We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$425
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$323
$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $301/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$189
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$215
$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Prince Waikiki(Honolulu)
$334
Prince Waikiki
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Modern Honolulu(Honolulu)
$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$320
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (5,665)
Filter reviews
5,665 results
Traveler rating
2,849
1,613
655
292
256
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,849
1,613
655
292
256
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barthe banyan treerocking chairstower wingbeautiful hoteloldest hotelwaikiki beachheavenly bedolder partoriginal buildingocean viewold hawaiidiamond headnew toweran umbrellaheart of waikikiresort fee
Filter
Updating list...
2,886 - 2,891 of 5,665 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife, kids and I stayed only a couple days and we never ate here, the front desk was very light and there were long waits to check in. We had asked for feather free but that didn't happen, we even called to get some more linens and pillows but they never came, they did however notice we were travelling with 2 small chidren and added a cot to my sons delight. The pool was cold and small and all the chairs were taken, odd since nobody sat in the all day. I know it sounds like I'm complainng but I'm not, just being honest, I did enjoy the hotel and would suggest to others to stay there, it's just not a family friendly place and that is what we were more looking for. However it is situated in basically the center of Waikiki beach and has full access to all the shops and the beach, they also offered a free coctail upon arrival(wife pregnant couldn't drink) so we had to turn them down. I'd suggest this place to anyone there as single or couples you would not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjheuvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are sorry to hear you experienced a long wait upon check in and that you never received extra linens and pillows. We strive to go above and beyond for our guests and the service you experienced is not representative of our standards. Here at “The First Lady of Waikiki,” we welcome a variety of different guests and offer services the whole family can enjoy, such as lei making and mini surf lessons. We are centrally located in the heart of Waikiki with many attractions within walking distance, such as the Honolulu Zoo and Waikiki Aquarium. We hope you will consider the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa on your next trip to the islands and give us the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My husband, daughter & I stayed at the Moana by recommendation from family. We loved it!
It was clearly one of the nicer looking resorts along Waikiki Beach. The restaurant was great for all meals & the access to the beach was just perfect. We had a room on the bach side which was great, however have spoken to others that stayed on the city side & the noise went all night, so definantly recommend getting a beach side room. Staff were always kind & helpful.
The room itself was great, clean & decorated with modern furnishings. The bed was a standout, so comfortable. We had a balcony room overlooking the courtyard & beach which we really enjoyed.
We had breakfast here everyday also as it was easiest with our daughter as she was only 18 months at the time, so the selection off the buffet was great for her while we enjoyed hotcakes & a cooked breakfast every morning.
It did turn out more expensive to stay at the Moana, but we thought it was worth it.

Room Tip: Stay away from the city view rooms if you don't like noise!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill_1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay here at “The First Lady of Waikiki.” Our beachfront location in the heart of Waikiki is second to none and central to all that Kalakaua Avenue has to offer. So great to hear you enjoyed our Westin Heavenly Bed and our daily breakfast buffet at the Veranda. If you are interested, joining our Starwood Preferred Guest Program opens up the opportunity for special rates here at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa as well as all other Starwood Hotels & Resorts Worldwide. If you haven’t before, we would like to recommend our Afternoon Tea service at the Veranda for a truly nostalgic experience. Mahalo and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've stayed at this fantastic hotel steeped in century-old history with a heritage-listed Banyan Tree in it's majestic courtyard numerous times in the past 13 years. With clean rooms, comfy king beds, great outlooks to either beach/surf or city views, well-trained staff and plenty of food amenities from breakfast on the verandah, to a High Tea there or simply a burger and beer in the courtyard = all great enjoyments at the Moana.

Room Tip: The refurbished Banyan Rooms are great
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 53bob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for sharing with us! We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed everything “The First Lady of Waikiki” has to offer. We were the first hotel built in Waikiki, over 112 years ago, and subsequently rich in Hawaiian history. We offer a complimentary Historical Tour available for guests and visitors every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 11:00am where one can learn many interesting facts about the hotel’s journey through the 20th century. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Westin is doing a remarkable job with the first hotel on Waikiki. The breakfast buffet at the Moana Surfrider on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu is well worth the time, allow at least an hour, and the expense, $34. The range of foods was excellent with areas for American (eggs - scrambled and benedict, sausage, bacon, cereals, Danish pastry, bagels, toast and wonderful muffins), European (cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, and smoked salmon with capers) and Japanese (Miso soup and a selection of Japanese dishes,) and Hawaiian fruits (papayas, mango, pineapple, strawberries.) The breakfast menu was also extensive for those who prefer not to browse. I did the buffet and my wife ordered Eggs Benedict from the menu. Best of all is the location, a large, airy veranda overlooking the beach. The shade and gentle breeze on the veranda coupled with the bright sun on the water and beach to make it a very relaxing time. For those who prefer indoor dining they had a lovely dining room next to the veranda also overlooking the beach but you miss the breeze and salt air. The service was excellent with absolutely nothing wanting. We never felt rushed or neglected which is vary hard to achieve without truly excellent staff. The Westin Maui Resort & Spa on Ka'anapali Beach is the stellar breakfast on Maui but the setting at the Moana sets it above even that wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our beachfront breakfast buffet at the Veranda. Like you mentioned, we offer an extensive variety of options to cater to the various needs of each and every one of our guests. While dinning inside, guests can relish views of world famous Diamond Head through charming antique windows and outside guests can enjoy fresh sea breezes and views of Waikiki beach. The Veranda has been a favorite of locals and visitors for over a hundred years and remains a romantic setting reminiscent of yesteryear. Our credo is “First Lady, First Class” and we are so pleased to hear you were treated like royalty. Upon your return, please consider Afternoon Tea at the Veranda for a true nostalgic experience. Mahalo and we look forward to welcoming you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Waikikis oldest hotel, we thought it would be great to stay in the banyan wing being the historic part of the hotel, not a great move, we booked a large city view room, yes it was larger than the other rooms but we were in room 238 2nd floor right on top of the main entrance. We had no idea just how busy the street in front of the hotel could be, both traffic and pedestrians, across the road there are street vendors we had the joys of 3 youths doing a dance routine from 1600 to 2200 every night same load music and screaming crowds, mixed with the piano playing down in the hotel lobby, it's good that things settled down by 2200. But then traffic starts again at 0500! We could hear the valets shouting to each other early morning. We did have issues on 2 nights with overnight maintenance, huge air blowers downstairs drying carpets, what a noise, when my husband went down to complain the duty managers just said they have to do it sometime and no one usually complains, this at 0200!
The best thing about the hotel is it is right on the beach front, amazing views whie having breakfast or drinks. Didn't like sitting at the beach bar with a group and the waiting staff asking us to settle our bill as her shift had finished and she wanted her tip, and no this wasn't late and the bar closing it was at 1730, just seemed rude, I know you need to tip in the USA but demanding one is not good. Also some prices seemed outrageous you already have to pay $31 above room rate as a resort charge, but if you want to reserve a beach umbrella it's $60 a day. That's a crazy charge.
Overall we did like the hotel, the staff were mostly helpful, but with it being so busy, it felt it didn't really matter if we were satisfied or not as there was someone to take our place when we leave they are not that worried about return bookings I think

Room Tip: Stay away from the street side rooms
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,
Thank you so much for taking your time to share with us. We are so sorry to hear you experienced noise disturbances during your stay. This is not representative of our standards and the departments mentioned have been notified so that corrective action can be taken. In addition, our Beach Bar staff has been reminded about proper protocol during shift changes. Thank you for bringing this to our attention for we are always looking for ways to improve our guests’ experiences. Here at the Moana Surfider, A Westin Resort & Spa, we aim to provide a refreshing and rejuvenating vacation with our Westin Heavenly Beds, Moana Lani Spa and Westin Workout. Our daily resort charge of $31.41 includes a number of beneficial opportunities such as daily yoga and aqua aerobics classes, daily parking for one vehicle, two glasses of wine at bin 1901 and daily cultural activities such as lei making. Our staff is filled with the aloha spirit and we are happy to hear you found the staff helpful. Mahalo and we hope to welcome you back to “The First Lady of Waikiki.”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews