We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beach house restaurant at moana simply wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Beach house restaurant at moana simply wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We booked at the Beach House at Moana restaurant for a special dinner. We weren't disappointed.
Our waiter, Ricky, was so friendly, helpful and informative. He helped us quickly relax and answered all of our queries and then proceeded to serve us throughout the evening in a very easy fashion. He was not intrusive, yet was there whenever we needed something.
The food selection we found to be interesting with items that we had not found elsewhere. We tried some new dishes and were pleasantly impressed with the flavors and serving sizes, which were generous without resulting in waste. We finished our meals without feeling bloated and were even able to sample dessert.
The King Crab legs dish was outstanding. I tried the tasting menu, which I found to be very filling, but not too large a serving. The flavours were fantastic and matched within each plate.
We sat un the veranda and were able to watch the ocean traffic, while an island band played easy music in the garden alongside. It was so relaxing.
Overall, we were impressed by this restaurant and would highly recommend it. A little pricey, but worth the experience.

Room Tip: Book ahead and ask for a central able close to the water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank montegrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
MAHALO to you for staying at the Moana Surfrider during your recent visit to Waikiki and also for dining at the Beachhouse at the Moana Oceanfront Restaurant. As you experienced, the ambiance there is tranquil and relaxing, evoking appreciation for life’s delights and impeccable culinary classics amidst the backdrop of the Moana’s lovely Victorian architecture while guests can enjoy the finest quality steaks, fresh seafood and vibrant island-inspired cuisine that utilize the freshest Hawaii ingredients. Many of our guests describe the indoor dining area as if you’re walking into someone’s elegant beachfront estate – offering cozy banquettes and quiet corner niches, stylishly yet unpretentiously decorated with a subtle “beach cottage” feel. Thank you for your gracious compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the First Lady of Waikiki. Until then, Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,375
    1,424
    559
    250
    228
See reviews for
1,341
2,152
192
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Absolutely breathtaking! We relaxed in paradise. I think this is one of the most picturesque hotels in all of Hawaii. We have another wedding there in September and we will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RochelleAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 11, 2011
ALOHA & Mahalo for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. Waikiki is a resort destination that is exhilarating and full of fun & energy. Vacationing in an exciting environment like Waikiki, it is always nice to come home to a serene, relaxing & tranquil place at the end of each day, and we hope you found it here at the Moana. We look forward to welcoming you back in September! Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights for a family vacation Stayed in a corner room in the diamond tower with views of diamond head and ocean. No balcony but we preferred the extra room over a balcony. Loved that the kids eat free at certain restaurants on property with paying adult. We went to abc store across the street to buy beach floats, etc. The moana beach real estate is more narrow than other beachfront hotels, but from what I could tell, they have more ocean-facing rooms with balconies. No need to eat at the hotel with plenty of chain restaurants steps away. Housekeeping was prompt and gracious with our many requests. Only critique is that there is not a westin kids club as advertised on westin website. Great amenities, great service.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LKLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Our Big MAHALO to you & your family for staying at the Moana and for posting a wonderful review! It is great to hear you took advantage of our convenient beachfront location right in the heart of Waikiki – as you experienced, our resort is just a few steps away from all the amazing things Waikiki has to offer including fantastic restaurants, world-class shopping & tons of fun activities. Lastly, we are happy to know you enjoyed the accommodation in the Diamond Wing. The corner room you had is indeed very spacious and offers a stunning view of the Waikiki Beach! We look forward to welcoming you & your family back to the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa! Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

As a family, we visited Honolulu from Australia in 2008. We would walk passed the Moana Surfrider and say that one day we would stay there. We returned to Honolulu on the 1st of July 2011 for a seven night stay and were very excited to actually be staying at the Moana. Once we walked into our rooms, our disappointment was palpable.
The hotel looks stunning from the front, the foyer is magnificent but that's where it ends. We are travelling with our two teenage children who were placed in a room 3 doors and an elevator away but the real shocker was our room. We walked in and the stench that met us made us gag. It was as though there were 30 bouquets of flowers rotting in there. We believe there was an overuse of airfreshener to cover up the stench of the mould and age.
We understand that the hotel is heritage listed but we weren't in the plantation rooms, we are in the Diamond tower which could not have possibly been built in 1901.The rooms are so tiny. The bathrooms are disgraceful. There is barely enough room to swing a cat, the basin has rust around the outlet and was so stained it looked filthy (see attached photos) and there is mould on the wall. The toilet is so low that it barely reaches my knee and I am only 151cms tall. For someone with chronic knee degeneration, getting on and off is quite painful.
We complained to housekeeping who came up and agreed with us about the smell. He gave us 2 drinks at the Beach Bar while they tried to fix the problem. After 2 hours we returned to our room to find nothing had changed. We again called housekeeping and another housekeeping manager came to see us. He offered to change our rooms but wasn't able to manage that until 3pm the next day.We needed to turn off the airconditioner to try to slow down the spread of the smell and then that presented us with another problem as now we could hear everything our neighbour was up to. We were woken at 2.30am to the sound of them talking on the phone and then blowdrying their hair. The room was stuffy and unfortunately you cannot open the windows in these rooms as there is no balcony.
Finally, we moved to the other rooms one floor above us only to find that now both rooms smell mouldy, there is more mould on the walls of the bathrooms and the basins look even worse.
The annoying thing is when you look up this hotel on the internet, these rooms are not featured at all. We booked Vibrant City View rooms but on their website (and Expedia, tripadviser etc) the floorplan and pictures for such rooms must be those in the more modern tower. These rooms are understandably much nicer as nobody in their right mind would book the rooms we have at these prices. We are paying around $300AUD a night for each room. We are now here until the 8th of July and feel our holiday is ruined. Unfortunately, as it is the 4th July weekend we can't find accomodation anywhere else and don't even know our rights regarding a refund. We feel the hotel missrepresents themselves on their website. The staff at the front desk are friendly as were the housekeeping staff, but that isn't enough to save this hotels reputation for us. We have travelled approximately14000 kilometres to stay here and will never do so again!
If you feel you really want to stay here, be certain to book a room in the newer tower and keep clear of the diamond tower. Better still, stay elsewhere and just come for a drink at the Beach Bar. Also be aware the pool at this hotel is barely a pond!

Room Tip: Stear clear of the Diamond Tower or go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank familytravellers2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you very much for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. We deeply apologize for the disappointments and frustrations you have experienced, and would very much appreciate an opportunity to speak with you in person to ensure the remainder of your stay will be as enjoyable & comfortable as possible. At your convenience, kindly call Service Express from your guestroom and ask to be connected to a manager’s office, so we may personally address your concerns with you. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego CA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel located On the nicest section of Waikiki beach. It is elegant and yet not pretentious. Platinum friendly with nice upgrade to king waterfront. They also provided a fruit basket and chocolates at turn down time. Very nice. The banyon tree in the courtyard is wonderful. Don't miss the memory section on the second floor. Wow - a hidden gem. Caution - the lineup for beach chairs starts early. There were 12 people in line at 10 till 7. There were a number of weddings during my stay and you can see why! I will be back to this nice place on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank United858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
MAHALO to you for staying at the Moana Surfrider during your recent visit to Waikiki. We truly appreciate your warm compliment regarding the blend of Westin’s modern luxury and historical elements of the original Moana Hotel built in 1901. It has always been our goal to insure the historical elements are in place throughout the resort to create a truly unique environment - your comment is sincerely appreciated. And of course, sitting under the magnificent 125-year-old Banyan Tree while enjoying the Hawaiian music & Hula dance is the best way to relax & renew! We look forward to welcoming you back to the First Lady of Waikiki. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

Very elegant with prompt and attentive service. Location can't be beat. The heavenly bed is fantastic. As a side note, tripadvisor on my ipad has the hotel mapped in the wrong location.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smartwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Aloha & Thank you very much for staying at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa! As you commented, Heavenly Beds are incredibly comfortable…so comfortable that many of our Return Guests have purchased it for their home. Lastly, thank you for letting us know about the hotel location on TripAdvisor – we will ask TripAdvisor to correct this right away. Again, mahalo for your delightful comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the First Lady of Waikiki. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the duration of our Hawaiian wedding.

Service: First class from beginning to end!

Rooms: nice mix of contemporary with authentic Hawaiian influences.. overall a nice fusion of old and new. My only comment would be that I had hoped for the price of the rooms that's they would have been slightly larger or just a hint more luxurious. Nevertheless, we had a great balcony view looking into the Banyan courtyard with beach outlook.

Special mention: our stay included breakfast in the restaurant downstairs. The breakfast is probably one of the most beautiful I've ever had! 5 star all the way. There was the usual hot and cold
Breakfast foods but presentation was immaculate. There was a Japanese breakfast selection to cater for international travelers too which I thought excellent. Pretty sure you can ask for the chef to make waffles or pancakes adorned with fruits if you like too.

One point of concern were the birds in the banyan courtyard. The birds are used to close human contact and a few times we saw guests get up from their table and as soon as they did this one naughty bird would hop onto the table and get stuck into the food! It was quite annoying probably because I don't like birds but aside from that, birds carry many diseases and so not a good idea to have them in close proximity to food (especially with people getting up and down for a buffet). Yes it's annoying but the huge Banyan tree is part of the Moana so if you're not fond of birds just ask for a table indoors or at least on the inner side if the balcony.

Apart from that I would not hesitate to stay at the Moana when I return to Hawaii. You can never get sick of this place and there are so many activities that I wanted to try bit missed out on! High tea on the balcony, hula lessons on the grass etc. Next time!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I_love_travel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoanaManagementTeam, Manager at Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Our Big Mahalo to you for a fantastic review! We are certainly delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa. As you saw, Waikiki has a number of gorgeous high-rise resorts with modern amenities and a chic, urban-resort ambiance. At the Moana Surfrider, we endeavor to offer a different, truly “Moana” experience. Our goal is to transport guests back to the turn-of-the-century, and pamper each visitor with the true Hawaiian hospitality and the Aloha Spirit. Your gracious compliment tells us we are doing something right, to create a more intimate, inclusive & personal sense of Hawaiian place here at the Moana Surfrider. Again, thank you for your delightful comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to the First Lady of Waikiki. Until then, Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa

Property: Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Address: 2365 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#10 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#31 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 791
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort & Spa, in Waikiki Beach on Oahu, HI. Visit Moana Lani Spa; or host a wedding on our rooftop terrace, or a meeting in our 10,000sq ft of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Resort And Spa
Moana Surfrider, a Westin Hotel Honolulu
Westin Moana Surfrider
Moana Surfrider Westin Resort
Westin Honolulu
Honolulu Westin
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing