We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Iowa City, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Still elegant”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

The Moana is our favorite destination hotel on Waikiki Beach-we have been staying there on our annual winter trips.
They had a refurbishment in the Diamond Wing-new furnitures, new carpet, bamboo flooring.. Some issues, they already had a storage problem in the room ,but particularly in the bathroom-they took out the shelving from the bathroom and also the table in the room was replaced by 2 rocking chairs-this necessitated the removal of the table.The carpet in the hallway is really weird!

Westin is still messing with charging for the use of their two slow wired computers-they already charge $31 a day for resort fee, why don't they fold this into that fee. Most annoying is the fact that no matter what they will always add some extra charges on it-checking out is unnecessarily streswsful!

Room Tip: Have stayed in all the towers-kind of like the Diamond Wing for its closeness to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alumnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, year after year to enjoy the warm Hawaiian sun and cool island breeze. For guest convenience, wireless internet service, which is included in the daily resort fee, is provided in all guestrooms and lobby areas. In addition, the express check-out option is offered to guests for a seamless and stress-free departure. Room charges may be viewed using the television in the guestroom and receipts are sent directly to the guest. Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with our management team as it allows us to improve the services and amenities for our guests. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to your next stay at the “First Lady of Waikiki.”
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,532
    1,477
    579
    259
    233
See reviews for
1,424
2,247
201
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed several nights at the Surfrider celebrating a significant anniversary, really liked the place and would stay there again.
Location - right on the beach and central to the strip with its great restaurants (and shopping).
Hotel - a stunning, older building with the rooms being a little old fashioned.
Room - the beach side view was lovely, bed and pillows very comfortable, bathroom small and shower pressure a little weaker than I like.
Staff - almost all super-friendly and efficient with the best being those around the pool (Jilly really great). The concierge and the tour desk operator were a little bit of a letdown and could have been more helpful.
Pool - nice but on the small side (but then you've got the beach a few metres away).
Gym - pretty good but the best exercise was going for a run along the beach every morning.
Hotel food - reasonable but there are better places to eat.
Eating around Waikiki:
La Mer at the Halekulani - an absolutely incredible place with wonderful food, impeccable service and amazing views right on the water. This was our one special treat where we had the degustation menu, a fabulous meal (at a fabulous price but worth every cent).
Azure at the Royal Hawaiian - lovely Japanese/seafood restaurant and a step down in price from La Mer.
Doraku at the Royal Hawaiian Center - amazing Japanese food especially the sushi at affordable prices with lovely staff. The 'happy hour' (actually two hours) with a limited sushi selection is a particular bargain.
Duke's Waikiki - a very casual pub style eatery overlooking the beach. Good value for money and good fun in the evening. It was my first time for a fish taco and I have to say it was a hit.
Shopping - I am not a shopper but, if you are, then a visit to the Ala Moana Center is essential. Every shop and brand that you could imagine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marduk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us to celebrate your anniversary. We are delighted to have been a part of your special occasion. It is so nice to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean views from your guestroom and restorative sleep in our Westin Heavenly Bed. On your next visit, we highly recommend dining at the Moana’s signature restaurant, beachhouse at the moana, which offers elegant oceanfront dining and modern classic cuisine. On a sunny afternoon, visit the Beach Bar for lunch and relax under the shade of our iconic Banyan tree with refreshing cocktails and delicious grilled appetizers. For a quick on-the-go breakfast or lunch, stop by the Surfrider Café for island fruit bowls and freshly made sandwiches to supercharge your day. We appreciate your review and look forward to your next stay at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Agree with EmiliaS.
The hotel foyer is very nice but the rooms are very basic, even the partial view rooms. All seemed noisy! We looked at the Banyan Room & had to upgrade as the rooms were so tiny...we thought we'd landed in Paris! Nothing seems to be included, umbrellas, chairs, water sport gear like goggles...you pay for everything. Even a sandwich and a soda at the Beach Cafe ended up around $170 for 4 people & it didn't taste any good. Same with the 'famous' high tea. 4 of us had the $48 option...don't bother. The sweets were not good & the 3 sandwich slices were bland. The high tea was a big disappointment & way overpriced.
Two things re the resort fee (read rip off) that got under my skin;
1 - part of the resort fee is a surfing lesson...uh uh. it's not even in the water, it's an instruction only, you pay for lessons in the water.
2. you get 2 drinks per room per stay in the resort fee. So if you stay one night you get 2 drinks and if you stay 7 nights, as we did, you still only get 2 drinks...rip off. It should be per room per night. We mentioned this at the desk & were laughed at. I guess the hotel thinks it can't lose but they should start to consider that there are so many great options that offer luxury & value AND service.

Room Tip: Banyan rooms are tiny. Our Partial ocean room was close to Dukes so sleep was tough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha Mark,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It is unfortunate that we were unable to exceed your expectations on your recent stay with us. At the Moana, we take great pride in maintaining the original structure and features of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” including the size of the guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing. We are disappointed to hear that you did not find the offerings included in the resort fee to be of value to you. Your feedback will be shared with our management team as it allows us to improve the services and amenities for our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, to experience the true meaning of our motto, “First Lady, First Class.” Please contact us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com so we can assist you in planning your next stay.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I just love this hotel! The ambiance, architecture, friendly and welcoming staff. Hawaii is just the best place to decompress from the hustle and busy work schedule. This was my second time staying and reserved an junior suite. The room was at least 400 square feet and was worth the extra expense. Being on the corner and have windows going around 2 of the walls, the view was spectacular. It was a bit loud though with the street music at night (hence the 3 starts for sleep quality). The location is ideal and you can walk or take the bus to many popular tourist destinations on the island.

Seriously, all the way around, the Moana Surfrider met our expectations! Thanks for such a memorable stay and we'll be sure to stay the next time we are in Waikiki!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhatsHotAndNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for your review. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, especially the accommodations and gorgeous ocean views from your junior suite. For 113 years, the “First Lady of Waikiki” has served as a peaceful retreat for our guests – enjoying afternoon tea on the veranda, indulging in a restorative treatment at the Moana Lani Spa, and listening to Hawaiian music while dining under the shade of our iconic Banyan tree, are the perfect experiences to create Moana Memories of a wonderful Hawaiian vacation. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectations and await your return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We've just come back from 6 nights in Waikiki. I've stayed at a few hotels there now (this was my 6th visit) and you really can't go past this hotel. I looked everywhere before we left to get a good deal on a room at the Moana, knowing that it is the best hotel in the best location on the beach, and couldn't find anything below $600 per room per night for a partial ocean view, until I jumped on Orbitz and got a room for half this price. Wonderful! We were then upgraded to a full ocean view room in the Diamond Wing on the 5th floor which was sensational. The room looked newly refurbished and reminded me of a beach house with rocking chairs looking out onto the balcony which has full views of the beach up to diamond head. The room was clean and the beds and pillows are Heavenly.. literally! They pride themselves on their comfort and they are second only to your bed at home. This trip confirmed that the Moana is by far the best spot to stay in Waikiki.

Room Tip: I've stayed in both the Diamond Wing and the Tower Wing. I actually prefer the Diamond Wing with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LozzyP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your wonderful experience with us. We are delighted to hear you were upgraded to our newly renovated Diamond Wing guestroom. We receive many compliments on our rocking chairs in the lobby that we decided to incorporate the rocking chairs into all Diamond Deluxe Ocean guestrooms. Isn't it relaxing to enjoy a lazy afternoon watching Waikiki go by from your own private rocking chairs? We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana for another memorable stay.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Three night stay and within three hours I was regretting decision to stay here and wanted to leave. Have not stayed elsewhere in Waikiki beach, so Moana may be nicer than others here but I wanted to share these observations because I certainly was negatively surprised.

The hotel is in a very noisy spot, so for anyone sensitive to that, a high floor is essential. Ocean side rooms are at a huge premium but views are good and the street noise on the other side would have driven me crazy. After 22 hours of travelling, we were exhausted and made sure to reiterate our quiet room request upon check-in - not best pleased to have to listen to cheesy guitar music blasting for the next couple of hours!

The room was clean, has a comfortable bed but is very bland. Minibar not stocked and no nice touches whatsoever. 1 robe for two people. Room not serviced before 2pm either day.

Breakfast not included - extra cost of 35 dollars is rather high, nothing compared to the SOS prices though ..

Resort fee of 30 dollars per night gives self parking and wifi. Note that the parking garage is a good 5 min walk away and cry parking is 12 dollars extra. Beach chairs not included - I find this absolutely unacceptable especially given that there are nowhere near enough chairs by the tiny pool where kids run around screaming. Couldn't get chairs on any if the three days of our stay. First and last time I go to a four - five star hotel to lie on a towel in the sand...

Sorry Westin, whilst Moana is not as horrible as the massive neighbouring tower blocks look, at these price points guests deserve better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmiliaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha,
Thank you for your review. As a Westin, our main goal is to exceed the expectations of our guests. We do apologize that this was not the case during your visit. We value our guests’ feedback as this allows us the opportunity to improve on our amenities and services. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to regain your confidence in the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next visit to Waikiki.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

From the moment you arrive, you are greeted with the Aloha spirit. We’ve always stayed in the historic wing of the hotel. The rooms may be small but are nicely appointed and comfortable. The wooden rocking chairs on the front/back porch are inviting and a great place to relax and enjoy the Hawaiian atmosphere, while having coffee or your favorite island beverage. The hotel is right on the beach, with a restaurants, shops and galleries to walk to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Aloha Dandie,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At the Moana, we take great pride in preserving the timeless beauty of the “First Lady of Waikiki,” including the guestrooms in the historic Banyan Wing, so it is nice to hear that you were pleased with your accommodations. We hope that your experiences lounging on the wooden rocking chairs, enjoying the warm Hawaiian breeze while sipping your favorite beverage, created wonderful Moana Memories of your stay in Hawaii. On your next visit, we highly recommend dining at the Beach Bar under the iconic Banyan Tree. This is perfect place to enjoy delicious food and refreshing cocktails with gentle Hawaiian music playing in the background! Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next arrival to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,523 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing