We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This hotel boasts of being the oldest on Waikiki, and it is absolutely charming. The lobby is lovely with a stunning stair case going to the second floor balcony. I certainly enjoyed the parade of brides having their wedding pics taken on these stairs. Our room was on the small side but had everything we needed. I loved the large windows in the room and they actually opened so you could enjoy the ocean air. The Beach bar was wonderful we began each evening there and ended each day in an oversized rocker on the on the rear courtyard enjoying live music.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Aloha Maggie,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As you noted, the Moana is the oldest hotel in Waikiki, first opening its doors on March 11, 1901. Today, the “First Lady of Waikiki” stands as a landmark of timeless beauty and grace, welcoming our guests to enjoy her historical ambiance and old-world charm. We take great pride in upholding her original structure and features, including the size and layout of guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing. We are also pleased to hear of your wonderful dining experiences at the Beach Bar and that you enjoyed lounging in the rocking chairs along the Veranda in the Banyan Courtyard. When you return for another visit, we recommend making your way to bin1901, the piano bar in the lobby near the “stunning staircase” to unwind and start off an intimate evening in paradise. Thank you for your review. We await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,210 - 2,216 of 5,430 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful relaxing 5 days at our old favourite still has the beautiful ambience under the tree, facing the blue ocean. The Spa is first class too. The meals do tend to be expensive and yes its a shame they have to charge for hiring beach chairs and the room tax! However still enjoy staying in this fine old lady of Waikiki. We will be back.

Room Tip: The newer partial ocean view in the Tower were great, spacious and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2014

Aloha Deborah,
Mahalo for your kind review. It is our pleasure to welcome you back to the Moana time and time again. We are delighted to be considered your favorite place to stay while in Waikiki. The Moana’s location on Waikiki Beach is so unique– the breathtaking views from the guestroom lanais, picturesque backdrops of the pristine Pacific Ocean, and the comfort of the shade under the Banyan Tree in the Courtyard all make the Moana such a special place to be. It is also wonderful to hear that you were pleased with your experience at the Moana Lani Spa. Retreating to the tranquil spa is the perfect way to rejuvenate the body and renew the mind and spirit. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in a Banyan Room.
Positives: Location (right on the beach and proximity to shops and restaurants) , Service (everyone we encountered were top-notch), Courtyard (perfect place to sit on the rocking chairs, enjoy the live music and a cocktail).
Not so positives: Resort fee ($31/night), expensive restaurants, expensive beach rentals for umbrellas and chairs, the pool was small and there were never lounge chairs available.
Visiting Waikiki was nice since we haven't been there in over 13 years...it has changed A LOT. One of the most memorable moments of this trip was hiking up Koko Head Crater. It was a 1053 step vertical climb, difficult, but well worth the views from the top! We also took a day trip to North Shore and visited Haleiwa and Sunset Beach and ate at the food trucks in Kahuku- yummy Shrimp! Leonards Bakery is a must for Malasadas! Eggs and Things is what I would recommend for breakfast, but get there early to beat the crowds! Try the Loco Moco and the macadamia nut pancakes! If you're looking for good burgers, Teddy's Biggest Burgers... If you are looking for something outside of the crowded and bustling Waikiki, try Nico's Pier 38. Best Fish and Chips I have had and they have live music at night.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Lisbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2014

Aloha Lis,
Mahalo for your review. It is unfortunate that the beach and pool chairs were not available during your stay, however we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the time spent in the wooden rocking chairs in the Banyan Courtyard. Rocking back and forth to the rhythm of Hawaiian music while enjoying a refreshing mai tai really is the perfect Moana experience! It is also great to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our associates and enjoyed the Moana’s unique location on Waikiki Beach. If food is your calling, our signature restaurant, beachhouse at the moana, is a must on the restaurant to-do list. Indulge in the finest quality steaks and fresh seafood with picturesque Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach as your evening backdrop. We look forward to your next visit to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed 8 nights with my family at this incredibly beautiful and charming old hotel which, in my opinion, has absolutely the best location on Waikiki Beach. Keep in mind if you are looking for quiet and solitude, this is not the place for you. (In fact Waikiki is not for you if you are looking for solitude) It is a busy, bustling hotel with a lot of lookie-loos and a Japanese wedding practically every hour. I really don't like being around crowds of people, but I loved every minute of it here! The best people watching. World class dining and shopping. And of course a picture perfect beach and ocean, all literally just steps out your door. Stayed the first few nights in one of the older rooms that had been renovated - a Diamond Wing Ocean View. I actually liked that room because the view was incredible for the price. The negatives are that it was small, especially the bathroom, and the air conditioning was loud and inadequate on a hot day. Very comfortable bed though. Oh, and there is a thin door that adjoins the room next door, so if you have loud, amorous neighbors like I did, you won't be getting any sleep at night :) A few days later we upgraded to the Tower Wing - a Diamond Head Ocean Suite. If you can afford it, by all means do! It was a huge room with two balconies and incredible views. Back to the beach…we reserved a private umbrella on the beach every day, which was great bc you get to watch all of the action on Waikiki beach from your own space with food and cocktail service. Even though it costs $$$, it was worth every penny. The zero gravity chairs are so comfortable. All in all I loved this hotel and if I return to Waikiki next year, this is where we would stay. For you Four Seasons peeps out there, this is NOT a Four Seasons, mostly because the service and amenities which are lacking in some areas. If you need that type of service, The Halekulani is a superior hotel in every way, (we stayed there last year) but sadly it does not have the same location on the beach as the Moana.

Room Tip: Diamond Wing Ocean View was nice for the price. If you can afford it, stay in the Tower, more modern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank foodfanatix89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Moana, especially the amazing views from your guestrooms and the days spent under your private beach umbrella. Like you, many of our guests love being able to take a few steps out of the lobby to the warm sands of Waikiki Beach, while also being in walking distance of world-class shopping and dining venues. On your next visit, retreat to the Moana Lani Spa for tranquil moments of peace and solitude. As Waikiki’s only oceanfront spa, the Moana Lani Spa offers traditional Hawaiian healing massage and innovative rituals with spectacular views of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach. We appreciate your review and await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We enjoyed our three night stay. Shops and restaurants are within walking distance. Great FREE shuttle transportation to the local shopping and historic area. Small grocery type place available for snacks in the room.
Be sure to book the day tour - "Road to Hana" to see the northern part of Mau.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pianogardenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Aloha,
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your three-night stay at the Moana. The Moana’s unique location right on Waikiki Beach and amidst the shops and restaurants of bustling Waikiki is one of her most sought-after features. We are also glad that you were able to experience the beauty of another Hawaiian island during your stay – some of the most exhilarating views of waterfalls, taro fields, and tropical rainforests are found on the “Road to Hana” along Maui’s northern coastline. On your next visit, we hope you find time to spend the day under one of our private beach umbrellas. This is surely the perfect spot to feel the warmth of the Hawaiian sun, cool island breeze, and the sand of Waikiki Beach beneath your toes. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to Oahu.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

The hotel is a classic. The common areas of the old hotel space are graceful, charming, and relaxing. The tower is like any other modern hotel. The rooms are nice, updated, and clean. The bathroom is good sized and includes the closet. Room has a safe. The bed is wonderful, great night's sleep every night. The bed lives up to the hype. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast a couple of times. The food is good but very expensive. Right on Waikiki beach, can't beat that for convenience. Just a block or so from the mall with tons of eating and shopping options. The only drawback is parking is valet only and it takes a while for the car to come around. On the website I read about an option for self park at the Sheraton across the street, but didn't look into when I got there.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEatRepeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that your stay at the Moana was enjoyable. We agree that the Westin Heavenly Bed sure is heavenly, and are so glad that every night’s sleep was restorative and rejuvenating. Westin Heavenly Beds are also available for purchase at the Westin Hotels at Home website so you can enjoy the same restful sleep in your own home. In regards to parking options, valet parking is available at the front porte cochere or self-parking is available at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani garage located across the street. We look forward to your return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for another charming and relaxing stay.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We ended our trip to the islands on Oahu and decided to try the Moana Surfrider -excellent choice. We stayed in the older section of the hotel reliving its 1901 origins, and while a little cramped for bathroom size and closet space, we do not spend much time in our room anyway. What we loved was escaping the shopping madness of Waikiki, and the crowded beach, to the quiet elegance of the Westin. Good food and service add to the experience, and our particular favorites were breakfast on the porch with the BEST eggs Benedict with salmon I have had since Brennan's in New Orleans. Another morning I had their supermelafagorgeous Crispy Waffles with Coconut and Toasted Macadamia Nuts. Try a Planter's Punch and pupu's at the Beach Cafe under the ancient banyan tree to the tunes of Hawaiian music with a wonderful hula dancer too. All of these special additions make a stay at the Moana Surfrider a lifelong memory.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOCALGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. At the Moana, we take great pride in preserving the timeless beauty and charm of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” so it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed reliving her origins with a stay in the historic Banyan Wing. It is also great to hear that your dining experiences for breakfast at the veranda and pupus at the Beach Bar were enjoyable. The Hawaiian entertainment, iconic Banyan Tree, and picturesque backdrop of Waikiki Beach make the Banyan Courtyard such a special place to be in Hawaii. We are glad that your time spent with us created lifelong Moana Memories to fondly remember. On your next visit, we recommend dining at our signature restaurant, beachhouse at the moana, which features the finest quality steaks and fresh seafood in an elegant oceanfront setting – the perfect way to celebrate a special stay in paradise. We look forward to your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,244 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
508 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $343 - $585 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing