We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite so far”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dixon, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My favorite so far”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I had previously stayed at the Sheraton Waikiki, Royal Hawaiian, and the Outrigger--all fabulous hotels. My stay at the Moana Surfrider surpassed every other experience. The staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful, our room was amazing, and our view was breathtaking. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkcarrasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations on your stay at the Moana last June. For many of our guests, the spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and Diamond Head from the Moana’s guestrooms are highlights of a holiday in Waikiki. It is also nice to hear that you were pleased with the service provided by our associates – we take great pride in sharing the aloha spirit with our guests. On your next visit, we highly recommend indulging in afternoon tea service on the veranda for a truly unique Moana experience. Refresh your senses while ensconced in the elegance of classic Victorian architecture, shaded under the canopy of a historic banyan tree with the sound of ocean waves lapping aside you on the shores of Waikiki. We await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,532
    1,477
    579
    259
    233
See reviews for
1,424
2,247
201
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Overall a great experience at the Moana and the staff are excellent. But please tell me you can't spend some money to upgrade and expand your pool and build a hot tub near the pool. The pool is much too small for the size of the hotel. If the Moana had a pool anywhere near suitable then I would rank the hotel a 5.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burnabycanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Moana and were pleased with the service provided by our associates. At the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we strive to exceed guest expectations by providing exceptional service with aloha. In addition to the Moana Pool, guests may utilize the facilities of our oceanfront Moana Lani Spa by purchasing a day pass. Imagine retreating to the whirlpool, sauna, and steam room for a relaxing afternoon, while enjoying the beautiful views overlooking Waikiki Beach – simply amazing! We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

My family and I visited the Moana Surfrider and had a very good experience. We stayed in the Diamond Deluxe wing- the good news is that we were oceanfront; the bad news is that our view was cut off on the right side by the Moana's main building (the Diamond wing is set back from the main hotel). If we visited again, we'd select the Tower rooms, which were slanted toward Diamond Head and had an unobstructed view of the beach. The pool and beach were very good.The Moana is within a half-mile of excellent restaurants and shopping, an easy walk.

Room Tip: The Tower Oceanfront rooms are the best. They are also located closer to the lobby than the Diamond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Aloha Doug,
We are glad to hear that your family’s stay at the Moana was enjoyable. The unique layout of the Moana Surfrider features three distinct wings and offers our guests a variety of accommodations: a charming, intimate setting in the historic Banyan Wing, unique Hawaiian artwork and views of bustling Honolulu and Waikiki Beach in the Diamond Wing, and fully furnished lanais showcasing spectacular ocean views in the newly renovated Tower Wing. On your next stay with us, we highly recommend visiting the new Beach Club lounge, which offers a deluxe continental breakfast and evening appetizers for a daily rate. Thank you for your review and we await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

we arrived at the moana surfrider in the after noon quite shocked how small the entrance is towards what it looks like on photos,easy check in ,the back of the hotel is right on the beach which is awesome , we had a ocean view room ,the room was tiny ,but the bathroom was even smaller ,but boy the view from our room made up for any of that absolutely stunning ,we stayed at the Hilton hawaian village first ,on our way to vegas and then at the moana ,on the way back for 4 nights moana wins hands down ,fantastic central location ,great for shopping and restaraunts,lots of Asian weddings going on but does not bother you they all looked lovely ,would definatly recommend and would defianatly stay here again ,thank you

Room Tip: book ocean view its beautiful and worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Aloha Deborah,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the incredible views of Waikiki Beach from your ocean view guestroom. The amazing views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean from the Moana’s guestrooms are truly magical and inspiring. The Moana’s unique location on Waikiki Beach is also one of her most sought-after features – amidst, excellent shopping and dining venues, the “First Lady of Waikiki” stands right on Waikiki Beach allowing our guests to take just a few steps out of the lobby to reach the warm sand and cool waves. We highly recommend dining at our signature restaurant, beachhouse at the moana, on your next stay with us. The finest quality steaks, fresh seafood, and vibrant island-inspired cuisine are featured in an elegant oceanfront setting for the perfect dining experience. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I just got home from 8 nights at the Moana. We had an amazing stay. The Moana is the princess of Waikiki. She stands apart from any other hotel on the beach. Her old school charm adds so much. The huge old banyan tree in the courtyard is her crowning touch. Our room was an ocean view deluxe room that had the most beautiful view and was low enough to enjoy the sound of the waves and the music from the bar if we wanted from our lanai. The housekeeping staff was overly friendly and always spoke to us and kept our room spotless.
We ate at the bar , on the beach in the beach chairs, in The Beach House and at The Veranda. all had excellent food and at most we had great service.
Service was one of our few complaints with the hotel. We felt for a Westin the service overall was not up to par. We tried to use concierge services several times during our stay and they were only able to help us once with a restaurant reservation. They didn't have answers for us or couldn't get us times when we could if we tried on our our own. We also felt that the hotel catered to Japanese clientele, which in Waikiki there are at least 50 % american 50% Japanese …. But it seem the Moana but the Japanese guests in the restaurant first and in better seats and in higher rooms. and I am not in any way raciest or against any race including Japanese people. Just so different from any other Westin we have ever stayed at, and my husband is a platinum member with an ambassador so we have stayed at our share.
The service at the front desk was fabulous… they actually told us about a fabulous Udon noodle place a couple of blocks away!
The best service we experienced was the pool/beach chair staff. Mo and Lee helped us the most. They we're wonderful as well as the rest of the staff. Very helpful and nice!
As platinum members we had free access to the beach house which was the best free breakfast/appetizer lounge. The staff there was professional and helpful as well.
The valet staff was also amazing… they never failed to have a door open for me and a water bottle for us on our way out.
The beach is beautiful. Every afternoon we had turtles come in and swim with us… close to the shore. They were feeding on the coral and not afraid to be around people as long as we didn't get to close. Several catamarans sailed several times a day right next to the beach in front of the Moana for $30 an hour. We took the sunset cruise and it included an open bar. Was fun and beautiful and w e saw whales too.
Having the Honolulu coffee co in the lobby was a plus for me. the nutty hawaiian latte was so yummy!!!
Overall Our stay was Amazing and we would stay here again in a heartbeat, although because Waikiki was so crowded we will probably choose to spend our next vacation on a more quiet island. I would have giving the Moana a 4.5 star if I could have ….. The service was a bit lacking but all in all a great hotel :)

Room Tip: Ocean View…. Ours was 5th floor and even though it was low we had a great view and heard the waves !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your 25th anniversary. We are delighted to have been a part of such a special occasion. It is disappointing to hear that your experience with concierge services was less than perfect, but we are happy to hear that the service provided throughout the rest of your stay exceeded your expectations. We would like to assure you that all of our associates take pride in providing exceptional service with aloha to all of our guests. We hope that your signature Moana experiences, such as dining at beachhouse at the moana and lounging under our beach umbrellas, created wonderful Moana Memories of your anniversary celebration in Hawaii. On your next visit, we highly recommend the Renewal for Two spa service at the Moana Lani Spa. Our private oceanfront couples' suites are personalized with whirlpool tubs, private restrooms and breathtaking views of Waikiki Beach. Congratulations on celebrating 25 years together! We hope to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to Oahu.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This is the property that I always wanted to stay at in Waikiki but never pulled the trigger until our trip in March 2014. Will I stay here again or move on to a different hotel in Waikiki? I liked lots of things about this property but we'll try out another property next time.

First the positives:
* This property has a lot of charm and the open spaces are so neat, from the rocking chairs on the front balcony to the banyan tree in the court yard, to the beach side bar
* Location - you're right on the beach and in the center of the action
* Comfort - it's a Westin and we love the Heavenly beds. Its so comfortable that we own the Westin Heavenly bed at home

Now the reasons why I wouldn't say definitively that we're coming back to this property:
* Partial ocean view room? We booked a partial ocean view room in the tower. The room itself is nice and good size with very comfy bed but the view is only available if you stand in just the right spot of the room and look in just the right angle. You DO get a nice view once you're out on the balcony and you sit close to the front railing
* Small pool and expensive beach rentals - as others have stated the pool is very small. We didn't really mind that the pool was small since we were more interested in spending time on the beach. With that said, since the pool is so small with limited lounge chairs it seems like hotel guest would be able to use lounge chairs on the beach for less than what the Moana charges

All in all, its a nice property that has lots of positives and may be our expectations was off but for the many $$ we spent on the trip I think the two negatives that I listed is enough for us to try another property in Waikiki

Room Tip: Would recommend paying extra for the ocean view. If you sign up for an ocean view room then try and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JP_SEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially restful sleep in our Westin Heavenly Bed and the amazing views of Waikiki Beach from your partial ocean view guestroom balcony. It is also nice to hear that you were pleased with the Moana’s charming atmosphere – lounging on the rocking chairs in the Courtyard is a highlight for many of our guests. Please consider joining us again during the month of March as we celebrate the birthday of the “First Lady of Waikiki.” We proudly feature spa and dining offers and special events throughout the month. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next stay in Waikiki.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Would come back again. The property possesses a charm and warmth that is delightful and welcoming. My daughters and I stayed in the Diamond Wing, unfortunately the room we were in had poorly treated acoustics, and we could hear conversations of the occupants in the next room very clearly. However reception was very accommodating in relocating us to another room which afforded peaceful sleep with only the ocean lulling as background noise. Would certainly recommend the hotel for a stay, but advise against room 3202 with the paper thin walls!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Aloha Mariana,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the timeless charm and beauty of the “First Lady of Waikiki” and would gladly return to stay at the Moana. It is nice to hear that our front desk agents were able to accommodate your request to relocate to a room more suited to your preferences. Peaceful sleep on our Westin Heavenly Bed with the sound of the ocean waves in the background sounds like the perfect way to revitalize and rejuvenate the mind, body, and spirit. We highly recommend a visit to the Moana Lani Spa on your next visit for a restorative spa treatment. A transforming experience awaits you at this place where massage nourishes the soul, melodies of the ocean inspire renewal and senses are your guide. We eagerly await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,523 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing