We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel Desk at Moana Surfrider” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Travel Desk at Moana Surfrider”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Thanks so much to Marsha Southworth, the travel desk agent. She arranged all our tours always keeping in mind my elderly mother's needs. Arranging for wheelchairs and convenient restaurants within a short distance from the hotel. The Beach House Restaurant in the hotel to The Top of the World Restaurant with it's wonderful 360 views . The recommendation to the Honolulu Zoo where I fell in love with Rusty the Chimpanzee and the two toed sloth, to the Polynesian Cultural Center which was the highlight of our trip. We would never have known about these places if it weren't for Marsha. We have been to Oahu a few times and no one ever told us about it. For the Polynesian Cultural Center tour she arranged for a tour guide for us with a class of accommodation that not only included a wheelchair for my Mom but I didn't even have to push the wheelchair, the tour guides did , what a surprise that was and they always had reserved seatings for us that were the best seats. The food, the show were all top notch. I live in Las Vegas and have seen numerous shows here an the show HA rivaled those in Vegas. Thanks again to Marsha Southworth who helped make our trip so memorable!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vegascyndee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
A huge MAHALO for taking the time to commend Marsha Southworth. We certainly agree with you! Marsha is an asset to the Moana Surfrider. She is very knowledgeable and always provide excellent service to our guests. Mahalo for allowing us to be part of your Hawaiian vacation and we look forward to providing you with another memorable trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,383
    1,426
    559
    250
    228
See reviews for
1,344
2,155
192
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had reserved a "vibrant Waikiki room" and as Starwood gold members were hoping to get upgraded. When we checked in the upgrade was not available so we accepted a room in the Diamond tower. We were very disappointed in this room. As anticipated it looked out over the street and there was subsequently some noise from traffic. The room itself was badly in need of updating, it basically looked like an 1980's motel room - more what I would have expected from a Best Western than a Westin, the bathroom even had a jade colored plastic moulded sink vanity!!! The other problem with the room was the extremely loud A/C unit.
The following day we went back to reception and asked for another room and were offered a room in the "heritage" building which we immediately accepted. This room was very small for a King, just enough room to get around, but it was modern, well fitted out and had a lovely view over the courtyard to the ocean. Infinitely preferable.
The hotel is in a great location right on Waikiki beach and the public areas are lovely albeit crowded at times. The big shady banyan tree in the courtyard is wonderful. The hotel doesn't have it's own parking, you have to park at the Princess Kaiulani a few blocks away, and, only self parking at the Princess Kaiulani is included in the daily resort fee. We opted to pay extra for the valet parking, since Westin is supposed to be a premium brand it would be good for valet to be included in the resort fee (since there isn't a convenient alternative)
On previous visits to Waikiki I have stayed at the Hyatt and also at the Royal Hawaiian and would return to either of those properties. Even though we enjoyed our stay and like the public areas of the hotel I wouldn't
choose to return to the Moana Surfrider.

Room Tip: Avoid the "Diamond" tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HollyHop_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Aloha Hollyhop, thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay with us at the Moana Surfrider. We do take all comments seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We are delighted to hear that still you enjoyed your stay despite your experience in our "Vibrant Waikiki" city view room. As Starwood Gold members, we truly value your loyalty and hope that you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Moana Surfrider on your next visit to Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

My goto hotel in Honolulu. I'm from HI and this hotel has lots of history but updated. Perfect location in Waikiki, beachfront, next to new Royal Hawaiian shopping center. Lobby/common area is not too large and has warm aloha vibe. Love the old shady banyan tree and rocking chairs on lanai (porch). All the Westin amenities (heavenly bed and bath). Historic sing and lobby remodeled in last 3-4yrs. Rooms in historic wing are newly remodeled w/Hawaiian decorum, but rooms are small and bath area equally small. But that wing has lots of hideaway nooks in common areas that are quiet retreats. Also, rooms facing banyan tree can be noisy as it faces the bar and live music at night. Rooms in tower wing are very spacious and all have good size balconey. I prefer the space and love balconey, but decor is standard Westin and last update was when it was built, maybe 8yrs? Empty mini fridge in room for your own food and drinks. LCD TV. Valet takes a while to retrieve cars as parking is in Sheraton Kaiulani across street 1 block away. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvtosafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Aloha! Mahalo Nui Loa for your recent visit to our resort and taking the time to post a review. We are delighted to hear that the Moana is your "go to" hotel in Honolulu and greatly appreciate your highly recommendation of our resort. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We found no negative issues with the Surfrider. Just got back. Staff was great, complimentary upgrade, perfect location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your recent stay at the Moana Surfrider. Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on our staff, location and making a statement that you would stay with us again. "Mahalo Nui Loa" for allowing us to be part of your Hawaiian vacation. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

When ever we are on Oahu we like to go to the Moana Surfrider Beach Bar for pupus and a mai tai. We have had many mai tais over the years but none can compare to the Surfrider's, they have the best anywhere. Expect to pay over $10./drink but the atmosphere is wonderful and it is considered to be the most romantic place for a cocktail. It is right on the ocean and the sound of the waves is very soothing, the light ocean breezes, some gentle Hawaiian music and the company of someone you love.What more could you ask for?!.

First class establishment first class experience... love it!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonLynski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Aloha DonLynski! Wow, what a great review on our Mai Tai! We are absolutely delighted to hear how much you've enjoyed our Mai Tai and the oceanfront location of our beach bar. Thank you so much for considering us to have the best Mai Tai on the islands! Please continue to visit us whenever you're in Waikiki.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Hindsight is a wonderful thing. I should have read the reviews before booking. Great location and street appeal, but that's where it stops. We wanted to splurge out on our last 2 nights. Very disappointing. Staff don't care. Rooms are over priced and VERY small rooms. 2 nights coste the same as 5 nights around the corner. Foyer is beautiful but Full of sleeping people from 4pm. Im a SPG member and would night stay there again.
Billy from Oz

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BillyandBella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
Aloha BillyandBella, we had sent you a separate email to contact us to further discuss your experience. We are truly sorry that your recent stay with us was not a positive one. Our goal is to achieve service excellence in every interaction with our guests and obviously, this was not achieved during your stay and we are embarrassed. We would like to assure you that we are fully committed to providing the level of service that the Moana and the Westin brand is known for which is excellent service. We would very much appreciate an opportunity discuss your experience with us. We look forward to hearing from you. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

Recently between on our 10 day Hawaiian Vacation, we decided to splurge and stay at the Moana for a night in between staying with family and going to HHV. I had always wanted to stay at Moana and experience the old world charm of Hawaii, but could never convince myself to shell out the cash. We ended up having a night free and my husband convinced me to go for it using the "only live once" tagline.

It was worth it!

It started off with check-in and with our SPG account we were upgraded to a beautiful room (1292) in their more recently renovated tower. Our view was spectacular from our balcony/lanai and looked out over Waikiki beach and diamond head...I believe it was considered oceanfront. We spent a lovely hour out there sipping cocktails, marveling at the view and just enjoying each others' company (my husband and I) while our daughter napped after tea and beach time. And the bed - oh what a comfortable delight! Also, the bathroom was spacious and quite fine. The agent at check-in, Steve, was most helpful and every bit customer service oriented as I would expect from a high end hotel.

The most important part of this stay (aside from the beach and really, who can say anything bad about the beautiful beaches of Waikiki) was the First Lady tea service at their ocean front restaurant. It was absolutely spectacular, delicious and relaxing. My two year old daughter and husband joined me for the tea service and my daughter had a blast helping mommy pick out her tea and sniffing all of the tea leaf options. Granted, the service is not cheap (about 100 bucks for all three of us after tip but including alcoholic bevarages), but the food was flavorful and a lovely taste of old fashioned Hawaii. My husband had the lobster sandwich (not being a tea service man) while I indulged in the full afternoon tea experience. Aside from the food, our server, Koji, was the epitome of first class and made the meal truly an indulgence to the point where we tipped him extra. Nothing beats the view, the banyan tree or the ocean breeze while drinking a fine cup of tea.

All in all, the night was a success and lived up to years of expectations from many trips to Oahu always wishing I stayed at Moana.

p.s.- I can't comment on the beach chair/umbrella situation or the pool as we prefer lounging close to the shore break with our daughter and I don't trave 5000 miles to hang at a pool, but both areas seemed nice and had plenty of staff providing service and food.

Room Tip: stay at the newer tower and splurge for the oceanfront view - more spacious and being able to see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smellyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FirstLady2365, Sales Coordinator at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2012
"Mahalo Nui Loa" for your recent stay with us and the wonderful remarks and comments you shared about the Moana Surfrider. It was our pleasure to welcome you to the "First Lady of Waikiki" and very pleased to hear that you had enjoyed the elegance and grace of the Moana along with our service, people and food. Thank you also for mentioning the excellent customer service you received from Steve and Koji. We will be sure to recognize and thank them for providing outstanding service to our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, Agoda, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing