We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“The Beach Bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Raleigh
Level Contributor
271 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“The Beach Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did not stay at the Westin. We stopped in here after walking the sands of Waikiki Beach and had an early dinner at The Beach Bar. It is a beautiful setting with an ocean view shaded by large trees in the courtyard. Our service was excellent. Christine was very attentive. She apologized for our wait (which was only a few minutes!) because it was change of shift. No worries - we just started our vacation! We had the hummus and some kind of nachos with sushimi tuna on it. Both were excellent. The Thai Cobb salad was fantastic - but very large, which Christine did warn me about. This is a nice, casual, relaxing place to have a drink, light snack, or lunch.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,130
    1,310
    513
    227
    207
See reviews for
1,191
1,958
169
265
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,082)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I didn't stay at this hotel but researched a few different spas to visit during my stay in Honolulu and decided on the Moana Lani Spa at the Moana Surfrider Hotel and it was a terrific experience. When I made the booking, the lady who answered the phone was very clear about how much the whole treatment would cost and that the price included the tax and gratuity. I had the Dream package which included a facial and massage and was advised to come early and that I could stay as long as I liked to make use of the lounge, showers, spa, sauna etc which I did. The waiting lounge is absolutely gorgeous with complimentary little snacks and looking right out onto the beach. You could sit or lie there for hours. My treatments were carried out my a couple of different therapists and were both professional and well performed.

I felt well looked after the whole time and would recommend this spa.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Bad_Seed4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for five nights over Christmas. Had a nice room in one of the towers with a partial view of the ocean. Had good meals and service at both the Beach Bar and the Veranda restaurant. Very nice staff and public areas were beautifully decorated.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim244a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Westin Moana Surfrider is an historic hotel on Waikiki Beach in Honolulu. It has three wings: the central building is the original hotel, and one of the most beautiful structures in Hawaii. To the north is the Diamond Head wing, originally the Surfrider Hotel. To the south is the Tower Wing, the newest part. We stayed 5 nights on the top floor of the Tower Wing, with a fabulous view of the beach and Diamond Head mountain. The room was nice enough, very spacious, with a mostly updated bathroom. Bed very comfortable, and lighting excellent. Our principal complaint was the noise emanating from the pool and patio area down below. Live entertainment in the patio restaurant/bar started at 11 or so in the morning and continued mostly uninterrupted until 10:30 at night. On Christmas Day, it began at 9 am. While the music was not particularly loud, and in fact, was quite pleasant when we were actually IN the bar or restaurant, from the rooms in the Tower Wing, it was obnoxiously intrusive. Did not help much to turn our TV on; did not help to wear earplugs. The sliding doors to the balcony should be double paned, but they are not, and for this reason, I cannot recommend this hotel -- despite its beauty and wonderful location -- to anyone who believes that a hotel room should be quiet, and that you should not have to listen to public music entertainment the entire day if you are IN the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaSurfriderTeam, Guest Experience Team at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Aloha,

Mahalo for sharing your experience with us. . We are disappointed to hear of your feedback regarding our Banyan Courtyard entertainment. We receive so many compliments about a daily entertainment, so am sorry that you had not enjoyed a similar experience. Your candid feedback is appreciated, and has been shared with our management staff so that we may review the current scheduling of our entertainment to see if there are adjustments in timing that could be made, while ensuring we continue to accommodate the wishes of as many of our guests as possible. We hope you will reconsider staying at the Moana Surfrider and if you do, please allow us to personally assist you with your booking by sending an e-mail to 374guestexperience team@westin.com.

Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We returned to this hotel in December as loved the location the last time we stayed & it is a beautiful hotel. Stepping out of the hotel into the lively streets of Waikiki is fantastic - there is a great vibe, great restaurants and just a little shopping! Or walk onto the beach - just a few steps into the ocean or a along the beach, watching the surfers. We love the Banyan/historic wing although the rooms bathroom can be a little small. The decor is beautiful. The hotel is busy and there are a lot of weddings but as it was Christmas, it added to the atmosphere. The verandah around the courtyard is a relaxing spot to spend a hour or two. Cant think of a better way to spend a late afternoon/evening than with a cocktail, under the banyan tree, overlooking the ocean, listening to gentle live music with my husband - perfect! The breakfast at the hotel is a little expensive but quality and variety is excellent. High tea (each day between 12 & 2) on the verandah as a special treat and again the service and food were superb. We also celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary at the Beachhouse. Unfortunately we had to move from our perfect table at the end of the verandah as my husband wasnt well and it was a little breezy. The staff moved us inside the dinning room where we were the only people - the lights were dimmed and were seated on a little lounge chair -very romantic! After a fantastic meal we were treated to a complimentary dessert. Could not have been a more special meal. The fitness centre is well appointed and very much enjoyed the complimentary yoga overlooking the beach. The pool is small but you are on the beach - two out of three days there wasnt any food/drink service to the pool area. The beach umbrellas & chairs have to be paid for (expensive) and for a 5 star hotel, there should be these facilities available free of charge.
We hired a car during our holiday & used the valet parking. The valet guys were very helpful.
On the downside, we had a few problems with our first room (on the second floor -noisy A/C and noise from downstairs meant little sleep). Our room on the third floor was larger and quieter. Only problem is the motion sensor on the A/C means it gets a little hot at night. This apparently is being looked into over the next few months. Management staff are excellent but one or two of the front desk staff not as helpful as expected.
Paper cups for tea and coffee in the room is a little cheap.
Not sure if the resort fee covers much more that internet access for most people which makes this expensive and in 2012 should be standard at any hotel.
No room service available after 10pm.

Room Tip: The historic wing rooms are hit and miss - beautiful decor but small rooms and small bathrooms, size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed 2 nights at the Moana Surf rider in Dec 2012. We have stayed at many Waikiki hotels and the Moana stands out, both in the beauty of the hotel ... lobby, front, rocking chairs, all the public areas, and the location beachfront. We had a very nice partial ocean view room in the original part of the hotel. The room was a large L shape, with a very nice balcony and excellent bathroom. Honesty 9/10 ... it had two doubles for our family, two queens would have been 10. The pool is small if you have kids who prefer the pool to the beach (the Sheraton Waikiki is much better), but that is it. we love walking from your room straight onto Waikiki. The beautiful location, huge Banyan Tree in the courtyard and overall 'refinement' is very tough to beat, if not unbeatable. The location on the main strip is also excellent for dining and shopping.
Nothing but raves from us and we are tough customers, spend the $, and enjoy.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TmanSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days last August, and although the hotel is lovely, it isn't worth the money, even though we had a special deal. We had an ocean front room, but it was very small.
The lawn area was always closed for a wedding- every time we would leave or return to the hotel, there was another wedding party arriving!
Breakfast was included, and the restaurant was in a lovely location, right on the beach. The bar was also beachside, and a wonderful place to sit.
One word of warning, while swimming off the hotel, I stepped on a spiky sea urchin, so I recommend wearing reef shoes.
We loved the location of the hotel, but with lots of accommodation nearby, you could do better for your money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maussie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,317 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,273 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing