We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Memory of "Old Hawaii"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Loomis, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Beautiful Memory of "Old Hawaii"”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

It's been a life-long dream of mine to stay at this historic hotel, and I was not disappointed. When I booked I specified a room in the historic wing, knowing that it would be smaller and have fewer amenities than the tower - but I wanted to be IN HONOLULU, not Miami Beach. We were given a room facing Diamond Head with a view of the beach and water. Being an old room, we could open the wooden windows, and listen to the surf all night long. The lobby was gorgeous and the café under the old Banyan tree was nice. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful (gracious service comes to mind).
But, I do have some issues. Why do they charge $25 + tax "resort fee" on top of expensive room charge? For that you get Wi-Fi and and photo. Their pool is very small and wall to wall screaming kids. A beach chair costs $35 a day. But where to put it? The beach is very narrow there and by 11 am hardly a square foot is empty. So it is not really a "resort" like you would expect on a tropical island.
That said, I still loved staying there, listening to jazz in the lobby in the evening, rocking in the chairs on the front porch, watching the incredible scene passing by on the street, and best of all, sleeping with the sound of the surf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank westerngal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We established the daily resort fee in an effort to provide a number of beneficial opportunities bundled into one all-inclusive price of $31. Included is daily parking for one vehicle, daily yoga and aquasize classes, WIFI in guestrooms and lobby, unlimited local and 1-800 telephone calls, up to 1 hour of long distance and international telephone calls per day, 2 glasses of wine per room per stay at bin1901, a professional 4x6 photograph on the hotel property, a collections of Waikiki savings booklet, a historical tour of the hotel property, a $5 discount on admission to Iolani Palace, a mini surf lesson, and various cultural activities including lei making and hula lessons. We are sorry to hear you didn’t find the resort fee beneficial and if you wish to address this matter further, please feel free to reach out to us at 374guestexperienceteam@westin.com. Mahalo again for providing us with critical feedback. We value the opinions of our guests and appreciate when they offer ways for us to improve upon our services. Thank you again and we hope you will return to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,532
    1,477
    579
    259
    233
See reviews for
1,424
2,247
201
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Croatia
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

After straying at the Westin for over 10 years,(spending almost 50K from 2005 - 2011 ) our Westin Maui of 2011 was a disaster : rooms not what we booked,; cleaning was every other day, when reminded!; over charges on beach rentals and about anything;30% less service staff etc. We took a break from the westin but decided to give it another shot on august 1st 2013. Here are the results. Just for yourself if this room is worth almost $600 a night! On a positive note : stunning views and the new towers are splendid, which make selling rooms at this rate even more despicable!
Miriam

Room Tip: The hotel is splendid and the new section is great. I just think it is shameful to sell rooms like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank miriambianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are sorry to hear of your recent experience and we apologize for not meeting your expectations. If you are interested, joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program opens up the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa as well as all other Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. We hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhayader, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

21st to 24th July 2013
First lady of Waikiki and as far as we were concerned still held the title.
Both Check In & Out were a breeze.
We were given a corner room in the Tower which gave us two balconies (bonus) from the small balcony (standing room only) we had a great view of the town with a mountainous backdrop & from the larger balcony (room for two chairs & small table) we had a beach / sea view with Diamond Point in the background.
Our room was well appointed, clean, etc
The Hotel has a really nice outdoor bar area with live entertainment all in the shade of a huge tree.
You could not get closer to Waikiki beach.
We had no faults with our stay here.
Mahalo

Room Tip: Stay in the Tower if you get a choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keefy001_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are so happy to hear you had a pleasant stay and that your enjoyed your Tower Wing guestroom. Views of Waikiki Beach as seen from our Tower Wing are breathtaking and not to be missed. As you mentioned, we offer live entertainment nightly in our Banyan Courtyard. Our Beach Bar, nestled underneath our historic banyan tree, is the perfect place to unwind and enjoy a cocktail. Locals and visitors alike say our Mai Tai is one of the best! Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was the second time my wife and I stayed at this hotel. The first time was about twenty years ago (pre-kids) ... this time, we brought the kids. We love historic hotels. The first time, we stayed in the old building and, though well-decorated and well-maintained, the room was a little small. This, of course, is to be expected in a vintage property. This time, we stayed in the new Tower rooms and the rooms were large, beautiful and well-kept. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location is in the middle of Waikiki Beach, near everything and on a wide, white strip of sand. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: If you like bigger, more up to date rooms, try the Tower section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are thrilled you chose to stay here again after nearly 20 years. So happy to hear you enjoyed your recently renovated Tower Wing guestroom. Here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we offer a variety of different guestroom options, ranging from historical accommodations in our Banyan Wing to our newly renovated Tower Wing. We are delighted to hear how much you appreciated the historical qualities of the hotel. For your information, we offer a historical tour every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. Mahalo again and we hope you will return to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider last week for 3 days. We were given the old rooms, which have very, very old and stained carpets as well as a very old bathroom. No shower gel was supplied, just a bar of soap. Someone left some fruit-granola yoghurt in our cupboard (presumably previous guests), which was not spotted by housekeeping and we had to throw it away ourselves outside the room as it was smelling badly.

As this wing of the hotel is very old, you can hear if someone showers 5 rooms down the hallway, not particularly pleasant being woken up at 6.00am by your neighbors using the bathroom...

A week later we stayed at the Moana again on our way home. We wanted to get some chairs to sit at the private beach area (which is tiny, there are only a few chairs), and were advised that it costs USD50 to rent some chairs and an umbrella. When I asked only for chairs, they said that the chairs can only be used with an umbrella - so if you want to sit at the private beach area, you have to pay USD50. And it's first come, first served, meaning that you won't have space when you show up late morning.

As the hotel is very expensive for what it offers, it is much better value to stay at a hotel across the road for half the price and use the public beach, as you will have to do this anyway unless you want to pay extra for your chairs.

The waiters at the breakfast area are all very nice, and breakfast itself is good - this was the highlight of our stay. But then we could have just come for breakfast and stayed somewhere else.

Overall, our stay at the Moana Surfrider has been a disappointment, and I suggest you choose another hotel at Waikiki. We will definitely not come back here nor recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure they don't give you a room in the old wing, as the walls are very thin and you will he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding your recent stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” The concerns you mentioned about the cleanliness of your guestroom are unrepresentative of our standards and again we apologize. If you wish to address this matter further please feel free to reach out to us at 374guesexperienceteam@westin.com. As you mentioned, we offer daily private beach umbrella rentals for $50 where guests can relax in complete luxury on an exclusive beach reserved solely for guests of the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We are happy to hear you enjoyed breakfast on the Veranda and that it was the highlight of your stay. There really is no better way to start your day in Waikiki. If you are interested, please consider joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program, which opens up the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa as well as all other Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. We hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The lobby and outdoor area at this hotel show great charm and character, with real history to soak up. The location on Waikiki Beach is top-notch and is extremely convenient to both the beach and local shopping and restaurants. The only drawback was that the room was a little out-dated (loud air-conditioner and 80's-esque bathroom / wallpaper). Overall, a very good stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Aloha,
Mahalo for sharing your thoughts with us. We are so happy you chose to stay with us here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you may know, we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and we continue to convey a sense of romance and charm today. We try to remind our guests of a simpler time with services like Afternoon Tea on the Veranda. We also offer a historical tour every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. Mahalo again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are a family of 4 which includes 2 teenage children (17 & 14) and stayed 7 days mid December.
Check-in was smooth & very easy. We had a room on the 13th floor which had 2 double beds, desk, safe, bar fridge - all the usual items.
Air conditioning was very efficient; actually too good as the room could get very cold if you let it run too much. The hotel is right on the main boulevard of Waikiki and everything is outside the front door and the beach is outside the back door.
Bathroom was OK with a shower over bath, but the bathroom didn't have an exhaust fan. The bar fridge was empty which suited us and the cleaning staff did a great job cleaning up after us. The hotel is great, there is a really nice eating area which backs onto the beach, perfect for a late afternoon drink and watching the sunset. Pool area is a little small but then there is the beach right next to you. Great gym area which overlooks the main boulevard.
We found it very easy to get to all the major sites via taxi, shuttle bus or trolley car; most are just outside the front door.
Diamond Head Crater National Park is a short walk away and well worth the effort to the look out at the top; the view from the top was stunning.
For the all important coffee hit, there was no need to travel further than right next door; The Honolulu Coffee Co. makes some of the best espresso's in Honolulu. They are open from early in the morning to late in the evening. They make a mean breakfast muesli, croissants and other pastries as well, highly recommended.
After a hard day sight seeing or shopping, a great way to unwind is to sit on the large lounge chairs on the front porch of the hotel with a drink in hand watching the world go by.
Yes would definetly recommend the Moana Surfrider and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VictorG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your week long stay here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As you mentioned, our central location on Waikiki Beach provides our guests with easy access to all that Kalakaua Avenue has to offer. Many local attractions are within walking distance, including the Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium. We offer a number of cultural activities here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” such as lei making and hula lessons, all included in our daily resort fee of $31. Many beneficial opportunities are built-in to our resort fee such as daily parking for one vehicle, daily yoga and aquasize classes, a historical tour offered every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am as well as a number of other options. Mahalo again we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,523 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing