We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Very good experience in this wonderful hotel located on the main strip of Honolulu.
Nothing wrong, great view from one of the PH rooms.
Good breakfast with all what you can expect.
Would come back for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Franco8375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Aloha Franco,
Mahalo for sharing your experience. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations on your last stay at the Moana. The views from our Penthouse guestrooms are truly amazing and inspiring – we are so glad to have shared that magical piece of Hawaii with you. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience at the breakfast buffet on the veranda. We highly recommend dining at our signature restaurant, beachhouse at the moana, on your next visit. Featuring the finest quality steaks, fresh seafood, and vibrant island-inspired cuisine, beachhouse at the moana offers an intimate dining experience in an elegant oceanfront setting. We appreciate your review and look forward to your return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,187)
There are newer reviews for Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,036 - 2,042 of 5,186 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2014

My wife ad I just stayed here on one part of our 3 island 30the Wedding Anniversary journey and we loved it.

We stayed for 3 nights in Oahu at this hotel and it offered us everything that we were looking for.

- Excellent location right across the street from some of the finest shopping in the world if you are in to that sort of thing. We aren't but it was nice to know that the area couldn't have been any better. You are about 5 to 10 minutes away from Highway H1. This highway will bring you to the airport and also Pearl Harbor amongst other things. you can also take the main road in front of the hotel back and forth but there are a lot of lights.

- Service, everyone was attentive to our needs. Bellman, valet, folks at the front desk. Keep in mind that this is a very busy city and this hotel is in a very busy area of that city. Please understand that the service in this type of hotel is upbeat and fast. Do to expect that you will have someone waiting on you hand and foot. this is a city hotel and that needs to be taken into account.

- Banyan tree and the bar. Great place to relax and enjoy one of the best Mai Tai's in Hawaii, we had plenty of them and these were the best in our opinion. There is music, great ocean breeze, views are incredible and the beach at night is just a great place to walk and spend some time.

- Things to do everywhere. Again this is a busy area BUT it also makes everything convenient. You can walk from one hotel to the next via the beach and experience different foods, bar scenes, and music and never have to go out to the street. Perfect if you don't want to rent a car.

- Rooms… We stayed in the tower. I believe it was somewhere around the 7th to the 10th floor and overlooked the center of the hotels courtier where the Banyan tree is. The room had a balcony and a view of Diamond Head. One thing to note is that at night you could hear the music from the bar if you left your sliding door to the balcony open. Ask for a higher room up and you should not have an issue. We were fine with the Hawaiian music playing at night. I cannot speak for any other rooms but ours was clean, great views, UPDATED, and had a great view. Here's one hint sign up for the SPG (Starwoods points) card and you may get a free upgrade if available. You may also want yo get a AAA card (Automobiles of America) the rates ae typically cheaper.

- Great location for a day trip, Pearl Harbor, North Side of the island where the big waves are in the winter.

- Breakfast.. Do the buffet once but be aware that it's EXPENSIVE. We paid about $34 per person plus tip. It's worth it for the experience of dining out on the veranda and looking out at the ocean in the morning. After that you can find a much less expensive breakfast elsewhere, try "Egg's and Things" or somewhere else by searching on "breakfast waikiki" there's pleanty out there. YELP gives you a pretty decent list.

- Food, let me say this Hawaiians know how to cook. We didn't have a bad meal anywhere. Just next to the Moana Surfrider is what we would consider to be more like a chain restaurant called Dukes. Don't miss the crab and cream cheese wonton's there. The food is casual and the place is fun and they have music nightly.

Overall would I stay here again, the answer is a big YES. Cool old hotel with a lot of history and it's beautiful while having that refreshing relaxing feeling to it even though it's in the middle of a busy area.

---Mforder

Room Tip: Here's one hint sign up for the SPG (Starwoods points) card and you may get a free upgrade if a...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Aloha Mark,
Congratulations on celebrating your 30th wedding anniversary! We are delighted to have been a part of such a special occasion. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Moana and were pleased with the service provided by our associates – at the Moana, we take pride in providing personalized service and sharing the aloha spirit with our guests. We hope that your time spent enjoying Mai Tais under the Banyan Tree and dining on the veranda created wonderful Moana Memories of your anniversary celebration in Hawaii. On your return visit, we highly recommend a restorative spa treatment at the Moana Lani Spa to recharge and energize your mind, body, and spirit. Experience the islands’ traditional healing massage, Lomi Lomi, which will bring relaxation, a sense of well-being, and healing through touch and reverence. We appreciate your review and look forward to making your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, just as special as the last.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is a beautiful, historic property. Quintessential Waikiki. Location and beach are arguably the best in Waikiki. This is a beautiful, well maintained property. Staff are helpful and attentive. The porches - front & back - are an enjoyable spot to relax, people watch, read, or have a drink/coffee. Rooms are very nice (historic rooms are beautiful, but small - tower rooms lack a little of the historic charm but are roomier). The suites here are lovely - though if you are a Starwood.platinum be aware that you will have to fight for a suite upgrade (previously not the case). The addition of a new club lounge makes this property all the more appealing to platinum members and a good value for those paying the upgrade. The only thing really lacking here is an upgraded pool area (however, that might take away from the charm). Great property. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Enj0yingtheJ0urney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the Moana’s historical charm and unique location on Waikiki Beach. Located just steps away from the warm sands of Waikiki Beach, the Moana stands as a timeless landmark amongst the excellent shopping and dining centers of bustling Waikiki. We hope that your signature experiences, such as lounging in the rocking chairs on the veranda and recharging in the Beach Club lounge, created wonderful Moana Memories of your special stay in paradise. We thank you for your loyalty as a SPG Platinum member and look forward to welcoming you back for another rejuvenating stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here three nights last weekend. Overall, good hotel. It would definitely be a 4/5 rating if service was consistently better.
Things we liked:
- Location. Excellent location in the heart of Waikiki, directly on the beach. Few Waikiki hotels are on the sand, so this one gets extra points for that. it's also in the center of the Waikiki shopping area.
- Room. We stayed in a Tower Deluxe City room. We were pleasantly surprised to see a decent ocean view from the balcony. The room was nice, but boring - pretty typical for a Westin. We both had to work during the trip, so it was nice to have ample desk space and fast wifi. The toilets are Japanese style and perform all kinds of fun tricks to make you giggle.
- Banyan Tree Courtyard. The area under banyan tree, overlooking the ocean, is an awesome area for breakfast and evening drinks. Feels very tropical.

What We Didn't Like:
- Service. Consistent service is a big problem in Hawaii, especially in the large union hotels. Upon checkin at 11:30pm, the front desk person was try to negotiate with us to upgrade rooms, which we declined. Unlike most hotels, he didn't offer a fixed price. Rather, he tried to negotiate with us, as though we were buying Turkish rugs in Istanbul..."I've got a beautiful 1-bedroom suite that typically goes for about $1400 that i could make a deal on. I can get it for you for maybe $200, or possibly I could do it for $150." Seriously? The only thing that made the experience worse was when he was blatantly rude to a Japanese guest who didn't speak english. We also experienced horribly bad and indifferent service at the buffet breakfast where the hostess basically ignores all the guests and has the warmth of a prison guard. Further, it wasn't until halfway through breakfast that a server told us that we could order cook-to-order items from the kitchen, which was much better than eating the horrible cold scrambled eggs from the buffet. Tim was a good waiter, but everyone else in the buffet walks around as though they hate life and all the hotel guests who make their job possible.
- Pool. Not a big deal for us, as we'd rather hang out at the beach, but the pool is pretty small for a Hawaiian beachfront hotel.
- Beach Chairs. Our advice - wake up early and try to snag a good beach chair as early as you can. The first day, we lucked out and get chair #1, which is an excellent spot away from the main path of travel and with a direct view of what's happening on the beach. On the second day we were given a chair in third row adjacent to where everyone walks, which was not great. Seriously, we couldn't see the beach from our seat, given all the chairs in front of us. We were also less than thrilled that the only way to pay for a beach chair is to charge it to your room, which is less than ideal if you're traveling on business and cannot expense items like this and need to pay direct for them.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is disappointing to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your recent stay. All of our associates are trained to provide exceptional service with aloha, so we apologize that your dining experience at the veranda was less than perfect. We appreciate your feedback and will share your comments with the respective departments and our management team to improve on the Westin experience for all of our guests. In addition to the popular pool and beach chairs, guests may retreat to the Moana Lani Spa with a Day Pass and utilize the spa’s relaxation facilities, including a dry sauna, detoxifying steam room, and whirlpool Jacuzzi. On a brighter note, we are glad to hear that you were pleased with the views and amenities in your guestroom and enjoyed relaxing under the iconic Banyan Tree in the Courtyard. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for a more refreshing stay.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This Hotel hits all of the important points for a visit to Waikiki, A bit expensive but worth it. It has charm and history and if you are in Waikiki worth a drink in the least. The historical aspect makes it an even better choice.

Room Tip: Go for the upgrade
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Aloha Donna,
Thank for you staying with us at the Moana. We are happy to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations of the perfect visit to Waikiki. At the Moana, we take great pride in preserving the old-world charm and timeless beauty of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” so it is great to hear that you enjoyed the historical aspect of the property. We would love to welcome you back to paradise soon - please check the Featured Offers page on our website or like us on Facebook for promotions and special rates. We appreciate your review and await your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider for 4 days. The staff and hotel were great. Very clean, comfortable and wonderful location. We stayed here probably 20 years ago, and I have recommended it several times since. So we decided to try it again and it did not disappoint. The breakfast that was included with our room was much more than just a free breakfast, it was excellent. Our room had a small bathroom but that would be the only thing that was not to our liking. So if you're going to Oahu, don't pass on this historical building, you won't be disappointed. It's a great place

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingpatti2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Aloha Patti,
Mahalo for your kind review. We are so glad that you returned to stay with us after 20 years. It is always a pleasure to welcome our guests back to the Moana time and time again. It is also wonderful to hear that you were pleased with your breakfast on the veranda and enjoyed the historical ambiance and charm of the “First Lady of Waikiki.” We hope that your experiences with us created fond Moana Memories of your special stay in Hawaii. We look forward to making your next stay at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, just as special as the last.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel was stunning. I was upgraded to the renovated tower with an ocean view. The room itself was a little small, but the glass opened up to a breath taking view, and there were two lounge chairs to enjoy the sound of waves. The finishes throughout the hotel were beautiful, the lobby was warm and breezy, and the restaurant on the beach was tasty. I am returning with my family later this month for a week and a half stay... I cant wait!

Room Tip: ask for the renovated tower
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Aloha Genevieve,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Moana, especially the amazing ocean views from your guestroom in the Tower Wing. Listening to the soothing sounds of the ocean waves and watching a Hawaiian sunrise or sunset over the pristine Pacific Ocean are truly magical experiences. It is wonderful to hear that you will be returning with your family soon. We highly recommend spending the day under one of our private beach umbrellas, which are available for full or half day rentals. The choice is yours - lounge on the warm Hawaiian sand or under the cool shade of your private umbrella, both are perfect for your special stay in paradise! We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, for a relaxing and inspiring stay.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4,073 reviews
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $331 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing