We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Grove Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$450
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$407
$346
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$275
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$215
$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $297/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$233
$203
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$302
$289
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$369
$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$294
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
$255
$189
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$705
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
180
165
42
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
180
165
42
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson monday nightssafety deposit boxgreat budget hotelwaikiki beachtwo blocksother guestshula dancerspink hotelcooking facilitiesfull size fridgeold hawaiiacross the streetper nightthe duke statuean older hotelair conditionersmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
130 - 135 of 417 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in for value for money, pool, quiet, friendly, great price, shopping and eating just around the corner, Waikiki beach 200 metres away, and buses pass near by to any where , overall we give this hotel a 9 points for all things.
,Alf Meads, Auckland New Zealand, stayed 13th September for 5 nights.

Room Tip: Top floor but any where is ok
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alfnorma_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are on a budget, but still want to stay in the heart of Waikiki, this hotel is your pick. My wife and I spent a week on Oahu, mostly travelling around or lying on the beach. We spent little time in our hotel room, but it was perfectly fine. The staff was helpful (they suggested a nearby cheap parking garage, they provided us with beach towels etc), and the room was clean. The building itself is pretty old and rundown, but it is tidy and everything worked just fine. Close to the beach and restaurants. Many people in the hotel were returning guests, most of them seniors, and they were really nice people to talk to.
I want to emphasize again: this is not a fancy hotel. If you want all glamour of a Hyatt, go to a Hyatt. But if you just need a clean and decent room, this is a real bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Komaromi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The price is fantastic and the location handy to all sorts of places.
Not the Royal Hawaiian but still a little gem! We were really only staying for a couple of nights, breaking up our trip to Australia, trying to mitigate jet lag.
Our studio room overlooking the pool was cool, clean and comfortable with a balcony...but yes, old. Being able to prepare some meals is a bonus.
WiFi reception happens in the lobby or by parts of the pool closest to the lobby.
Due to an ongoing travel problem we had to stay in Hawaii an extra couple of nights (I know, a real hardship! Not!)
I was apprehensive about being able to book as I had witnessed several people walking in off the street looking for a place to stay, only to be told they were fully booked.
When I explained my problem, I was told not to worry they could accommodate us.
We moved to a room overlooking the street. Not quite as nice as the previous room but due to being over the lobby were able to pick up WiFi in our room. There were fireworks on the beach at the end of the street one night, an added bonus, as we might have missed them if we'd still been poolside.
For what we wanted, the Royal Grove was great! Certainly the prices mean a longer stay is a possibility in the future.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank eyes2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Royal Grove 4 nights while vacationing on Oahu.
We decided to stay there after reading reviews on tripadvisor and Fodors. Some reviews were mixed so we we not sure what to expect. On the Oahu TA forum, several people strongly suggested finding another place to stay and said it was a dump. We were SO glad we did not listen to their advise.
We got a nice room on 5th floor for $70 a night 2 blocks from Waikiki beach. Yes, the hotel is older(1960s style), but our room was spacious, AC cold, clean and the location could not have been better.
We only stayed in the room to sleep at night and get a quick shower before going out to dinner after a busy day. We know several people who have been to Waikiki area and spent over $300 a night. We rather spent the $200 a night we saved on something more enjoyable.
If you want a reasonable place to stay with friendly staff, we recommend giving it a try. Yes, it is not the newest or the prettiest, but it has location-location that can't be beat.

If you are one of those people who expect a 4/5 star hotel you will be disappointed and I suggest you stay elsewhere. It is a 3 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is such a good deal (and not listed on the major booking websites) that I almost don't want to tell anyone else about it, lest the prices increase. The location is perfect- a couple blocks from the beach and easy walk to pretty much anything in Waikiki. We stayed in the back building. We had a huge room/studio with nice shoji screens separating the bedroom area. A big closet and even a kitchen! No, the décor is not the newest, but it's clean and comfy. The pool area is lovely and relaxing. The front desk staff is great. Don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank EddieWent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews