We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why complain in Waikiki?”
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We initially booked a room without airconditioning for 55 a night. We thought, if you can sleep without an aircon, it should probably be doable. Don't do it!! The first room we entered, looked very shabby and had sliding windows (the ones that cut fingers when they fall) and two pretty huge plastic fans. We had 5 nights ahead of us with 90F at daytime and 75 plus at night, we quickly decided that we 'needed' aircon as a standard! So back to the desk and we got another one, without having to switch later that week. Kudos!

That room was still being cleaned, it was the first and last time that week. The other days, they just changed the towels and did the beds. No more vacuuming after that moment.
The room itself is nice, not shabby if you don't touch the furniture, as it is close to falling apart! It feels like walking into the seventies and not knowing better, one could think the room has not been touched ever since!
The aircon works continously, so no switching on and off during the night and it keeps the room cold enough all the time. Then again, there are no windows you can open in the room, just the balcony door.
The wifi is only available for free in the lobby, maybe the owner likes to see his guests every now and then, but in our room, next to the elevator, we just didn't have a signal.
The tv was small by the way and shampoo only comes once a week. So buy it yourself!
There are pans and glasses in the cabinets and there is a large fridge and microwave.

Next door you have a great Korean place and a Denny's (with golden sign, other than red) for a fair price and the shopping centres are around the corner. Markets are there too, very cosy!
Parking can be done two blocks away in a hotel, for 15 dollars per night. Don't gamble on street parking, there is hardly any and everything is one way traffic, killing!

With the beach at the end of the street and surfboards to take in the lobby, what is the reason to really complain? You're in Waikiki for less than 100 dollars a night!! Just look through the old stuff, take this advice and save an awful lot. It can send one of the two to another Island for free and do a volcano tour. That's how much it is!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TornadoJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (397)
There are newer reviews for Royal Grove Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 397 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in for value for money, pool, quiet, friendly, great price, shopping and eating just around the corner, Waikiki beach 200 metres away, and buses pass near by to any where , overall we give this hotel a 9 points for all things.
,Alf Meads, Auckland New Zealand, stayed 13th September for 5 nights.

Room Tip: Top floor but any where is ok
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alfnorma_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you are on a budget, but still want to stay in the heart of Waikiki, this hotel is your pick. My wife and I spent a week on Oahu, mostly travelling around or lying on the beach. We spent little time in our hotel room, but it was perfectly fine. The staff was helpful (they suggested a nearby cheap parking garage, they provided us with beach towels etc), and the room was clean. The building itself is pretty old and rundown, but it is tidy and everything worked just fine. Close to the beach and restaurants. Many people in the hotel were returning guests, most of them seniors, and they were really nice people to talk to.
I want to emphasize again: this is not a fancy hotel. If you want all glamour of a Hyatt, go to a Hyatt. But if you just need a clean and decent room, this is a real bargain.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Komaromi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The price is fantastic and the location handy to all sorts of places.
Not the Royal Hawaiian but still a little gem! We were really only staying for a couple of nights, breaking up our trip to Australia, trying to mitigate jet lag.
Our studio room overlooking the pool was cool, clean and comfortable with a balcony...but yes, old. Being able to prepare some meals is a bonus.
WiFi reception happens in the lobby or by parts of the pool closest to the lobby.
Due to an ongoing travel problem we had to stay in Hawaii an extra couple of nights (I know, a real hardship! Not!)
I was apprehensive about being able to book as I had witnessed several people walking in off the street looking for a place to stay, only to be told they were fully booked.
When I explained my problem, I was told not to worry they could accommodate us.
We moved to a room overlooking the street. Not quite as nice as the previous room but due to being over the lobby were able to pick up WiFi in our room. There were fireworks on the beach at the end of the street one night, an added bonus, as we might have missed them if we'd still been poolside.
For what we wanted, the Royal Grove was great! Certainly the prices mean a longer stay is a possibility in the future.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank eyes2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Royal Grove 4 nights while vacationing on Oahu.
We decided to stay there after reading reviews on tripadvisor and Fodors. Some reviews were mixed so we we not sure what to expect. On the Oahu TA forum, several people strongly suggested finding another place to stay and said it was a dump. We were SO glad we did not listen to their advise.
We got a nice room on 5th floor for $70 a night 2 blocks from Waikiki beach. Yes, the hotel is older(1960s style), but our room was spacious, AC cold, clean and the location could not have been better.
We only stayed in the room to sleep at night and get a quick shower before going out to dinner after a busy day. We know several people who have been to Waikiki area and spent over $300 a night. We rather spent the $200 a night we saved on something more enjoyable.
If you want a reasonable place to stay with friendly staff, we recommend giving it a try. Yes, it is not the newest or the prettiest, but it has location-location that can't be beat.

If you are one of those people who expect a 4/5 star hotel you will be disappointed and I suggest you stay elsewhere. It is a 3 star hotel at best.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmjbrtw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place is such a good deal (and not listed on the major booking websites) that I almost don't want to tell anyone else about it, lest the prices increase. The location is perfect- a couple blocks from the beach and easy walk to pretty much anything in Waikiki. We stayed in the back building. We had a huge room/studio with nice shoji screens separating the bedroom area. A big closet and even a kitchen! No, the décor is not the newest, but it's clean and comfy. The pool area is lovely and relaxing. The front desk staff is great. Don't hesitate to book here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank EddieWent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We were looking for an affordable place for our family of 4 where we could potentially cook dinners and have breakfast in the room and not spend a huge bundle. A guidebook (I think Fodor's) mentioned that they were a wonderful gem 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Waikiki Beach. We totally agree - total gem! Our room (which was actually two rooms, one with a double bed and single bed, and one with a single bed and the kitchenette connected to each other) was not overly large, but it was completely doable and the price was good. The downstairs staff was very personable and always were able to answer our questions. The maid service was wonderful. If you are into luxury or brand new everything in a room, if you need wifi in your room and aren't satisfied with using wifi just in the lobby, if you don't mind spending more money, then this place isn't for you. But if you're looking to stretch your dollars and still be in the heart of Waikiki, have comfortable accomodations, and maybe cook some of your own meals, then you may want to call this hotel. I tried booking online, but it indicated they were full. There was a caveat that you should call if it says there are no rooms availables. When I called, the man said, he absolutely had a room that would fit our family.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street. We had a balcony which we loved for hanging out wet bathing suits a...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
851 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
1,613 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
1,655 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3297
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $45 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing