the lobby to get a signal on my kindle fire. Overall, the hotel was ok, but next time we visit, we will spend more money and stay at one of the more plush hotels that share the same good location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha samimax and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the noise levels. We are happy to learn that you utilized the international calling and parking included in the resort fee. We do apologize as well for the challenge you experienced with wifi. Please know that we've recieved previous comments regarding wifi and will be updating our wifi in the coming weeks. Mahalo again for your honest feedback. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Do not stay at this Hotel only if your Rich stay here 42.00 dollars for supper and lunch and breakfast is to far off that mark 39.50 per person.thats also you have to include a 18.00 resort a day fee for what i dont know,do the math 12 nights 12 suppers for a couple that over 1000.00 dollars,do your self a favor dont stay here,we will never come back here again,ih did i tell you about the hookers right outside the hotel yeh well maybe 40 feet down from the hotel

Room Tip: the rooms are quiet but hard to see the ocean if you want one
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riderblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketin & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha riderblood and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We great to learn that you were not satisfied with the pricing at our food outlets and our resort fee and have shared your comments with our management staff. You're correct that we have a $42.00 pricing on our new 7-day buffet on Friday and Saturday nights only. The buffet is priced at $39.50 for adults on Sunday-Thursday night. The breakfast is buffet is priced at $24.50 per adult. While we're happy to have guests dine with us daily, we know that Waikiki has many dining options and understand when guests choose to dine elsewhere. Please know that while we don't have control over occurances off our property, our security team is fully aware of the surroundings and proactively prevents any inappropriate persons from loitering on property. Thank you again for your review. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stay at both the S.W. & P.K. when I visit Waikiki. I cannot believe the review by jassdsu saying that the Sheraton Waikiki is much nicer with a friendlier staff. The S.W. is on the beach but it is too large which requires a lot of walking to get to anywhere. The S.W. lobby is like a very long 'wind-tunnel'. The P.K. has a more open feeling in the lobby and I think the staff is better than the S.W. It was easy for me to compare because I had stayed at the S.W. the last week of February and then at the P.K. two weeks later. I do think that the bathrooms at the P.K. needs some work - - our faucet leaked and we needed to put a towel behind the faucet to absorb the water. The P.K. is just across the street from the Beach and much closer to great restaurants. Food is too expensive at the S.W. Both hotels have a 'Resort-Fee' - - - much higher at the S.W. than the P.K. More JALPAK & JTB groups at the S.W. than at the P.K. which causes more congestion around elevators, restaurants and halls. The bell--staff is faaaaar better at the P.K. than at the S.W. Lastly - I cannot believe that the rate was higher at the P.K. than at the S.W. for 'jassdsu'. I stay a lot at both and find that the S.W. is usually $50 to $100 more a day than the P.K.

Room Tip: The view is much better in the Tower rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank billanddoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Aloha billanddoyle and mahalo for taking the time to review our hotel. We thank you for your kind words regarding our friendly staff. We regret to learn that you experienced a leaky faucet and would like to have our maintenance and housekeeping teams check on this matter. We've messaged you to request for the room number. Thank you again for your honest comments here as well as your previous reviews. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to seeing you again soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks on March 8th reported to security our bags had been gone through and items missing, heard nothing so by March 12th contacted duty manager, she was aware of concerns on the 8th but had done nothing, we left on March 17 no word from hotel. on leaving discovered my daughters swaroski earrings were also gone. Pool shuts at 6pm even though its light for another 2 hours so if you have children and have been out all day then they can't swim. Staff are basically rude or indifferent, internet can only be accessed in your room by cable so no wi fi not any good for iPads or iPhones, internet in foyer keeps dropping out. Wallpaper in room lifting off and powerpoint cracked and broken. we were told staff were not questioned about items missing as they were on days off. Asked front desk for an email address for Sheraton and was told "I have no idea how you can email a complaint" Hopeless, Sheraton you should be embarrassed. Do yourself a favour just don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha James M and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your response to our private message sent earlier this week in regards to following up on the issues you brought to our attention in your review. We can confirm that the outlet plate you reported broken was replaced by our electrician and we thank you for notifying our maintenance regarding this. In regards to your other concerns of the adaptor and earrings, our Director of Security should have emailed you directly to follow up and to provide you with the information for our insurance adjuster. We sincerely apologize for the less than satisfactory experience you had with us; we always strive to treat our guests with the utmost aloha and regret to learn that you felt you were not treated this way. Please know that we value your comments and have shared them with our entire management team for improvements. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

No Wifi in your rooms, old hotel. We're a starwood member so we used points to book here. We shouldve paid cash for a room and saved our point. If you have an option stay at the Sheraton Waiki- much nicer. Much friendlier staff. Ironically it cost up us more to stay at the Sheraton Princess than the sheraton Waikiki. Unfortunately sheraton waikiki was sold out. If we go back were going to stay over by the Aulani- not at the Aulani but somewhere near it. Waikiki is a mess, traffic is so bad and beaches are crowded- its not a vacation if you have to stay down there. Sorry to be so negative, just got back from five days at the Sheraton Princess and everyday we went to the Aulani beaches to escape the Waikiki. Lastly i met a couple at the computer lab who had housekeeping enter their room at 8:30pm while they were sleeping- they thought someone was breaking in.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank jassdsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing & PR Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Aloha jassdsu and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We regret to learn that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the wired internet connection. We do have mifi wireless devices available upon request for those staying in our Ainahau Tower who need wifi connectivitiy, as these rooms have wired connections only. Please know that we will be updating the wifi internet throughout our entire hotel in the coming months and the project should be completed by the beginning of June. We do appreciate your bringing this challenge with wifi to our attention. We also apologize for the dissatisfaction you experienced with Waikiki in general, including room availabilty at our sister property. All of your comments are valuable to us and we appreciate your honest feedback. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#49 of 84 in Honolulu
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing