We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$388
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$472
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$224
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$279
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$260
$219
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$239
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$441
$336
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,529)
Filter reviews
5,529 results
Traveler rating
2,783
1,579
635
286
246
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,783
1,579
635
286
246
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,767 - 2,772 of 5,529 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This property is right in the heart of the action.
The premises are well maintained and staff very friendly and helpful.
Had a problem with the safe not working but other than that no complaints about the newly renovated room itself... nice view of Diamond head.
Found the housekeeping very "minimalist."
Yes the bed was made and towels changed but nothing else was moved... not like regular housekeeping at a Westin where shoes are lined up and bathroom sundries laid out on the bathroom counter.
The pool is tiny for the size of the property and bathers were almost lying on top of each other!
Great coffee shop at the front of the hotel!

Would I go back... maybe!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room facing Diamond head!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anyaw1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. Your feedback is valuable to us for we are always looking for ways to improve upon our guests’ experiences. The departments mentioned have been notified to ensure quality customer satisfaction. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki and that the staff was very friendly and helpful. Our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and eager to assist our guests with whatever they may need. We hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The lobby and outdoor area alone are worth the trip. Rooms in the old part of the hotel are not huge, but are well appointed, get a room looking over the courtyard its less noisy then the street view. Breakfast is good and food overall is good.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcdoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. “The First Lady of Waikiki” was the first hotel built in Waikiki and steeped in charm and elegance. Many of our guests find our open air lobby, furnished with couches and rocking chairs, more reminiscent of a cozy living room than a 700 plus room hotel. Beyond the lobby is our beachfront Banyan Courtyard where guests and locals love to enjoy cocktails and watch the sunset over the blue waters of Waikiki. For over a hundred years, the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa has stolen the hearts of visitors from all over the world. Mahalo and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I went to Oahu to spend time with his elderly father. At the end of our daily visits, we wanted a place that was beautiful and peaceful. We booked this hotel due to its location and availability. We chose to upgrade to an ocean view room. Our criteria were met in every way!

The Moana is located in the center of bustling Waikiki, so when we left the property, we were close to the hotel parking (across the street), reasonably priced dining, shops, the International Market, and the primo spot to watch the sunsets each evening.

The rooms were nicely appointed, comfy beds, wi-fi, hi-tech bathrooms, especially the toilets, and wonderful ocean-view balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socaljudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing with us. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” We aim to provide a relaxing environment in the heart of Waikiki and remind our guests of a simpler time, with services such as Afternoon Tea at the Veranda. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

The recently renovated tower sports new carpet, furnishings , and bathrooms. The toilets have wonderful Toto bide seats with several functions. Avoid the smaller Diamond Tower as it has not been renovated. Rooms in the Historic wing are small. Lounge chairs on the beach are pricey. We were happy getting shade chairs under the historic Banyon Tree for free. Be at the pool desk at 7am sharp to assure your seats. If packing space is tight they will rent you sneakers and work out clothes for the entire stay for $5.00.
Be prepared for the mandatory $30.00 resort fee which includes a yoga class daily , Internet ,parking , a group photo, and 2 glasses of wine.
I have stayed here several times and this visit seemed more crowded with day weddings and tour groups which made the lobby area seem overtly crowded and uninviting

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. Our newly renovated Tower Wing has been well received by our guests and our Diamond Wing will be undergoing renovations later this summer. Westin has partnered up with New Balance and created a gear lending program where guests can rent fresh, clean shoes and workout attire daily for only $5.00. Here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we aim to provide a relaxing and rejuvenating vacation for our guests by offering foods rich in antioxidants and daily yoga and aqua aerobic classes, included in our daily resort fee. Mahalo and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I sometimes got the feel like I was paying more for the history of the actual facade of the building rather than the room. That said, it's a nice property, in a great location in the heart of Waikiki. I think our room was just over $369/night - definitely on the high end of Waikiki prices, although I understand that hotels dictate rates bases on occupancy, then they nickel and dime you for pretty much everything else...which sadly, has become common place among the top hotel chains.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original building are a bit smaller than the new wing. The Banyan tree in the courtyard is beautiful, but the pool is rather small for a resort of this size.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chazster35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for sharing with us. We aim to surpass the expectations of each and every one of our guests and we are sorry to hear of your concerns. Our occupancy will determine rates as you indicated, however if you are interested, joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program opens up the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa as well as all other Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. We are glad to hear you appreciated the ambiance and location of our property. Guests are just mere steps from all that Waikiki has to offer. Our daily Resort Charge includes many enhancements such as daily parking for one vehicle and daily yoga and aqua aerobic classes. Mahalo and we hope you will consider returning to “The First Lady of Waikiki” and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews