We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Grove Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$311
$284
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $345/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)
$248
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$343
$302
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$368
$275
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$269
$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $245/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$432
$419
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$294
$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$314
$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (418)
Filter reviews
418 results
Traveler rating
181
165
42
13
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
165
42
13
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson monday nightssafety deposit boxgreat budget hotelwaikiki beachtwo blocksother guestshula dancerspink hotelcooking facilitiesfull size fridgeold hawaiiacross the streetper nightthe duke statuean older hotelair conditionersmall hotel
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 418 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Its my second time at the Royal Grove (previous stay in may 2012) and I would go back there in a second!!

The lobby is filled with caracter and history, old pics and surf boards plus a nice music show every week by the owner and friends. Doors in lobby locks at midnight, security feature appreciated when you are a female solo traveller. There are beach towels and some chairs you can borrow, plus laundry machines if you need.

Rooms are simple but clean. They are a little dated but at that price I'm not looking at the decor. The cleaning equipment in the kitchennette could be more complete: you need to buy everything from soap to scrubbing sponges to do dishes.

Location is amazing, minutes from the beach. Bus stop on the corner will take you anywhere on the island. There is also a grocery store walking distance.

Overall its a great place to stay if you are on a budget and don't mind simple ameneties.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank pbpb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This hotel is an excellent value -- it is literally a five minute walk to the beach! The rooms are cute and very functional. There is a kitchenette with dining supplies and a fridge, which is perfect for storing leftovers and fruit. The lobby staff were very helpful, and the pool was clean and refreshing. There were also many things you could borrow, like beach supplies and board games. We will definitely stay here again when we return to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank dogbone1002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an older budget property in an excellent location. We stayed on the fifth floor in a reasonably decent room with a view to the beach. The AC was weak, but functional. The decor was dated and worn. But for this price - it was worth it! The staff is friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is more "old Hawaiian." The beach, shops, and restaurants are in easy walking distance. The kitchenette saved us money on eating expenses.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4th or 5th floor in the new section are preferable. Check out the Korean deli on the street level of the hotel - great food!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Norm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Hawaii in Sept., I always stay at the SHERATON PRINCESS KAIULANI HOTEL WHEN I AM IN WAIKIKI THEY WHERE BOOK, UNLESS I WANTED TO PAY $300.00 a night for my self. I book another hotel, I was NOT happy with it, there was a convention in town, not many hotels. I when by the Grove twice, I finally got a room there for 2 weeks and loved it. It is a charming hotel with a lovely staff. The hotel is old but CLEAN AND CHARMING. LOOKING FORWARD TO MY STAY AGAIN NEXT YR.
I booked a month for next year in SEPT. looking forward to seeing new friends I made while I was there.. I CALL THIS PLACE MY PINK PALACE, LOVE IT...

Room Tip: I had a corner room and was happy, rooms are large...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Norma Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel is a budget property in a high price area, and guests understand that.
The manager, Tim Fong, however, has plumbed new depths of cheapness in a misguided effort to make a bit more profit from guests.

Gone is the coffee that has been available every morning for years, and which was mentioned favourably in previous reviews.

This economy probably save about $4 a day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews