We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Budget Hotel”
Review of Royal Grove Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Honolulu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Royal Grove Hotel
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Budget Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located close to beach and shops. The rooms were clean and comfortable it is an older property but for the price and location we think it is the place to stay if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have view of beach from balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    155
    41
    13
    16
See reviews for
77
124
66
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in one of the 1 bedroom suites directly above the front lobby, and from our balcony, you could see the beach and all of interesting people from all over the world walking by. We tend to only stay in Waikiki for the night life and sleeping, so this Hotel was perfectly located. The room was comfortable with working Air Conditioning, and comfy beds. Reading some of the reviews before actually staying here could be quite misleading and unfair. The place is what it is as far as decor goes, but this "Mom and Pop" outfit oozes with warmth and friendliness. We were visiting from Canada, and are quite used to travelling around both Canada and the US staying in Hotels and Motels which would be comparable to this place. The only difference is that you are in the Tropics, and therefore you need to consider the amenities from that perspective. Whatever you decide to do, please don't underestimate this place, you could be missing a treat. Spend the money you save seeing the Island and on the entertainment that is readily available. The locals will thank you for helping their economy rather than supporting those already rich Hotel owners who may not even be on the Island. Thanks Royal Grove (Mom and Pop) ....for your hospitality, and treating us like one of your family.

Room Tip: Try to get a room / suite on the west side of the Hotel, facing Uluniu Ave, and furthest away from K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Some people might say the Royal Grove has seen better days, but for me it conjures up the charm of the Tiki era – Hawaii’s heyday, when people were into Polynesian decadence, tropical cocktails and bright colours. Its location is perfect right in the middle of Waikiki, with the beach just two blocks away (a 5-min. walk) and the bus stops for the rest of Oaho just round the corner on Kuhio Street. The building itself in glorious pastel pink seems to be a remnant from another time, trapped among the towering skyscrapers of Waikiki. It has a definite sanctuary feel to it. OK, some parts could do with another coat of paint and some of the fixtures may actually be from the 1940s or 1950s, but it is very clean and extremely well kept. The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable about the island. There is also a supermarket and a “hole-in-the wall” Korean restaurant in the building – ideal for self-catering and take-aways. Considering what people normally pay for accommodation in Waikiki The Royal Grove is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This older property is very affordable and is about a 60 second walk to Kuhio Beach in Waikiki, HI. Everything at the hotel was adequate and the rate was approx. $67/night during my September stay. Again excellent location and the place to stay if you want to save money and not splurge on a more expensive hotel. Daily maid service, small pool, laundry room, friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mike60984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very pleased with this find. It's not a palace but it's not priced like one-I actually think you get more than you pay for. Excellent location, self catering (although when I reported to reception that our microwave not working, was told I was welcome to use the one in the lobby/common area. We were on the 6th floor-not practical). However we did have a stove and oven as well. Also air con not particularly effective, except when I laid on the floor one night, directly under. Thankfully end of summer, so not insufferable. A couple of staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. No name badges so I can't give names.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank newgloworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed 6 nights from August 14 to 20. I had room 422....twin room with overseized furniture, small kitchen and ensuite bathroom. Price: $55+tax. / night = $376 total! Ok, the room was "ok"....old, tired, "smelly" and not very clean BUT only 2 minutes walk to Kuhio beach: I went there beacause I was on a budget. I was on a 3 weeks vacation ( cairns+sydney+LA+Honolulu) so I had to be careful with hotels....However, the place is alright for people that don't spend their time in their rooms. If you want a better room they have a highy category with AC and "lanai". If I ever return to the lodge, I will certainly choose one those "premium rooms" but again, if you have to fork out 100 dollars, the other hotels offer sometimes bargains that make the Royal Grove" look expensive.
The place itself is a little old but you feel safe....Well, you know, for 55 bucks... what do you expect?
FYI: the computer is $1 /10 minutes and it's very, very slow.....

Room Tip: If you can spend 100 dollars, choose a larger room with Ac and lanai.... or one of the bargains some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pascalpierre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We picked the Royal Grove because you can stay here for a week for the cost of 2 nights at the Hyatt just down the block. However, do NOT stay here if you travel to "be in the hotel." It's just not that kind of place. The room, as the hotel, is utilitarian but not beautiful in the "Architectural Digest" sense. The Royal Grove provides perfect accommodation for those who are not there to be in the room but want a clean, safe, room for sleep and clean up. The kitchenette was very handy--included a toaster, microwave, and coffee maker. The lanai was a pleasant addition to a spacious room.

The pool was a nice plus and was in shade for part of the day--no sunburn--and often I was the only person in the pool. The Hawaiian music in the lobby on Monday night was an unexpected bonus. The staff are friendly and helpful. Arriving just after noon on a trans-Pacific flight from Asia we didn't expect our room to be ready until official check-in time but we were able to go directly to our room and crash.

Next time we hope to have a room on the pool courtyard. Our room faced the street which was noisy enough to prevent deep sleep. Running the a/c unit provided enough white noise to mask most of it.

Also, since carry-on is the only way we travel, we were able to get to the hotel in just an hour from the airport for $2.50 each. Numerous bus lines from the bus stop half a block away provide transportation to just about anywhere you'd want to go for the same price.

For those who need it, there is vegan restaurant in the building on the ground floor on the Kuhio Ave. side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the pool courtyard side of the building away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Roamingbears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
764 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Bamboo Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,791 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,577 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Grove Hotel

Property: Royal Grove Hotel
Address: 151 Uluniu Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3297
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#41 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Royal Grove Honolulu
Hotel Royal Grove
Royal Grove Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing