We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Would come back again. The property possesses a charm and warmth that is delightful and welcoming. My daughters and I stayed in the Diamond Wing, unfortunately the room we were in had poorly treated acoustics, and we could hear conversations of the occupants in the next room very clearly. However reception was very accommodating in relocating us to another room which afforded peaceful sleep with only the ocean lulling as background noise. Would certainly recommend the hotel for a stay, but advise against room 3202 with the paper thin walls!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Mariana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Aloha Mariana,
Mahalo for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the timeless charm and beauty of the “First Lady of Waikiki” and would gladly return to stay at the Moana. It is nice to hear that our front desk agents were able to accommodate your request to relocate to a room more suited to your preferences. Peaceful sleep on our Westin Heavenly Bed with the sound of the ocean waves in the background sounds like the perfect way to revitalize and rejuvenate the mind, body, and spirit. We highly recommend a visit to the Moana Lani Spa on your next visit for a restorative spa treatment. A transforming experience awaits you at this place where massage nourishes the soul, melodies of the ocean inspire renewal and senses are your guide. We eagerly await your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,156 - 2,162 of 5,270 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2014

Let me start by saying that NO holiday in Waikiki can be anything less that 5 star! We had an absolutely fabulous time in Hawaii (our second) and will no doubt be back.

But this is about the hotel. When we were there 18 months ago we stayed at the outrigger which is next door - we saw the Moana as the luxurious hotel next door - so this time we booked it.

We had booked a Banyan Ocean room which is pretty expensive and has good reviews on here. DON'T DO IT! These rooms are tiny - imagine a double bed with 3 feet round it - thats it. The bathroom is only big enough for a shower. There's just a window, no balcony.

So off we went to upgrade - we went for 392 which is in the tower block. - A MASSIVE improvement (albeit an extra $1000 for the 12 days we were there). No problems at all with this room, large & comfortable. Except one niggle - why on earth in a double room with 2 people do they provide one dressing gown & one pair of slippers?

Then we were told about the "resort fee" of $31 per night - no idea what this covered except for basic internet.....

There are around 50 beds round the pool - for 800 rooms??? Lo and behold there are beach umbrellas & chairs that can be rented for $35 a half day. Quite a cheek considering what else we'd paid - but on the positive front it was a nice area and we always managed to get one.

They have a "beach club" which seems to be just a fancy breakfast room - we never used it as it was $80 a day.... Someone certainly makes a lot of money here...

Staff on the whole were nice and helpful, there was often a lack of coffee/tea/soap in the rooms though. We had the breakfast buffet - once!

But to re-iterate - Waikiki is wonderful. The Moana has a fantastic location right on the beach and is a nice hotel - back to the outrigger for us next time though

Room Tip: Avoid the older rooms - tower rooms are big and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme_UK_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Aloha Graeme,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to hear that our front desk agents were able to relocate you to a room more to your liking. The unique layout of the Moana Surfrider features three distinct wings and offers our guests a variety of accommodations: a charming, intimate setting in the historic Banyan Wing, unique Hawaiian artwork and views of bustling Honolulu and Waikiki Beach in the Diamond Wing, and fully furnished lanais showcasing spectacular ocean views in the newly renovated Tower Wing. In regards to the resort charge, guests are offered an array of generous amenities and services for a daily rate, including wireless internet access in guestrooms and lobby areas, welcome beverage, professional photo keepsake, and daily activities such as yoga, lei making, and ukulele lessons. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa to experience another five-star holiday in Waikiki.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Had one week here, saw some mixed reviews, we found the staff friendly and efficient. The setting and resort beautiful and is the centrepiece of Waikiki, right on the beach with amazing sunsets. The buffet breakfast each morning was great with lots of variety and most mornings we got great seats by the window overlooking the beach which was spectacular. Thankyou for a memorable holiday, hope to return one day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Aloha Steve,
Thank you for spending the week with us. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations during your stay. We hope that your experiences, such as enjoying breakfast on the veranda and taking in the breathtaking Hawaiian sunsets, created wonderful Moana Memories of your special holiday in Hawaii. During your next stay, we recommend spending the day under one of our beach umbrellas. Beach umbrellas are available for full or half day rentals, and provide the perfect spot to enjoy the warm Hawaiian sun and gentle island breeze. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever seen. I have been there multiple times and it still amazes me with its charm. I cannot wait to go back again

The patio out back is great and right on the beach

Only con is parking

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SW1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Aloha,
Mahalo for your kind review. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Moana and are already looking forward to returning. At the Moana, we take great pride in upholding the timeless beauty and charm of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” so it is great to hear that you enjoyed her historical ambiance and features. In regards to parking options, guests may utilize the valet service or self-park in our structure at the Sheraton Princess Kaiulani. On your next stay, we highly recommend afternoon tea at the veranda for a relaxing and refined dining experience. Refresh your senses while ensconced in the elegance of classic Victorian architecture, shaded under the canopy of a historic banyan tree with the sound of ocean waves lapping aside you on the shores of Waikiki. We look forward to your next visit to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Moana is our favorite destination hotel on Waikiki Beach-we have been staying there on our annual winter trips.
They had a refurbishment in the Diamond Wing-new furnitures, new carpet, bamboo flooring.. Some issues, they already had a storage problem in the room ,but particularly in the bathroom-they took out the shelving from the bathroom and also the table in the room was replaced by 2 rocking chairs-this necessitated the removal of the table.The carpet in the hallway is really weird!

Westin is still messing with charging for the use of their two slow wired computers-they already charge $31 a day for resort fee, why don't they fold this into that fee. Most annoying is the fact that no matter what they will always add some extra charges on it-checking out is unnecessarily streswsful!

Room Tip: Have stayed in all the towers-kind of like the Diamond Wing for its closeness to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alumnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, year after year to enjoy the warm Hawaiian sun and cool island breeze. For guest convenience, wireless internet service, which is included in the daily resort fee, is provided in all guestrooms and lobby areas. In addition, the express check-out option is offered to guests for a seamless and stress-free departure. Room charges may be viewed using the television in the guestroom and receipts are sent directly to the guest. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with our management team as it allows us to improve the services and amenities for our guests. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your next stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed several nights at the Surfrider celebrating a significant anniversary, really liked the place and would stay there again.
Location - right on the beach and central to the strip with its great restaurants (and shopping).
Hotel - a stunning, older building with the rooms being a little old fashioned.
Room - the beach side view was lovely, bed and pillows very comfortable, bathroom small and shower pressure a little weaker than I like.
Staff - almost all super-friendly and efficient with the best being those around the pool (Jilly really great). The concierge and the tour desk operator were a little bit of a letdown and could have been more helpful.
Pool - nice but on the small side (but then you've got the beach a few metres away).
Gym - pretty good but the best exercise was going for a run along the beach every morning.
Hotel food - reasonable but there are better places to eat.
Eating around Waikiki:
La Mer at the Halekulani - an absolutely incredible place with wonderful food, impeccable service and amazing views right on the water. This was our one special treat where we had the degustation menu, a fabulous meal (at a fabulous price but worth every cent).
Azure at the Royal Hawaiian - lovely Japanese/seafood restaurant and a step down in price from La Mer.
Doraku at the Royal Hawaiian Center - amazing Japanese food especially the sushi at affordable prices with lovely staff. The 'happy hour' (actually two hours) with a limited sushi selection is a particular bargain.
Duke's Waikiki - a very casual pub style eatery overlooking the beach. Good value for money and good fun in the evening. It was my first time for a fish taco and I have to say it was a hit.
Shopping - I am not a shopper but, if you are, then a visit to the Ala Moana Center is essential. Every shop and brand that you could imagine.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted to have been a part of your special occasion. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from your guestroom and restorative sleep in our Westin Heavenly Bed. On your next visit, we highly recommend dining at the Moana’s signature restaurant, beachhouse at the moana, which offers elegant oceanfront dining and modern classic cuisine. On a sunny afternoon, visit the Beach Bar for lunch and relax under the shade of our iconic Banyan tree with refreshing cocktails and delicious grilled appetizers. For a quick on-the-go breakfast or lunch, stop by the Surfrider Café for island fruit bowls and freshly made sandwiches to supercharge your day. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Agree with EmiliaS.
The hotel foyer is very nice but the rooms are very basic, even the partial view rooms. All seemed noisy! We looked at the Banyan Room & had to upgrade as the rooms were so tiny...we thought we'd landed in Paris! Nothing seems to be included, umbrellas, chairs, water sport gear like goggles...you pay for everything. Even a sandwich and a soda at the Beach Cafe ended up around $170 for 4 people & it didn't taste any good. Same with the 'famous' high tea. 4 of us had the $48 option...don't bother. The sweets were not good & the 3 sandwich slices were bland. The high tea was a big disappointment & way overpriced.
Two things re the resort fee (read rip off) that got under my skin;
1 - part of the resort fee is a surfing lesson...uh uh. it's not even in the water, it's an instruction only, you pay for lessons in the water.
2. you get 2 drinks per room per stay in the resort fee. So if you stay one night you get 2 drinks and if you stay 7 nights, as we did, you still only get 2 drinks...rip off. It should be per room per night. We mentioned this at the desk & were laughed at. I guess the hotel thinks it can't lose but they should start to consider that there are so many great options that offer luxury & value AND service.

Room Tip: Banyan rooms are tiny. Our Partial ocean room was close to Dukes so sleep was tough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Aloha Mark,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. At the Moana, we take great pride in maintaining the original structure and features of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” including the size of the guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing. We are disappointed to hear that you did not find the offerings included in the resort fee to be of value to you. Your feedback will be shared with our management team as it allows us to improve the services and amenities for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, to experience the true meaning of our motto, “First Lady, First Class.” Please contact us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com so we can assist you in planning your next stay.
Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,588 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
314 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $333 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Starwood, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing