We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome to the Hotel Pink”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Welcome to the Hotel Pink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is a hotel with alot of heart, lost in time....The location is ideal (2 blocks from the beach and close to all amenities). I stayed 2 months and felt very safe and secure here. The Monday jams were awesome! The pot luck holiday meals were ex! Previous guests have left air mattresses, floaties, swim goggles, wake boards, etc. and they are all available to borrow. The rooms facing the pool are less noisy than the ones facing the front of the building as the early morning traffic can be noisy. It is reasonably priced and you won't be spending much time in your hotel room as you will be out experiencing Waikiki Beach and it is Paradise!!!!!

Room Tip: Book a room facing the pool as they are quieter. Higher floors are less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Canadianchick003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    153
    41
    13
    14
See reviews for
75
122
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We'll be back! It's quite dated, yes, but very well located with clean, spacious, well equipped rooms and friendly and obliging staff. There is great eating on the same block, buses to everywhere 100m away and its 200m to the beach. We loved Royal Grove.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bersond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay
Level Contributor
187 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is a bright pink building and kinda sticks out like a sore thumb amongst the Hilton, Monarch and the other 5 star properties (what does this tell you – hell yeah, prime location!). Hop, skip & jump and you are at the beach. Centrally located and close to all the shops, farmers market, restaurants etc. The hotel is also right next door to the bus stop, you have a car rental agency right in front of the hotel, and a lane away from the pickup point for all day tour buses. What more could you ask for?? The room itself was quite comfy with all the amenities you need for your stay. The property could do with some refurbishing but yet manages to retain that quaint charm. We were glad we stayed at the Royal Grove as it met our needs. As for the staff – true Aloha spirit!

Room Tip: Higher floors have less traffic noise and you can also catch a glimpse of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rochelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Every time we go to Waikiki we stay at this little hotel and we've never had a problem. When we go to places like this where a beach is available and so many activities, we prefer a cheaper place to stay cause the main reason is to have a bed to sleep, other than that we are never in the hotel. The staff were awesome while we were there and always helpful giving us information when needed. Housekeeping was very helpful and trusting as well. I really liked the Monday evenings here because there was music and hula dancing in the main area which was very enjoyable. The pool was always clean and the tables and chair area was always clean. We'll be staying here again in the future

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank partygal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have returned recently from our 8th time staying at the Royal Grove, and made sure we booked for next year. As we arrived at the hotel, the greeting we received was more like visiting family - both from the staff on shift, and the other guests that are there the same time every year and have become friends - than going to a hotel. It was another great 2 weeks - the Monday night music session, the Friday night pot-luck, the afternoon around the pool listening to those folks from Australia practicing the Ukulele - you can't beat the price, the friendliness or the closeness to everything. Thank you Mr. Fong and staff.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the pool - the street side tends to be busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank newwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
194 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Royal Grove has definitely seen better days. You certainly cannot beat it for the location and cost. If you are planning on staying in your room much, this would not be the place to stay. But for a two-minute walk to Waikiki, this place cannot be beaten. Be sure to enjoy the ukulele night. Mr. Fong, the owner, and local musicians sing and dance in the hotel lobby one evening a week, and it's a genuine delight to be there with them. I am not one for all the glitz that often is part of Hawaiian shows. I like this real Hawaiian experience with locals. Get some shave ice at the Coconut Cafe just two doors away from the hotel--best in Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank CLC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have just returned from our first trip to Hawaii. We had 3 nights at the Royal Grove prior to a 7 day cruise around the islands plus 1 night on return from the cruise. After reading all the reviews I was more than happy to book a room here and was not disappointed. Yes, it's old, and some of the furnishings are dated, but for the price and location it can't be beaten. The rooms (we had 2 different rooms, one before cruise and 1 after) were clean and surprisingly spacious, the beds were comfortable. We didn't need the kitchen facilities, but the kitchen appeared well equipped with the basics. We had air conditioning which the staff turned on during the day but we turned it off once the sun had moved and didn't use it, we left the balcony door open at night (not a fan of air con if it can be avoided) and had very little noise. We used the supplied beach mats and towels for a swim at the beach, and I was able to take a book from the library for my flight home. The staff were very helpful and friendly, offering to ring and confirm pickup times and help with The Bus timetables. I would certainly stay again, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mandyg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Property: Royal Grove Hotel
Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3297
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing