We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well run older hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Ranked #56 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well run older hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is an older budget property in an excellent location. We stayed on the fifth floor in a reasonably decent room with a view to the beach. The AC was weak, but functional. The decor was dated and worn. But for this price - it was worth it! The staff is friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is more "old Hawaiian." The beach, shops, and restaurants are in easy walking distance. The kitchenette saved us money on eating expenses.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4th or 5th floor in the new section are preferable. Check out the Korean deli on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Norm F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    152
    41
    13
    14
See reviews for
75
122
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was in Hawaii in Sept., I always stay at the SHERATON PRINCESS KAIULANI HOTEL WHEN I AM IN WAIKIKI THEY WHERE BOOK, UNLESS I WANTED TO PAY $300.00 a night for my self. I book another hotel, I was NOT happy with it, there was a convention in town, not many hotels. I when by the Grove twice, I finally got a room there for 2 weeks and loved it. It is a charming hotel with a lovely staff. The hotel is old but CLEAN AND CHARMING. LOOKING FORWARD TO MY STAY AGAIN NEXT YR.
I booked a month for next year in SEPT. looking forward to seeing new friends I made while I was there.. I CALL THIS PLACE MY PINK PALACE, LOVE IT...

Room Tip: I had a corner room and was happy, rooms are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Norma Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
on the road
Level Contributor
339 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Hotel is a budget property in a high price area, and guests understand that.
The manager, Tim Fong, however, has plumbed new depths of cheapness in a misguided effort to make a bit more profit from guests.

Gone is the coffee that has been available every morning for years, and which was mentioned favourably in previous reviews.

This economy probably save about $4 a day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sheilds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times and enjoy it each time! A nice short walk to the beach. Free wi-fi in the lobby, and friendly people who work there. We were here when the tsunami alert was on in October and felt very secure knowing we were in good hands. Monday night lobby jam is a wonderful way to spend an evening.
Please feel free to browse the videos. Posts with aloha welcome on that page.

https://www.facebook.com/yahoo#!/royalgrovehotelwaikiki

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank fasth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed here for 4 nights in totoal. we didnt have a booking but they had places available. its in the heart of wakiki, very close to the beach and to the bus stops. we had a room which has your own bathroom and kitchen. downstairs is free wifi and a pool. if there is 2ppl its works out to be the same price as 2 beds in a dorm room, $65 incl tax. some rooms you can hear the loud traffic of the main street, but get yourself some earplugs and sleeping pills from the chemist and you'll be fine. or if your a heavy sleeper, it won't worry you. if you book in advance try to get a room which is away from the main street. i had a great time staying here. you can catch a cab to the airport for $35 or get a shuttle for $11pp. great staff, clean rooms, what more do u need?

Room Tip: choose a room away from the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank louise b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at he Royal Grove Hotel in Waikiki in late October 2012. Our decision was based on the many glowing reviews on TripAdvisor & elsewhere, and we were not disappointed.

From our first contact by email, the staff were very friendly & welcoming, and they remained so throughout our stay. I made a mistake in my booking (had the dates wrong, having forgotten about the International Date Line), but they were able to give us a room for the first night, and then moved us to another one the next day.

The accommodation as stated in other reviews was a bit "retro", but comfortable & well-equipped for a self-catering room. The pool was a nice treat, and the wifi access in the lobby & breezeway was very handy. The location was only a short walk to the beach & all the popular Waikiki spots.

From the moment we checked in, we could tell that many "regulars" stayed there & had been doing so for some time. That's always a sign of a good place.

What impressed us ore than anything was the care and common sense displayed by the staff during the tsunami scare that occurred during our stay. They were quick to relocate all the guests to the 4th & 5th floors during the warning period, and kept everyone well informed of the situation at all times. Throughout this, they remained calm & kept the rest of us from worrying too much. Thankfully the tsunami was a non-event, but the staff were very organised & reassuring throughout.

We would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The street noise was horrible, really loud, night and day. There was no way to stop the sound of buses, trucks, cars, sirens. I couldn't understand why the street noise from Uluniu Ave and Kuhio Street were bouncing through the room on both sides.

The room itself was tiny but clean and ok for the price. It had no lanai or air conditioning, so a fan would be welcome. A square table for two would fit into the room much better and an inexpensive lamp would be nice.

Thanksgiving Pot luck dinner was enjoyable, the band was great and the dancing lovely - Mahalo.

I would stay here again but never in the old section, it's too damn noisy.

Room Tip: Room 422 is horribly noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hinemoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#42 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
Waikiki
Aqua Pacific Monarch
Aqua Pacific Monarch
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Property: Royal Grove Hotel
Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3297
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing