We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We're going back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Last visit Sept. 2008. Great room, top level small wing, overlooking pool, ocean views. Meals were fine. Loved everything about it and returning in March this year, so after reading some of these reports, hope we won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Would prefer pool side with balcony, to city views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeverleyPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you Beverley P P for your comments. We are so pleased to hear that you loved everything about us and we are looking forward to welcoming you in March. Safe travels and see you soon. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,707 - 1,713 of 3,665 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2012

When we arrived we were given a partial ocean view in the Ainahua tower. The room was right over the International Market Place. It was a bit noisy during the night as people were partying. The room was clean and the bed was really comfortable. We had a king size bed. The next day we asked to be changed to an ocean view and were given a spectacular room. Room 2260 overlooking the pool and with a fantastic ocean view. We only had breakfast included with our package and the omelets were awesome, We found a different place to eat every night. We visited the Polynesian Centre which was quite an experience. If you do go there, the luau was soso. I wish I had taken the Prime rib. There is a $12.00 day resort fee, but this gets u a room safe, 1 hr international calling and internet in your room.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estranged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We stayed at the Princess for the second time in the last two years. The hotel is beautiful, however they did not treat the theft in my Kid's room seriously at all. I reported to them the theft of my son's souveniers from his room and they never treated it seriously at all. The security checked out the room and they said they would get back to me prior to us leaving in a couple of days and they never did. My son was devastated everything he had boughten in two weeks was gone. The value was menial to everyone else at about $40-$50 but to an 11 year old kid it was devastating. They could not even take $40 out of petty cash so he could buy this stuff back. I had to this so his trip would not be ruined. Poor treatment of non Asian people.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angele R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Aloha Angele R and thank you for your feedback. I have shared your comments with our management team, and was informed that our security department had conducted a completed investigation of your claim and was in contact with you throughout the process. Our security staff followed appropriate procedures and found negative finds that anything was taken from the room. If you would like to follow up with our security department, please email me at randi.okuhara@sheraton.com. I would be happy to have our Director of Security to further discuss this with you. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

My husband stayed at the Princess Kaiulani for a week January 5-11, 2012 to attend a convention. The rooms were blocked for our group, so the rate was reduced to $159/night, which based on the condition of the hotel seemed about right as the hotel is across the street from the beach in the heart of Waikiki. The Kaiulani is very outdated, with lots of nicks and scars in the walls and furniture in the guest rooms. The carpeting looked fairly new, however. The pool is pretty small compared to others in the area for what is considered a luxury hotel. The water of the pool is not heated, which suited me, as I am a lap swimmer. However, they put a buoy across the shallow end so swimming laps is pretty awkward. The pool is only open from 8am to 6pm, so early morning or late night swimming, which would be great, is not available, plus the pool is smack up against the lanai eating seating, so you are in full view of everyone. The dining venues are very limited, mostly to an expensive buffet for breakfast and dinner. We did not eat anything at the hotel, so do not know how good the food was. There are tons of restaurants within an easy walk of the hotel, so you can quite easily find just about any kind of fare for varying prices. There are classes available each day for things like hula lessons, etc., and there usually is some form of entertainment--bands, hula dancers--every night. OUr room on the 23d floor of the tower was average size but the bathroom was fairly small and in severe need of remodeling. The countertop stone was pitted and dirty looking, plus the sink had a crack in it. They provide a flat screen TV with lots of free channels. The worst problem with the hotel is the noise from all the tourists milling around below the area until very late at night and into the early morning hours. Bands play in the area below the hotel until quite late too, so you hear the drums playing loudly unless you close your sliding glass door. The noise even penetrates the room with the door closed, unfortunately. The bed linens were crisp and clean and the beds and pillows were very comfortable. Lighting was very good throughout the room and bathroom. There is plenty of hanging space and there are drawers for storing your folded clothes, although the drawer space is a bit limited. There is a safe and a refrigerator in the room, so you can buy juice, cereal, snacks, etc., to make eating a quick bite a bit easier.

Room Tip: be sure to ask to see your room before you check in completely. Not sure what the rooms that are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metalmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

We appreciate your comments metalmomma. We have added some new enhancements to our guestrooms such as new flat screen TV’s, new carpets, new bed lines for our Sheraton Sweet Sleepers; and we are so happy that you found these to be enjoyable for you during your stay with us. Thank you for your honest feedback as this will help us to improve and I have shared this with our management team. We hope to welcome you back to our islands soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Obviously an older property but reasonably well maintained (had to fix minor problem with sink plug). Very close to Waikiki beach and in the heart of the shops & restaurants. Even a decent supermarket within a few minutes walk. You can even walk to Ala Moana Shopping Centre in about 35 minutes (although we are fast walkers).

We had an ocean view room on level 8 and we were very happy with the view! The king size bed was very comfortable. It was a struggle getting out of it in the morning!

This hotel also puts on interesting activities like hula dancing and ukalela lessons at no extra cost. Don't miss the pineapple carving! Maybe they will add line dancing in the future (hint, hint).

Check in was a bit slow for tired travellers, but check out was quick and efficient. The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly front desk and bell men.

No problem with the resort fee although not sure if we got full value as we didn't have a car, but the included long distance (and international) phone calls is a bonus and the high speed internet was great.

There is an ice machine on each floor which is great for drinks in your room. Amazed by the fridge also...looked like a typical motel bar fridge, very small. However it worked like a demon and could freeze bottles of water in a couple of hours.

Would we stay here again? Definitely we would if we came back to Waikiki.

Room Tip: Definitely worth paying a bit more for the ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Aloha David L and thank you for sharing your review with us. We love hearing from our guests as we can see what our guests enjoy, and also the areas we need to improve on. We are pleased you enjoyed our centralized location and cultural activities. Our guests really enjoy learning about the Hawaiian culture and brining a little bit of Hawaii home. We hope you welcome you back soon. Mahalo for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2012

I booked one night at junior suite - I thought it was normal double room, what is going on?
Room is bad shape, need lots work to look nice. Painting on the wall peeling, floor with lots of stains, swimming pool that smells like pee.

Only good things about this hotel is they have good japanese breakfast corner where you can get natto!

If you book in advance, you can get good deal, but do not expect anything but a shed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellWiseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you WellWiseTraveller for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We apologize for the challenges you have faced and offer our sincerest apologies. I have shared your concerns with our management team so we could address your concerns. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Japanese breakfast items at our buffet at Pikake Terrace. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Pros: Location was excellent, just across the street from Waikiki Beach and right on the main shopping drag. Price was not unreasonable ($235/night) when you consider we stayed from Dec 26-30. The resort fee of $12.57 was very palatable as it included parking (too bad we didn't have a car), 100 minutes of long distance a day (too bad there wasn't anyone we wanted to talk to) and 2 bottles of water daily. Excellent view of the ocean, hotels, mountain from our lanai.
Cons: The wind noise that roared and moaned through our room was unbelievable, especially as the days weren't particularly windy ones. Luckily the wind died down at night. One of the phones in our room crackled so badly it was good there wasn't anyone we needed to call. The decor was definitely island nostalgia - turquoise or pink painted built-ins and rattan tropics. Bathroom was not someplace you wanted to spend time in but clean enough. The beds are tiny doubles - really too small for our family of four. There didn't appear to be Express Check-out of any sort so plan accordingly if you're rushed at check-out time - you're in the same line as the people checking in.

Room Tip: Avoid room 2841 if you don't want to feel like you're in the middle of a monsoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SJWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheratonpk, Online Marketing Coordinator at Sheraton Princess Kaiulani, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2012

Thank you SJWD for your honest feedback. We are happy you found our location to be excellent and our resort charge amenities a great value. We do apologize for the challenges you have faced and have shared this with our management team. Regarding your comment that it didn’t appear to be an express check out, we do have a video check out feature on the TV. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,680 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Beachcomber by Outrigger
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,745 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Princess Kaiulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Princess Kaiulani

Address: 120 Kaiulani Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $216 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Princess Kaiulani 3*
Number of rooms: 1152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Princess Kaiulani is located in the heart of Waikiki just steps from Waikiki Beach and a short drive to downtown Honolulu. The hotel invites guests to experience the true spirit of aloha while enjoying daily cultural activities, fresh, local breakfast and dinner buffets and the Splash Bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Princess Kaiulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Honolulu
Sheraton Hotel Princess Kaiulani
Princess Kaiulani Hotel
Sheraton Honolulu
Honolulu Sheraton
Sheraton Princess Kaiulani Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing