We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$190
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$178
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$221
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$417
$380
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$254
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,528)
Filter reviews
5,528 results
Traveler rating
2,782
1,579
635
286
246
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,782
1,579
635
286
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,471 - 2,476 of 5,528 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a wonderful place! We checked in at 7AM (after long flights from the mainland) and they had our room ready. Our room was in the main building, the room was small but very nice, clean and well kept. Since we checked in so early we had breakfast on the terrace. Well worth the price, the food was outstanding. Overall it was a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to hear your room was ready for you after your long flight. The veranda is a guest favorite when it comes to enjoying breakfast. Not only do they offer a variety in menu selections from eggs benedict to made-to-order pancakes/french toasts, guest can also enjoy breathtaking views of Waikiki Beach from the comfort of your table. If you are on the go, the Surfrider Cafe is a great breakfast venue that offers coffee, freshly squeezed juices, smoothies and snacks. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana for another "wonderful stay".

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I have stayed at the Moana Surfrider many many times and have stayed both in the historical rooms and the new tower but not the Diamond Wing which I have had never wanted to stay in them or even looked at them. I love the historical rooms, although most are kind of small due to when they were built back in 1901. I love the character and if you can get one of the very few with a little balcony they are so sweet. I dont care for the regular rooms in the tower. very plain although they all have balconies. but I do love love love the tower suites. if you can afford those. all the rooms open up onto the ocean and are super duper. everyone there are very very nice and I will be coming back to the hustle and bustle of Waikiki!

Room Tip: the spa is one of the nicest all the food is great
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Aloha,

Mahalo for your wonderful review. We are excited to announce that the Diamond Wing guestrooms have just been fully renovated. The new guestroom design features the heavenly shower, in-door lanai with rocking chairs and ocean-inspired designs. Although the Banyan Wing was built in 1901, the Diamond Wing also has a bit of history to it. The Diamond Wing, originally called the Surfrider Hotel, was built in 1950 adjacent to the Moana Hotel. When the Surfrider Hotel was purchased by the same owners of the Moana Hotel in 1964, they had merged the two names to come up with the Moana Surfrider Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy the history of the "First Lady of Waikiki" and hope that the moana memories you create with us will forever be remembered. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa for your next trip to Hawai'i.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

It's a pretty location but full of tourists and others, many of which aren't paying guests. Too bad the hallways smell so bad - very funky, like a frat house. It's the kind of place that visiting college football and basketball teams stay at, and the quarterback gets sent home for allegedly relieving himself over the balcony. Can you believe they charge a resort fee of over $30 per room per day and also charge $65 for a place on the beach with an umbrella?

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Aloha Linda,

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the challenges you had faced with your stay. We value our guests and appreciate the honest feedback so we can improve our services. We have forwarded your review to our management team who are currently investigating the concerns mentioned. We hope you will reconsider staying at the Moana Surfrider for your next visit. If so, we would love to personally assist you with your reservation, please send an e-mail to 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

great location great staff very helpful, i would stay here again.
booked at last minute, for one night , then realised with the holiday period best place to stay price wise and location - so went down to see if i could stay longer - the staff were great and accommodated
concierge are very helpful, as is the pool staff and restaurant staff . .
i had a room facing the street not the best but best price - only room available, but still worth the stay,

Room Tip: if you can choose a room facing the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PJS777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Aloha,

Mahalo for your review. So happy to hear you had extended your stay with us. Our location is ideal for many of our guests who enjoy shopping and swimming at Waikiki beach. We hope you had a chance to enjoy all that the Moana Surfrider has to offer during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Waikiki.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This place has a beautiful lobby but don't be fooled because that's about it. It's crowded and full of weddings so you feel like common spaces are smaller than they are, rooms are not well insulated for noise from everywhere, some staff unfriendly/rude, rooms no cleaned well, valet slow, un impressive.

Room Tip: Don't get an "ocean view" unless you stay in the new part because the window is small and the ocean can't be seen from anywhere in the room unless you are standing up. Very small rooms and windows because it's the 2nd oldest hotel in honalulu.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James60898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Aloha James,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations. The concerns you have mentioned are not representative of our standards and for that we sincerely apologize.Your feedback is very important and will be shared with those departments mentioned so that we can continue to improve on the services and amenities available to our guests. Should you require further assistance, please feel free to contact us at 374guestexperience@westin.com.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews