We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfectly Adequate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfectly Adequate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is a great deal, the staff is very friendly and accommodating. It is clean and basic and just what we needed for a couple of nights on a trip to Hawaii. Spending so much time outside in Honolulu, all you need a hotel room for is sleep and shower, anyhow!

Room Tip: Economy rooms do not have a balcony or air conditioning but are equipped with a couple of fans. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Creads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    152
    41
    13
    14
See reviews for
75
122
64
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Its my second time at the Royal Grove (previous stay in may 2012) and I would go back there in a second!!

The lobby is filled with caracter and history, old pics and surf boards plus a nice music show every week by the owner and friends. Doors in lobby locks at midnight, security feature appreciated when you are a female solo traveller. There are beach towels and some chairs you can borrow, plus laundry machines if you need.

Rooms are simple but clean. They are a little dated but at that price I'm not looking at the decor. The cleaning equipment in the kitchennette could be more complete: you need to buy everything from soap to scrubbing sponges to do dishes.

Location is amazing, minutes from the beach. Bus stop on the corner will take you anywhere on the island. There is also a grocery store walking distance.

Overall its a great place to stay if you are on a budget and don't mind simple ameneties.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pbpb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is an excellent value -- it is literally a five minute walk to the beach! The rooms are cute and very functional. There is a kitchenette with dining supplies and a fridge, which is perfect for storing leftovers and fruit. The lobby staff were very helpful, and the pool was clean and refreshing. There were also many things you could borrow, like beach supplies and board games. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Waikiki.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank dogbone1002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an older budget property in an excellent location. We stayed on the fifth floor in a reasonably decent room with a view to the beach. The AC was weak, but functional. The decor was dated and worn. But for this price - it was worth it! The staff is friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is more "old Hawaiian." The beach, shops, and restaurants are in easy walking distance. The kitchenette saved us money on eating expenses.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4th or 5th floor in the new section are preferable. Check out the Korean deli on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Norm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Hawaii in Sept., I always stay at the SHERATON PRINCESS KAIULANI HOTEL WHEN I AM IN WAIKIKI THEY WHERE BOOK, UNLESS I WANTED TO PAY $300.00 a night for my self. I book another hotel, I was NOT happy with it, there was a convention in town, not many hotels. I when by the Grove twice, I finally got a room there for 2 weeks and loved it. It is a charming hotel with a lovely staff. The hotel is old but CLEAN AND CHARMING. LOOKING FORWARD TO MY STAY AGAIN NEXT YR.
I booked a month for next year in SEPT. looking forward to seeing new friends I made while I was there.. I CALL THIS PLACE MY PINK PALACE, LOVE IT...

Room Tip: I had a corner room and was happy, rooms are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Norma Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level Contributor
329 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel is a budget property in a high price area, and guests understand that.
The manager, Tim Fong, however, has plumbed new depths of cheapness in a misguided effort to make a bit more profit from guests.

Gone is the coffee that has been available every morning for years, and which was mentioned favourably in previous reviews.

This economy probably save about $4 a day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and enjoy it each time! A nice short walk to the beach. Free wi-fi in the lobby, and friendly people who work there. We were here when the tsunami alert was on in October and felt very secure knowing we were in good hands. Monday night lobby jam is a wonderful way to spend an evening.
Please feel free to browse the videos. Posts with aloha welcome on that page.

https://www.facebook.com/yahoo#!/royalgrovehotelwaikiki

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank fasth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Prince
Waikiki Prince
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#43 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
#34 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Property: Royal Grove Hotel
Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3297
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing