We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beware the wall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #25 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“beware the wall”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice location; nice breakfast. That covers the positive. Now for the negative. WE are Starwood Gold members and have always enjoyed upgrades around the world. Just make a basic reservation and be assured that you'll be assigned an excellent room. Not at the Moana Surfrider. We waited several hours for our room only to find that our upgrade placed us in a small cramped room with a single window looking out directly into the blank wall of the building next door, about 15 feet away. (see photo) The least someone could have done would be to paint a seascape on the wall. The wall view is a feature for perhaps as many as 10 rooms. We managed to get out of that, after resorting to speaking to the manager and being assured that there were absolutely no ocean view rooms in this huge resort despite our gold status and an early reservation. So we were finally placed in a small room facing the courtyard, a window without screens, and music in the courtyard non-stop until 11 PM. The room safe was affixed to the floor of the closet, close to a table, with the bi-fold closet doors opening out. So there was no way to access the safe without crawling under the table. Room temperature control? Forget it. Wanna use the stairway? Probably closed for wedding photos any hour of the day. This is not the standard of care or planning we have come to expect from Starwood. It's a pretty place, but I can only suggest you stay away. Waikiki has lots of options, some of which do not face a wall.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank davidhauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,414
    1,447
    566
    252
    229
See reviews for
1,368
2,185
193
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I had wanted to go to Hawaii for a special Birthday treat!
What a celebration I had! (Staff even sent ballons and chocolates to my room, with Birthday greetings.. nice touch.)
The most wonderful service, we were made to feel very welcome.
Beautiful beachfront veiws from our room, we were in the older section, (just perfect.)
Our younger friends stayed in the Hotel next door to us, but they too stated they loved our accommodation and will stay their next time.
I would say this Hotel would suit a solo traveller just as equally; I felt very safe and comfortable reading in a rocking chair in the lobby. (Well I did say I just had another Birthday!)

Room Tip: Beachfront, older section above 3rd floor. Small bedrooms; but we use common areas to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taoygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is my favorite hotel in Waikiki so far. I've stayed at the Hilton Hawaii Village and the Double Tree.

I like this hotel for 4 main reasons.

1) Best Section of Waikiki - This is the best section of Waikiki Beach because the sand is the smoothest in this area of the beach.

2) Banyan Courtyard - This has to be the best patio setting in Waikiki. You're first Mai Tai in Hawaii should be here under the Banyan Tree. Tell'em Duane sent you - but you had better be nice and grateful!

3) Ocean View - In my opinion, the best ocean view in Waikiki can be found here on the back porch (Lanai) area.

4) Only Ocean View Spa in Waikiki - That's exactly right! There's nothing like sitting the hot tub / whirl pool and looking out at the ocean. The other hotels in Waikiki have nice spas too, but none of them look out directly out on the ocean and are as close to the ocean as this spa is.

At this hotel, there are (3) different room types: Direct Ocean view, Garden View with very slight ocean views, and then the City View. Keep in mind the City View is just that, a view of the main drag in Waikiki, and not an ocean view at all. Though, the City View is always the cheaper room.

An ocean view can be broken down into other types such as Suite rooms, Tower Rooms, Diamond Head Volcanoe View Room, and Banyan Courtyard Garden/Ocean Rooms. The Banyan Courtyard Garden/Ocean View Rooms may have the huge, but pretty Banyan Tree that blocks your ocean view, but I'd still rather have a Banyan Court Garden/Ocean Room than a City View.

Just as many hotels are charging resort fees, this hotel charges a resort fee as well + a parking fee if you have a car.

Breakfast - Go off property to save money. Jimmy Buffets across the street has a great cooked to order omelet and buffet station. There's plenty of places to walk to if you're on a budget.

Taxi – Seems like it’s twice as much as the Waikiki Shuttle you can get at the airport, but it’s more convenient and much faster.

Car – If you’re renting a car to explore the island, then you’ll get to the hotel about as fast as a taxi if you have your GPS, or study the map lay out on Google Earth.

Aloha!

Room Tip: Really know what room type you're getting. I traveled in May of 2004,(the drop down tools would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HawaiiNCaribbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

A great location, wonderful lobby, nice terrace and beach all add up to great potential for this Waikiki resort, but once you start to look a little deeper or stay a little longer, then the shortcomings are more apparent.
My wife and I spent 5 nights at the hotel recently and had very mixed experiences.
The good: breakfast buffet or a la carte were excellent, but getting a cappuccino instead of regular coffee for breakfast was obviously outside the realm of normal and sometimes took 20 minutes to make. The restaurant produced good food, particularly the appetizers, and had a nice assortment of wines available.
The bad: the first room we were offered was so small that it was impossible to lay out two suitcases at the same time. The hotel was apparently fully booked, but an alternative room was found just 15 minutes after being told there was nothing else available. The next room was bigger, but it was in absolutely terrible condition: water damage and mold growing on the ceiling; the bathroom doorframe in need of paint and rusting badly; the closet falling apart. Hotel staff were not interested in the issues as no other alternative rooms were available.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are the best choice unless you are a single and have little luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
252 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Travelling with 4 kids so needed adjoining rooms. Same travel agent booked hotels in both Maui and Waikiki and we got the adjoining rooms in Maui no problem so I was very pissed off when we arrived and at check in were given the news that they didn't have any adjoining rooms "in the price bracket that we had booked" and that although the rooms would be on the same floor, they were some way apart.

We have small kids so this just isn't acceptable to us. But hello, they did have a solution, just upgrade to the "much larger and nicer" rooms in the Tower wing and for only an additional $2,500 (after negotiating a little bit) you can have your adjoining rooms.

Put a bad taste in my mouth and heard similar stories from others staying there and was especially annoyed when the section of the form they had me sign to acknowledge the extra charge was titled the "Upsell". I got the distinct impression that I'd just been had.

Now, that aside I can tell you that this is an excellent hotel, the rooms we had were very nice and the staff were all fabulous. The location right on the beach is awesome and having a cocktail under the Banyan Tree at sundown was glorious.

The "mandatory daily surcharge" for each room, which I think was $30 actually provided us with plenty of value with free wifi and a few other bits and pieces.

Breakfast was an absolute rip off, cost us $68 for 2 people to eat a pretty average buffet....but as part of the package 2 kids under 12 got free food!!! If you stay here, walk literally right next door to Dukes and have a much better buffet for only $10 per head.

Location on the strip is also sensational, so despite feeling ripped off by the "upsell" I still rate the place highly, just ensure you are clear about what room you are getting when you make the booking!

Room Tip: Just make sure you're clear on what you're getting. I believe the rooms in the Tower are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AdamK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We didn't stay here, but we had the pleasure of watching the sun set with fruity drinks in hand and having a great casual dinner - all at the Beach Bar. If you can't afford it, by all means, walk through the property and stop in for a drink there. Plus, after 6 pm, there's live entertainment for the price of a drink which is quite the bargain. Hopefully, the next time we come to Hawaii, we'll be able to experience the hotel properly, because we've fallen in love!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic experience at this hotel, and the secret seems to be the room that you get. We were given a modern large room on the 20th floor of the tower with a great view of the beach and Diamond Head. Nevertheless, the charm of the hotel wasn't lost on us as we were able to enjoy the beautiful old style lobby, beach bar and dining area. A great way to experience Waikiki.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,790 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing