We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location Location Location”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Moana Surfrider for 3 nights and it was amazing. It is a beautiful historic hotel in the best location on Waikiki. There are some small maintenance issues if you choose to look for them, but the overall ambiance, service and location win it over. Pay the extra $15 for the valet parking - it is an instant stress reducer as there is lots of traffic in the area. Spend the money for your own personal space on the beach with chairs and umbrella for at least one day - it is a nice treat to be able to come and go as you please. You get what you pay for with the rooms - if you book street side you will hear the traffic - if you book ocean view, you will enjoy watching the surfers and the beautiful sunsets. We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Book ocean view and request the highest floor possible. That is all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LovetoTravel154933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are pleased to hear you had an amazing 3 night stay with us here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and set the precedent for Hawaiian hospitality over 112 years ago. As you mentioned, we offer daily rentals of private beach umbrellas, where guests can relax in complete luxury on world famous Waikiki Beach. If you haven’t before, please visit our Moana Lani Spa on your next trip and indulge in one of the many services offered at this beautiful beachfront spa. A guest favorite is the traditional Hawaiian Lomi Lomi massage. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,532
    1,477
    579
    259
    233
See reviews for
1,424
2,247
201
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

As soon as you walk into the Moana Surfrider, you feel like you've been transported back 100 years to a different place and time. Hotel has TONS of character, from the columns to the wood floors to the open courtyard.

If you're looking for a modern, just built last year, look and feel, this is not the place for you. If you stay here, definitely stay in the Banyan wing. This is the 100-year-old part of the hotel. It has windows that open and rattle somewhat in the breeze (after all they ARE 100 years old!!).

I had a city view Banyan room (was here on business) and while the room was on the smaller size it had a comfy bed and a clean, efficient, bathroom. It only had a shower so if you have kids, this may not be the room for you. If you're a light sleeper or go to bed early, you definitely want to avoid the rooms by the street. It's very noisy and the sound flows right through the old windows. It's even worse if you want to forego the AC, open the windows, and enjoy the tropical air.

I spent a couple of nights in their Banyan Court bar which is feet from Waikiki and has Hawaiian music every evening. It's a great place to just hang out, relax, and people watch.

Parking was a little steep ($50 for valet) and the self park wasn't easy to find. Turns out it is about a block away and is shared with a hotel across the street.

Bottom line this hotel has ton's of character and lives up to its reputation of being The First Lady of Waikiki. If you're OK staying at a hotel from days gone by this is the place!!

Room Tip: Stay in the Banyan wing with a room that faces the Banyan Court. Stay away from the loud street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingSux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the historical qualities of “The First Lady of Waikiki.” As you mentioned we were the first hotel built in Waikiki and subsequently rich in Hawaiian history. We offer a complimentary historical tour every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am, where guests can acquire many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. If you haven’t before, please join us for Afternoon Tea on the Veranda for a charming experience. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfirder, A Westin Resort & Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Moana Surfrider is by far in the best location. Walk out the back door and you are on the beautiful Waikiki beach. Walk out the front door and cross the street to the Market Place for plenty of shopping. Walk in either direction down the street for an abundance of food or shopping. We arrived early and our room was available. Check in was fast and friendly. We stayed in the Tower section which is newly renovated and worth the extra price. The rooms are large and updated. The toilet is plugged in to electric and has a controller which can be programmed for two different users. Need I say more? The beds were very comfortable. There were plenty of storage space and a safe in the bathroom closet. Robes and slippers available for guest use. From our room we had views of the beach and street. Views were okay since its at a angle. As mentioned the beach is behind the hotel. Towels and beach mats are supplied for guests staying at the hotel. There is a pool which is small but sufficient. The beach chairs tend to be claimed early in the day so we ended up at the beach most of the time there. There is a beach bar where you can grab a drink and food is available. Each day there is a different activity such as lei making or beaded necklaces. In the front of the hotel is a large porch with plenty of seats for guest to relax outdoors watching the activity. The hotel has a resort fee but it includes free parking, internet, local calls and services such as beach towels and mats. We used the parking which was a short half block away. They also offer shuttle service to the airport at a reasonable price. We had breakfast buffet at the hotel which was standard fare for a rather high price. We opted to go to local restaurants for most meals. Since happy hour goes to 5 pm we were able to get great meals and drinks at lower prices along with some good desserts. On our second day we had breakfast at another location walking distance from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel for its beauty, service and location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluebirdNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Tower Wing guestroom here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Views of Waikiki Beach as seen from our Tower Wing are simply breathtaking and not to be missed. As you mentioned, we are located directly on the beach in the heart of Waikiki, providing our guests with easy access to nearly everything Kalakaua Avenue has to offer. We are happy to hear you benefited from the numerous opportunities included in our daily resort charge of $31. We hope you participated in our Historical Tour, offered every Monday, Wednesday and Friday at 11:00am where guests can acquire many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. If you haven’t before, please visit our Moana Lani Spa for a number of services focusing on ultimate relaxation. A customer favorite is the traditional Hawaiian Lomi Lomi massage. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prosper, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a million miler business traveller, I've come to develop high expectations; hence the reason I'm SPG Platinum. This is my first trip to Oahu and while for business, I brought my wife along as well.

The check in staff was very courteous. I had booked a Banyan City View room and was told he was upgrading me to the best they had available; a Banyan Ocean View.

When we openned the door, I felt the term "upgrade" and this room do not belong in the same sentence. I've come to expect the best from Westin and this hotel falls well shy of the Westin brand. It is extremely small (I think the 265 Sq.Ft. on their website is excessive), has a tiny bathroom and nowhere to store your empty suitcases, which by the way are simply a carry on roller board and 26" roller board.

I called the front desk to request a normal sized room, however, was told they were unable to accomodated this request.

I doubt I will stay for the full 5 days I've booked as I can get more space at the Hyatt across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank McKinney_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being a loyal member of our Starwood Preferred Guest Program. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and we sincerely apologize for not meeting your expectations. While many of our guests prefer our intimately sized Banyan Wing guestrooms for they are charming and most representative of the Hawai’i of yesteryear, we do offer more modernized guestrooms in our newly renovated Tower Wing. We apologize for not being able to accommodate your request for a room in our Tower Wing due to lack of availability. We always strive to go above and beyond for our valued SPG members and upgrade them whenever possible. Mahalo again and we hope you will consider staying for the duration of your trip and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As experienced travelers, we were disappointed with the amenities in the room. We upgraded our room just for the larger bathroom, but it was tiny. The counter space was minimal for even two people. The room with a king-sized bed was large, but there was only one chair in the room, and no table with chairs to dine in the room. The pool and adjacent area was quite small and crowded. One elevator was out of service the 5 days/nights we were there, so a lot of time was spent waiting for it. Pluses include the hotel being on the beach and in a central location in Waikiki, large room, and quiet. The $30/day resort fee covered parking which was off-site and wi-fi which rarely worked. Our balcony was large and had a great view of the beach, but we upgraded our room to get it. Plan to return to the islands next year, but will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank letmebeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear of your concerns and we apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while staying with us. As you mentioned, one of the elevators in our Tower Wing is under renovation and will be ready for use by the end of June. Our WIFI is being upgraded to provide faster and more efficient online use. Our daily resort charge of $31includes a number of beneficial opportunities such as daily parking for one vehicle, WIFI, two welcome beverages from our piano bar bin1901, daily yoga and aquasize classes, daily cultural activities such as lei making and hula lessons, and a historical tour offered every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am. Mahalo again and we hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Our experience of this hotel did not start well, our check in day was the day of an annual event on the main street of Waikiki and all roads surrounding the hotel were closed. We had driven down from the North Shore and had no idea this was happening, after countless diversions we had to ring the hotel and ask what to do and then found out there were staff waiting at the Sheraton nearby to assist with getting us to the resort. We thought it would have been a little more professional to maybe have received a call or email from the hotel to inform us what to do due to this event. Check in was easy however no directions to your room unless you ask.
We stayed in an oceanfront room, beautiful sized room over looking the beach with very comfortable beds. We were travelling with our 4 month old baby and during the day the cattermarans that do cruises from out the front of the hotel have very noisy loud horns to tell swimmers they are coming in and out of the beach, would be good if they had a roped off area for the cattermarans so they didnt have to blast their horns all day waking up a sleeping baby!
The lifts early morning are extremely busy, often waiting a long time to get into one, again having a pram takes up a lot of room so not easy to squeeze in with everyone else!
We did call the manager to inform them of our disappointment about not knowing of the event closing the roads and thought is was poor that he has not available promptly and we had to wait for him to call us back which was also not prompt! Didnt really seem to care about our thoughts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yallingupkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moana S, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear you encountered traffic on your way to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, as a result of an event being held on Kalakaua Avenue. We apologize for not informing you of the event in advance. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your ocean view guestroom and our relaxing Westin Heavenly Beds. We aspire to provide rejuvenating vacations for our guests in hopes that they return home feeling better than when they left. We apologize you were able to hear the horn of the catamaran from your guest room and we are sorry for any disturbances you encountered as a result. We extend to you our sincerest apologies for the elevator being out of service during your stay. We understand it was unfortunate however we are happy to say it is now back in service. Mahalo and we hope you will return to “The First Lady of Waikiki” soon and give us the opportunity to regain your confidence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We travelled with 3 other couples to celebrate a special occasion. Every single one of us had great diffuclty and frustration at check-in; from the room not being ready (even by guaranteed 3pm), to be moved from original checked in room, to the front desk having no information of us travelling together (despite email evidence to the hotel which they claimed they never get?). So the reception experience left much to be desired. (Even tweeting Westin didn't make a difference 'the hotel will be in direct contact by morning'....still waiting on that).
BUT, the room we ended up in was lovely - partial ocean, 9th floor. The air con is a little noisy - it kicks in when the temp isn't right but during the night that can be annoying. There was no mini bar which was surprising, but a stroll to the nearest ABC takes care of that for a lot less. The bed and pillow were extremely comfortable as you would expect from a Westin, and the bathroom was large and towels were fluffy. Only shampoo and conditioner, all other amenities on request.
Kudos to Cheryl and Jilly working the pool bar - friendly, helpful and hardworking.
Breakfast was included in our package and it is really good - continental and hot, with eggs, pancakes and waffles on request. If you are after a coffee the Kona store in front of the hotel does decent coffee, so skip the standard filtered. BUT - the lifts to get to the lobby can take up to 20 minutes and are often full!! There was also one lift out of service so didn't help. So if you want breakfast (last seating 10.30) leave time to travel!
Used the laundromat - 2 machines, 2 dryers with coin machine and powder machine.
We booked the umbrella and chairs each day (expensive at $50 a pop each day), but unless lying in the sand without shade is your thing, it's the better option and they are set up right on the shoreline ($35 after midday).
The lobby bar and pool bar both close by 11pm so don't expect a nightcap after dinner.

Room Tip: Avoid the historic wing - you will be very disappointed. Tower rooms are MUCH better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madkat16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us and for being our guest. We are sorry to hear you experienced difficulties while checking in and for that we sincerely apologize. However, we are pleased to know that you enjoyed your partial ocean view guestroom. Views of Waikiki Beach from our Tower Wing are breathtaking and not to be missed! We are delighted to hear Cheryl and Jilly at the Beach Bar were friendly and helpful and they will be commended for a job well done. Our private beach umbrellas provide our guests with luxurious relaxation in the most ideal location. As you mentioned, one of our Tower Wing elevators in under renovation and we apologize for any inconveniences you may have encountered as a result. Mahalo and we hope you will return to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your next trip to Hawai’i.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,523 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing