We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Large Hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A Large Hotel, in a Superb Location, Right on the Main Street in Honolulu!
The Rockers on the Porch to the Front are Great for People Watching!!!
The Hotel is a Bit Pricey.
Inside has a lot off History & is Nicer than the Outside
Around the Pool is very busy at all times.
Hopefully you Can avoid the Japanese Weddings which are very Distracting!

A Very Upmarket Tourist Hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a Room to the Back of the Hotel, as they are Quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,532
    1,477
    579
    259
    233
See reviews for
1,424
2,247
201
318
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Nice ocean view with complimentary champagne and fresh flowers and leis on the bed upon arrival. The suite was not so big but we just love it! I would definitely go back again. Oh, and the breakfast, DELICIOUS!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vnch_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at this property several times over the past few years and the main issue is the huge variance between the rooms in the different towers. I personally prefer the Banyan wing with its high ceilings and historical feel, but you don't want to be on the city side as its way too noisy. The Tower has fantastic views but the room decor is not Hawaiian in any way and very average. Don't even bother with the Diamond wing as it's about to be renovated and shouldn't even be part of the hotel until its finished. My best advice is the Banyan wing or tower both with ocean views. Even though the lobby areas are beautiful you won't be too happy with a room on the street which is basically the city view rooms. The coffee shop in the front of the hotel is so busy that it was a 30 minute wait most days and they were out of food by the time we got to the front of the line. If you can get breakfast included in the room that is the best deal as a continental bf is $25.00pp although the beachfront restaurant is beautiful and one must experience it during your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank likestotravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Paradise in the hustle of the best shopping around . My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights in December getting all our Christmas shopping done and having a great time at the hotel, Some very fine dining ,high teas and pool side drinks all were fantastic ,maybe a bit on the pricy side but not a deal breaker .
The staff were fantastic even when we complained aboutthe noise in our first room - I am a older bloke and enjoy my sleep so when we were put in a noisy room above the dining area even the super soft heavenly bed didn't help me sleep so they moved us to a fantastic room .My only complaint s with this hotel would be easy to fix if they want to .
The first is I hate paper cups in the room for self serve tea or coffee ,cheep cheep .
The other is the A/C switch, I can say with certainty that the need to be green has over taken the practical application .The thermostat has a motion sensor fitted which is great in some cases like when someone leaves the room, 2 or 3 hrs later the A/C will switch off and there will be a cost saving .This works great until you go to bed and lay still for 2 to 3 hrs then the A/C switches off the room gets hot so you throw of the dooner ,the movement switches on the A/C then after 10 min you pull up the dooner and it all start over again waking 2 or 3 times a night . I enjoyed my time here and will be back --I hope the A/C is fixed .

Room Tip: above the second floor you don't get as much noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The Tower Wing, where we stayed, probably has one of the slowest sets of elevators ever! The location of the hotel was good, close to the beach as well as right along the shopping belt. Everything is within walking distance, including Hard Rock Cafe.

Level of service is generally good, but being the holiday season, the hotel was extremely crowded.

Scrutinize the $25/day automatic incidentals add-on. You may not want it all especially on a short stay. And the take note that the "surfing demo" offered is skimpier than a bikini. First time surfers will not get much out of it, and it is included in the $25.

Room Tip: Tower Wing, east side rooms have good views of the Diamondhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here in the summer of last year, in one of the cheaper rooms at the left side of the hotel. Whilst old, it is beautifully maintained, and there are not a lot of staff visible, but those that we interfaced with were of top standard. This is mainly due to the reception being off to the right, and the big open lobby. The room was small, but well maintained. In all, a very nice experience. Breakfast was not included, but we did eat in one day, and the spread was superb. The open air bars outside in the front are a great plus. Right in the middle of Waikiki. A classic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I was very excited for my first visit to Hawaii and enjoy Starwoods properties in general. If you are looking to be in Waikiki and are able to pay the price for a room on the ocean, this is a nice spot. I am glad to have been able to have the experience but I would not do it again. The hotel was too busy for the service and atmosphere I had hoped for in paying the prices and I spent no time on Waikiki beach upon seeing the crowds. it was a good spot and I enjoyed my time on the island and the tours and my own drive around the island. My next trip will be to a quieter island

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dorsburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
2,523 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing