We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$221
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$254
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
$336
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,528)
Filter reviews
5,528 results
Traveler rating
2,782
1,579
635
286
246
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,782
1,579
635
286
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
3,559 - 3,564 of 5,528 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2010

We had fair warning that the rooms were small based on the other reviews, but decided to give it a try anyway. I love historic hotels, and small rooms dont usually bother me...but WOW. I felt like I was in a cruise ship cabin. I wish they had luggage storage somewhere, because two suitcases and one floatie-thing for the pool basically took over the room. The bathrooms is definitely one of the smallest I've ever had in a hotel; one person at time in the mornings.
We had an "ocean view." That is, if you open the window - which faced other rooms and gave us NO privacy - then turned your head 90 degrees to the left. Oh, and only if you were sitting on one small corner of a windowseat, which had to be used to stack the aforementioned two suitcases.
The service was pretty terrible. We had one great experience with check-in, which was followed by conflicting reports of what we were told about billing, our rate, and a generally crappy attitude from the front desk. Basically, we were told one very specific thing concerning our internet and parking rate (we were given a "special" at check-in), only to be told later that we didnt actually qualify for it...and were therefore being charged a considerable larger sum. On a side note, the internet is very slow.
In addition, getting housekeeping was, for some reason, difficult. Unless we were awake and out of the room by 8am, we were skipped over. When we called to have our room serviced later in the afternoon, they made our bed but did not replenish our waters, toiletries, or do a particularly good job. I could have probably made the bed better. This happened THREE TIMES. I finally found a housekeeping person and took soap and shampoo from her cart.
The pool is tiny, and unless you go out at 7 or 8am, there are no chairs available. The beach chairs are available for $40.
Now for the positives: The lobby is gorgeous, and the hotel has some great history. The location is great: right on the ocean, with lots of restaurants and shops nearby. The beds are the wonderful Westin Heavenly Beds.
However, I felt like were were paying to walk through a great lobby, because the rest of the hotel did not measure up. The hotel has expanded so much, that there are just too many guests for the small pool and beach area, which are part of the original structure.
If you want to experience the historic hotel, I'd recommend doing their Afternoon Tea (wonderful) and taking one of their historic hotel tours...but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsp80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

ALOHA & mahalo for allowing the Moana Surfrider to be part of your island vacation. First, we would like to apologize for the service quality issues as well as the inconsistent housekeeping services you experienced. Please know your feedback is sincerely appreciated, and our department directors will be addressing these issues immediately. As you commented, being recognized on the National Register of Historic Places, Historic Wing guestrooms are indeed smaller compared to those in our newer wings. We certainly hope that you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back, to experience accommodations in the other two wings of the Moana Surfrider that hopefully will exceed your expectations. Until then, Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We had an opportunity to check out several different rooms:

Diamond Deluxe Oceanfront - located on the south east side of the building. Disappointed by the old furnishings/fixtures (particularly at that price) and the Juliet balcony. Couldn't beat the true oceanfront view. We watched the sunset every night after we dragged the chairs from the room on to the balcony. (The maid had housekeeping bring us a couple extra chairs so we could sit on the patio.) The grassy area below is reserved for wedding so it was mostly quiet.

Diamond City View - located on the north east side of the building. Similarly old furnishings and fixtures. Extremely (surprisingly!) quiet since it faces a very, very busy corner. We used this room as a day/evening room the day we were checking out for our overnight flight home.

Tower (west side of the building) - 10th floor near the north end east side - totoally renovated large room with proper balcony. Nice view of the ocean. For a real ocean view not blocked by the center Banyan building, get a room closer to the ocean. We checked out this room in hopes of a better balcony. We opted to stay in the older oceanfront one.

Banyan rooms - we didn't see them. However, since they overlook the courtyard, it could be loud at night I suspect but they could be a surprise like the street facing ones.

Beach bar had good food but expensive drinks. We had lunch at Duke's next door where the drinks were way cheaper and the food delicious.

The hotel was beautifully decorated for Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100countries_or_bust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

Big MAHALO for your thorough review! As you commented, Moana Surfrider offers 3 separate, very distinct wings and we are often asked which wing is the best choice. As a hotel staff who has been with the Moana for 15 years, I can truthfully say that this is a very personal decision based on individual preferences and it is really up to each guest – some of our guests find our Historic Wing absolutely fascinating while other guests feel the modern Tower Wing fits their needs perfectly; many of our Return Guests prefer the Diamond Wing for its magnificent oceanfront view and sense of privacy. Lastly, we are thrilled to hear you loved our holiday decorations. Each holiday season, our Housekeeping Department puts their heart & soul into these unique decorations – yes, our very own Housekeeping Department designs & decorates! We thank you for your warm compliments and look forward to welcoming you back to create many more beautiful holiday memories at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

This was our first trip to Hawaii and it was pretty perfect, the only downfall of the trip was leaving to go back home. When we first arrived at the Moana we were greeted with a warm welcome and Lei's, check in was a breeze. We stayed in the Banyan wing of the hotel, our view was of the Beach Bar, Banyan Tree ( one of the coolest tree's ever..its almost like the Avatar tree), and the beach. The only complaint about the room is that the walls are thin, and you can hear everything from the room next door and everything that is happening in the bar. That is the only complaint that I would have but that should def not deter anyone from staying at this hotel. The views were amazing, the staff was very personable and friendly, if you are a history buff then this is the place for you. The hotel is seconds away from marketplaces and restaurants and the beach. If you stay anywhere in Hawaii make sure its the Moana Surfrider, you'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasteetreats419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

MAHALO for allowing the Moana Surfrider to be part of your island getaway - we are thrilled to hear your first trip to Hawaii was “pretty perfect”! With that said, we would like to apologize for the noise issue. There is no excuse for an inadequate soundproofing in Historic Wing guestrooms, and I would like to assure you that our operations team has been in the process of correcting this issue. Again, THANK YOU for your delightful review and we look forward to welcoming you back. Until then, Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Just checked into the hotel and got the worst service and rude attitude I ever got from a hotel, let alone from a hotel in Hawaii. The room they gave me was dark and damp, so I politely asked for another room. The girl at the front desk, Loi**, rolled her eyes at me. When I asked to speak to the manager, she laughed and shook her head-- right in front of me. She didn't even try to hide her rude behavior. When the manager came, To**, he really didn't seem to care that much. Enough said. The service is horrible and the rooms are really OLD. The furniture, the bathroom, and the decor are all outdated and ancient. The hotel is not worth the money. We have been coming to this hotel for years, and we are spg gold members. After this experience, this is our last stay in this hotel. It really needs new staff and a big renovation.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IVsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

Thank you very much for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As a valued SPG Gold elite member, your feedback is important and we thank you for taking the time to bring your concerns to our attention. Please allow me this opportunity to extend our sincerest apologies for the resort experience that did not meet your expectations. At the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, it is our goal to provide a renewing resort experience for all our valued guests and we are truly sorry to learn we did not live up to this promise. We would like to assure you we are fully committed to provide the level of service that Westin Hotels & Resorts is known for, and once again, we deeply apologize for your recent experience. It is certainly our goal to achieve service excellence in every interaction with our guests, and our director of front office will be addressing this service issue with individual staffs whose names are mentioned in your review. It is our sincere hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We wish you a wonderful holiday season filled with joy & happiness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2010

This was my first trip to Hawaii. My wife had visited Hawaii as a travel agent in the 1980’s and decided then that if she ever returned with me that she wanted to stay at this property. We found her instincts to be very good. Overall, we loved the place, but it was not perfect.

On the upside . . . It was historic and beautiful, plus the service from the hotel staff was great overall. We had a couple of minor problems with the housekeeping staff, but found them to be apologetic and responsive to our needs. The room was spacious and came with a coffee maker and small fridge (both are requirements for us when we travel). As promised, we had a full ocean view from our large balcony on the 9th floor of the newest wing of the hotel, the tower.

On the downside . . . As expected, everything in this place was expensive, and in some cases excessive. Costs associated with umbrellas on the beach were absurd. We tried to do our 30th wedding anniversary dinner in their top restaurant (The Beachhouse) but left the place before ordering because of poor service. this was a major disappointment because the whole point of our trip was to celebrate our anniversary. When we reported the problem on the way out the door, the young girl apologized, but did nothing to bring management into the picture or to try to rescue the situation with us.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2010

Mahalo for staying with us at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa and thank you for taking the time to post your review. First of all, we deeply apologize for the dining experience that did not meet your expectations. Furthermore, we are embarrassed to learn that no follow-up from our management staff was made regarding your experience at the restaurant. It is certainly our goal to achieve service excellence in every interaction with our valued guests and again, we sincerely apologize for your recent experience. We truly hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you back to celebrate another special occasion at the Moana Surfrider. Until then, Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews