We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #24 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lincoln, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed in the historical part of the hotel and it was so classy and awesome. Our housekeeper was great, anything we needed she was there and did an excellent job cleaning up after us. The view from our room was amazing and the most beautiful place on earth. We rented a beach umbrella and chairs on our last full day there and it was so great and we got top notch service on the beach. We sat on the front porch in the evening to people watch in the famous rocking chairs. I could go on and on for hours, this was an amazing hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room inthe banyan wing (historical), you don't need a balcony in Hawaii. The whole beach c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank June L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review! We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time spent here at the “First Lady of Waikiki.” As you may know, we set the precedent for Hawaiian hospitality over a hundred years ago and we continue to convey a sense of old world charm today with services like Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. So happy to hear you enjoyed your private beach umbrella rental. Guests of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa can receive food and beverage service from our Beach Bar while relaxing on an exclusive portion of Waikiki Beach. Mahalo again and we hope to see you on your next trip to Waikiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,502
    1,466
    574
    256
    232
See reviews for
1,398
2,235
199
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

I have spent a few nights at the Moana Surfrider and for being the first grand hotel on Waikiki its renovations and upkeeps still make this a truly beautiful place in the public areas. The upper tier rooms are a thing of beauty, especially on the historical side of the hotel. A time classic you will want to visit even if you aren't staying. Sitting out by the Banyan Tree with a cocktail watching the sunset is unforgettable. The only (and I mean only) negative is the lower tier street facing rooms are a tad small, but more affordable if you would like to stay here. The service and amenities are absolutely wonderful, and the nostalgic interior public rooms make you just want to sit and take it all in while doing a little watching.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for your comments. As you mentioned, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa was the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels and resorts. We try to remind our guests of a simpler time with services like Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. Time spent relaxing on our porte cochere rocking chairs or sipping on cocktails underneath the Banyan Tree is so memorable and unique to the history of the “First Lady of Waikiki.” If you haven’t before, please join us for our Historical Tour offered every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am where you can learn about the hotel’s unique journey through the 20th century. Mahalo again and we look forward to seeing you on another special trip to Waikiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider for 2 weeks in October and I cannot tell you how much I loved this place! We had planned our beach wedding here and we wanted to vacation for a little while with our 5 year old daughter. It was a fantastic experience! The staff was amazing!! The housekeeping staff was over the top! We came back one day and they had personalized a robe with our daughters name on it!!! So thoughtful! They always took great care of us. Sarah Lee, in the catering and wedding department, did a fantastic job helping us with coordinating and planning our wedding! She was so helpful and everything went perfectly :) Thank You so much Westin Moana Surfrider! We will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are honored you chose to have your beach wedding here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa and we are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us. There are so many charming and romantic qualities of the “First Lady of Waikiki” that make for a perfect wedding or honeymoon or anniversary! We love hearing of our guests unique “Moana memories” and we hope you will cherish them forever. Our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and we are delighted to hear how much you appreciated their hard work. Thank you so much for your kind comments and we will extend your praises to Sarah and thank her for a job well done. Mahalo again and we hope to see you on another special trip to Waikiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were in th Tower, we could here the fantastic music playing in the after noon and again at night on our verandah and in our room. Music was not loud just great relaxing listening music. Even when you were on the beach in the afternoon you could hear it. Pool area is crowded, you would have to get there early if you wanted a lounge. But the hotel is on the beach, so we swam mostly in the surf, and just dipped in the pool. Not reccomended for family. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were big and clean. Smoking is not permitted but out the front of hotel to the left is a smoking bay, which is a good networking place to share information with others. I would definitley go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have greater view, and less night noice from garbage pick ups etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your Tower Wing guestroom and that you hear the live music and entertainment from the Banyan Courtyard from the balcony of your guestroom. The Banyan Courtyard features live entertainment nightly and is the perfect place to sip on cocktail and unwind as the day slips into night. We also offer a variety of cultural activities in the Banyan Courtyard such as lei making and hula lessons. Mahalo again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
188 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

we spent many hours sharing the before celebration and the wedding with the new married couple and their family and friends. What a beautiful hotel right on the beach with a New Orleans flare. We say in the courtyard bar frequently and its umbrella tables are surrounded by the hotel balconies. The bar staff were wonderful, and service was equally amazing based on the crowd of people who filled the area. The hotel is sprawling with different entrances. There is valet parking with discount rate for validation inside. The bride and family went to the spa which they raved about. The wedding on the beach was attended by their security staff who gave the bride and groom and guests a watchful eye and assistance finding the ballroom for the reception. The bar and catering staff at the reception were very attentive to the guests the entire evening.

I did see several of the guests rooms which were large accommodating their queen/king size beds. Except for the lanai's and the beautiful ocean views nothing different caught my eye about the rooms except they were spacious. Besides beds, TV, there was one extra chair to sit on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkribbonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your friend’s wedding hear at the “First Lady of Waikiki.” We love hearing about our guests unique “Moana memories” and hope they will cherish them forever. There are so many enchanting qualities of the Moana Surfrider that make for an unforgettable wedding or honeymoon and we are delighted that we were chosen for such a momentous occasion. So happy the bride and her family enjoyed the Moana Lani Spa. It is the only beachfront spa in Waikiki and features a couple’s treatment room. Mahalo again and we hope to see you on another memorable trip to Waikiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked through a travel agent.. We wanted the royal hawaiian but she advised us to try a different hotel bc the rooms are small there.. Well we thought we where going to the sheraton but ended up at the moana surfrider .. Let's see we where on our honeymoon and asked for an upgrade and they told us they where full ...we got a 4th floor room that was tiny!!!!! No bath or balcony and it faced the street .. It was so loud!!!! I mean to the point that we checked the window and sure enough it was broke and wouldn't shut all the way!!! And garbage trucks start beeping at like 345 am!! Woke me up almost every night ... Now for the outside .. The pool I can't believe they only have one tiny little pool for this hotel it's pathetic and the chairs are all full by 8 am. I would have much rather stayed at a hotel that was worth my money.. We made the most of it but it was not relaxing and the room straight up sucked... Oh and! They charged us for the 30 resort fee even though we had no car to park and didn't use their internet. Very much a rip off ... Will not ever stay here again and will tell everyone we know to stay away from this hotel. Horrible.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravekc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for your comments. We are so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay here at the “First Lady of Waikiki” and we sincerely apologize for any discomfort you experienced while being our guest. As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels and resorts. We offer both historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing as well as more modernized options in our newly renovated Tower Wing and Diamond Wing. We are registered as a historic hotel and therefore our historical Banyan Wing guestrooms cannot be altered and are most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear. We are so sorry we were unable to provide an additional guestroom that was more suitable to your liking. If you wish to address this matter further, please feel free to reach out to us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. Mahalo again and we hope you will consider returning to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic room in the Tower with a beautiful view and music in the evening from our Lanai. Love the pool area and access to everything without a feeling of being crowded. Highly recommend. This is our favorite Waikiki hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear that the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa is your favorite Waikiki hotel. As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki (over a hundred years ago) and it is our history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels and resorts. We try to convey a sense of old world charm with our porte cochere rocking chairs and services like Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. We also offer a historical tour every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn about the hotels unique journey through the 20th century. Mahalo again and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,909 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing