We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Stay Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,567)
Filter reviews
5,567 results
Traveler rating
2,801
1,589
639
288
250
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,801
1,589
639
288
250
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headpool staffnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikiki
Filter
Updating list...
2,784 - 2,789 of 5,567 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Beautiful rooms, great customer service, lovely view (from ocean tower rooms) and spacious rooms.
Welcomed with a lei which was very cool!
Dont expect special treatment for being a honeymooner though, we were not upgraded or even congratulated =(
The only complaint is the resort fees - they do not include beach chairs which you have to pay extra for. I think this is quite ridiculous.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the beach can be a little noisy with entertainment from the Courtyard heard above.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iona131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Aloha,
On behalf of everyone here at “The First Lady of Waikiki” congratulations! We are sorry to hear you did not receive special treatment for being newlyweds and for that we sincerely apologize. We always aspire to make moments like these special for our guests. It’s all about creating “Moana memories” for our valued guests. Our resort fee of $31.00 provides our guests with a number of opportunities such as daily yoga classes and two glasses of wine at our piano bar bin1901. Poolside lounge chairs are free to our guests however our limited inventory of beach chairs and umbrellas are available for purchase. Mahalo and we hope you will return to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on a future anniversary and give us the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Just got back from a few days at the Moana Surfrider only hours ago and already feel compelled to write a review. The hotel is in a beautiful spot -- the beach views are amazing. The entire property was clean and well-kept. We had a city-view room -- but even that was great because the marketplace is right across the street and we had a large porch to sit out on and watch the street performers (they were amazing!). There were musicians and artists -- one spray-painted the most incredible Hawaiian inspired pictures!! Super comfy beds. The shopping is easy walking distance, lots of restaurants too (highly recommend Duke's & the Royal Hawaiian)! The pool side bar/restaurant is great. Lots of tropical drinks and lunch fare. The staff was top-notch. We dealt with Irene at the front desk and she took absolutely wonderful care of us. What a complete sweetheart! I do have to say that some other reviewers said that status with Starwood doesn't matter at this hotel, but that was not our experience. In fact, they went out of their way on several occasions to make us comfortable. They definitely take care of you if you stay with them frequently. I would stay here again and again! Lovely place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KadeO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Expeience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience. We are delighted to hear of your pleasant stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and we just celebrated our 112th birthday in March. Our central location in the heart of Waikiki provides our guests with easy access to all that Kalakaua Avenue has to offer. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Westin Heavenly bed and returned home feeling rejuvenated and revitalized. Our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and love to treat our returning guests like ohana (family). We always aspire to go above and beyond for our loyal Starwood Preferred Guest members and strive to accommodate their requests as much as possible. Mahalo again for your very kind and gracious review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This was our first Waikiki experience and we would certainly recommend this hotel. The central location and views to Diamond head from the our balcony were fantastic as was the beach bar, live music, restaurant and friendly staff. The style & history of the establishment adds to the experience and the beds are very comfortable. Very accomodating for our family and the Best of the hotels we used during our Waikiki experience, we look forward to returning with a larger group for an extended stay.
Late check in was the only negative we could mention following a long flight.

Room Tip: Diamond head views were awesome on the higher levels.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experienc Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We were the first hotel built in Waikiki and it is our history that sets us apart from other hotels in the area. We offer a complimentary Historical Tour every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am where guests can learn many interesting facts about the hotels journey through the 20th century. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed relaxing at the Beach Bar, set underneath our iconic banyan tree. Our Banyan Courtyard, featuring live music nightly, is the most romantic setting with filtered starlight through woven tree branches. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Moana Surfrider is the oldest hotel on the island of Oahu and apparently one of the most expensive. Never having been to Hawaii before we were both amazed and a little disappointed. Not sure what we expected; perhaps something a bit more laid back, but it was beautiful none the less. The main issue is that the Moana sits on the most busy section of Waikiki Beach on Kalakaua Avenue. The best way to describe the action at the front of the hotel is to compare it to being on the strip in Las Vegas. The sidewalks are packed with tourists, mainly from Japan and Asia, and the traffic is horrible. Seems Honolulu has made some progress recently dropping from #1 to #2 as the city with the worst traffic in the U.S. Getting anywhere is a nightmare. The ocean side is a different story. Yes, it's a bit crazy during the day with a massive amount of people, but early mornings and evenings are peaceful and beautiful. Finding yourself a shady spot with the cool trade winds blowing and you can spend the entire day enjoying the incredible blue water and ocean views.
As for the hotel itself, we found the staff very nice and helpful. We stayed in the smallish historic rooms because we like that kind of thing, but the newer tower might have been a bit more relaxing. In any case, at night we opened the windows and feel asleep to the sound of the waves crashing. Very, very, nice! Like most reviewers, I'd recommend staying away from rooms on the street side of the hotel. Really noisy on that side. The best part is the courtyard and veranda at the rear of the hotel that sits in the shade of a giant Banyan tree. Very relaxing! Overall, it reminded me of the Grand Hotel on Mackinac Island or the Hotel del Coronado in San Diego with regards to atmosphere. Regardless, a wonderful old hotel, attentive staff, great views and access to the beach, and a bit of history, albeit a bit pricey.

Room Tip: Historic rooms are nice but small. Stay away from rooms facing the street.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We were the first hotel built in Waikiki in 1901 and subsequently rich in Hawaiian history. It is this history that sets us apart from neighboring hotels. We try to remind our guests of a simpler time with charming services such as Afternoon Tea at the Veranda. If you are interested, joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program opens up the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, as well as all other Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide, Inc. Mahalo and we hope you return to “The First Lady of Waikiki” on your next trip to Hawai’i.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel itself is beautiful an percetly located. We stayed in the Banyan wing and as previous reviews have mentioend the rooms are very small. The housekeeping wasnt fantastic and we had to ask them to re clean the bathroom when we arrived due to mould/ hair etc... They also really only made the bed and cleaned toliet - I would of expected a bit more from a Westin Hotel.
The staff are friendly and helpful apart from Christina from the pool bar who when I complained abut having the worst Mojito she told me she was spainish and she knows. The other waitress quickly apoligised for her response to me and didnt charge me for the drink.
Apart from that the hotel is pleasant but I wouldn't stay again I think it is too expensive for the size of the room although its nice to have stayed in the first hotel in Waikiki

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zardie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us and for providing us with valuable feedback. We are sorry to hear of your complaints and we sincerely apologize for the service you received. The service you mentioned is not representative of our standards and the departments mentioned have been notified to ensure corrective action taken. We value your feedback for we are always looking for ways to improve upon our service and offerings. If you are interested, joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program opens the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, as well as all other Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. Mahalo and we hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady Of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews