We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good value, location”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I think I wrote a review on this property several years ago, but this is my most recent visit. Nothing fancy about the rooms, but they are perfectly acceptable and clean and I've never had a room without a balcony which is wonderful in this climate. Public areas are fairly sterile and crowded. I've never used the pool, which seems rather small. It is not on the beach, but convenient to the beach. Convenient location. You can charge to the room at the other Starwood properties in Waikiki. While there is an ABC Store directly across from the main entrance, if you are staying in the tower furthest from the reception (where I've always ended up), if you exit the hotel to the right as you leave the elevator there is a much more convenient ABC Store (and the rooms have refrigerators). Staff varies in helpfulness. I've never eaten in the hotel, but there are lots of options nearby. There are $2 shuttles to the Ala Moana Center in the area so you don't need to take a taxi. Generally when in Waikiki I stay here as it is usually a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cadence8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha cadence8 and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to hear that your enjoyed our convenient location which is in the heart of Waikiki, as well as our great value. Our Stay at One, Dine at All option is a great service for all Starwood guests and we are so pleased that you enjoyed this benefit. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    1,447
    801
    310
    181
See reviews for
1,040
1,203
214
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Loved this hotel! The hotel is really nice, our room was a little worn, but absolutely loved this place. We had a wonderful view over the pool and of the ocean. We sat out on our balcony and watched the show at night. The hotel is very conveniently located. They do charge a $18 resort fee, but it includes parking and water and fruit service at the beach. Got thru priceline bidding, so it was a very good value for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EyeLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Aloha TravelForFunDeerPark and thank you for your gracious comments on your review with us. We are so glad to hear that you love the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel and enjoyed your accommodations. We hope to see you back soon. Happy Holidays. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed for two nights.
This was our second time at this hotel & we enjoyed it just much as the first.
Excellent, friendly service, Excellent location ( close walk to everywhere in Waikiki), & great value for money. High room with Ocean views, comfy bed, & free internet kiosks in the large lobby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Mahalo nui loa ozpix for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that your second time staying at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani hotel was just as good as your first visit. Thank you for your loyalty and we hope to see you again soon. Happy Holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We returned to Waikiki and wanted to stay someplace smaller than the Sheraton Waikiki. While the Sheraton has been newly refurbished and is beautiful, it is large and busy. We have stayed there twice now. The Sheraton Princes Kaiulani is older and smaller but I felt a little friendlier. We never had to wait in line for an elevator, and while older, the hotel was clean and for the price you can not beat the PK. We would return here again. It is located right across the street from the Moana Surfrider and next door to the International Market Place. The only suggestion would be to ask for a higher floor if you don't want to hear the busy happenings on Kalakaua Avenue.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPGtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you SPGtravelers for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your thoughtful comments and that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel soon. Mahalo nui loa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

First the good. After several inquiries, was finally given a router which allowed us to have wifi in our room. Booked an ocean view room. Room did have a great ocean view.
Now the bad, no wifi in room unless you go through the hoops to get it. Had to make three calls, get a case number from tech support, go downstairs to the lobby and get approval from the manager. If u don't speak English well, you would never be able to get it.
Had the breakfast buffet the day after the marathon since didn't want to walk far. Probably the worst breakfast in recent memory - 1. Besides the $24.95 fee, waitress said there will be an extra charge for black tea ( in the end, it did not appear on our bill though) 2. Grilled fish from washoku section was so dry, only had one bite 3. Misoshiru tasted like it came from a powdered mix 4. Couldn't find any chopsticks - asked the waitress and she said its in the omelette bar area, not the washoku area 5. Waitresses seemed to be more interested in talking among each other rather than serving customers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMIhonestfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Aloha BMIhonestfeedback and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your ocean views. We regret to hear of your challenges and offer our sincerest apologies. We value your honest feedback and I have shared this with our management team. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our room had the most beautiful view from our balcony and we found the service wonderful with very friendly staff. We had one hour free phone service including overseas calls and also we had use of free computers in the main foyer everyday. the woman who was at the tour desk was exceptionly effecient at explaining what was on offer and how much. the concierge was very helpful when we had to book our ride to the airport. we did find the breakfast menu expensive so we went elsewhere to eat. this hotel was worth the money we paid and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bloozeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha bloozeen and thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful views from your balcony and found our service to be wonderful. We are happy that you enjoyed our guests services and appreciate your feedback as this will help us to improve. We hope to welcome you back soon. Happy Holidays. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leander, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The rooms are small and need upgrade, especially the bathrooms. Mold is on many of the surfaces and the vent in the bathroom looks like it hasn't been cleaned in months. Rooms lacks electrical outlets and has very little work space. The air conditioning is very noisy. They charge for everything, i.e. internet, phone calls, etc. Poor choice with other quality properties around.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prof747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Aloha prof747. Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. I would like to follow up on which room you had so that I can address your concerns with our management team. I will be sending you a private message with my contact details. I look forward to hearing from you soon. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,820 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#50 of 84 in Honolulu
3,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Property: Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing