We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at an Old Favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stay at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel for many years and every time there is improvements. Great staff and friendly service. Beds are very comfortable and this hotel has the best views of Diamond Head. Great location. Yes, this is an older hotel. Excellent value. They are doing some air conditioning upgrades and some renovation at the hotel. Did not effect us. Excellent WiFi. No problems with their internet service. Easy to stream Netflix with no hiccups. The staff service, view and overall accommodations are excellent! Keep up the great work!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Oceanview or Diamond Head View Rooms. Junior Suites have the best overall view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha! Thank you sharing your recent stay and it is so wonderful to hear that you had a great stay at an old favorite. Your comments regarding the great staff and friendly service are truly appreciated for we are very proud of the Aloha that they share with each and every one of our guest.

We agree that Queen Kapiolani has excellent location, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park, with a fantastic view of iconic Diamond Head.

Yes, a older Hotel but excellent value. Thank you for recognizing our efforts to continually improve our product such as replacing the window unit with a spit system, which is much
more efficient and also quieter. That you found the WIFI excellent with the ability to stream
Netflix with no hiccups.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hestate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our family of four stayed here for five nights in late July, 2013. We arrived very late and had no problem driving in our rental car from the airport to QK. Unfortunately when we got there, they had made an error in our reservation. We had booked a Diamond Head view over 6 months prior, but somehow they had us in a city view. Too tired to argue much, we took the city view and decided to discuss options in the morning. We had a good night sleep, and went to the front desk the next day. They spent over an hour with us going over options and apologized for the mix up. We had to decide if we wanted to move later in the day, or have them move our stuff while we were gone. Ultimately we decided to stay. We did miss the Diamond Head view, but we had a great city view and we could still see DH from the pool deck. For the mix up, they gave us a room discount and 6 free passes to the breakfast buffet (worth $20 each). We were happy and moved on to our vacation plans.

The room was clean and comfortable with two queen beds. The balcony was nice, and the bathroom fairly standard. The shower was excellent. There was a safe and frig in the room which we liked. The elevators were good, the pool excellent, good buffet breakfast, and the lobby clean. We also liked the view from the pool deck of Diamond Head, the shower area on the street near the entrance to clean off sand, two minute walk to beach, and right near the Kapiolani Park - amazing for walks in the park or if you want to go to the zoo (we didn't).

We also liked the location at the end of the main hotel strip. The views were great, and it felt a little quieter out of the main hotel area (like a hotel on Central Park in NYC in a way). Nice to have the park right there. Stores and restaurants were easy to get to. Lastly, we LOVED the valet parking. They were so good and quick. Usually less than 5 minutes to get our car, and they always made a point of asking what were doing that day, or how our day was at the end.

Overall, a great stay, we would stay there again. Rates were reasonable too. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: City View room on 18th floor was a great night view, and you could see a small section of Waikiki Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Archited2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we certainly appreciate your comments. It was certainly wonderful to hear, while there was a mix up in your reservation, you feel that there was a fair resolution.

We were happy to hear that you found the room clean and comfortable, with a nice balcony and the bathroom fairly standard with a excellent shower. That you found the safe and frig convenient, elevators good and pool excellent.

As you mentioned, we are at the end of the main hotel strip, yet minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, right across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

Lastly, we were thrilled to hear that you LOVED the Valet Parking, not only for being efficient but making it a point to ask how your day was at the end of each day.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I would like to update the earlier comments about the hotel looking a little shabby. Several families spent a week at this hotel (Jan. 9-15) and found the rooms to be comfortable, kept clean by a pleasant housekeeping staff, and the amenities we needed. Yes, the ceiling could be replaced at great expense (driving up your rate). The carpet probably will be replaced at a future time. The updating is almost finished.But you cannot beat the location across from the zoo and a block from the beach, the hospitable staff, the ice cream shop in the lobby, Teddy's Bigger Burger around the block, near public transportation to Ala Moana Shopping Center, etc. The valets, namely Bob, Jared and Kawai were the best. The room rates became a little confusing due to some changes that had to be made on our part but the Front Desk Manager Robert McFee was right on top of it. The breakfast buffet was delicious and if you just want ala carte, you can order from a short and reasonable menu. This hotel is a bargain! However, if you want more luxury and are willing to pay two/three times+ more for a standard room, then maybe the Halekulani is for you :). For everyone else, try it!

Room Tip: I was told that you sometimes can hear the animals (morning) from the zoo on the Kapahulu side of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we certainly do appreciate your comments. Thank you for acknowledging our on-going efforts to improve the product and we are glad that you found the rooms to be comfortable, kept clean by a pleasant Housekeeping Staff and provided the necessary amenities.

As you stated, many of our guest appreciate the unbeatable location, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the backgroud. Throw in a puffy white clouds and swaying coconut trees, and you know you are in paradise.

One thing we are very proud of is our Staff and your comments regarding the Valets being the best and the Front Desk Manager assisting you, brings a smile to our lips, for they are
practicing Aloha, which the Islands are known for.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Everyone here was great, from reservations, to bell desk, to bartenders, to maids! Our stay was great because of the staff, the rooms were classy and clean, and the pool/bar was a huge hit for our family. My son enjoyed the water while my husband and I drank and dined- perfect! New Years Eve party was fun, especially with the open bar! Thanks to everyone at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, we will be returning and telling all of our family and friends to stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guaya369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate your comments regarding our Staff, that because of them, your stay was great - from Reservations, to Bell Desk, to Bartendars to Maids! That you found the rooms classy and clean and the pool/bar was a huge hit for your family.

We look forward to your return and if I may be of any assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Wonderful hotel across from the Zoo and Kapiolani Park. Absolutely perfect location, mere minutes walking distance from the hustle and bustle of Central Waikiki and seconds from the beach. After a busy day, it is the perfect place to retreat for a quiet peaceful night's rest or just to enjoy some time on your lanai watching the sun set over the ocean, the sun rise over Diamond Head or the beautiful greenery of the Park and the Zoo. Don't feel like walking? Trolleys, buses and cabs stop at or very close to the hotel; Activity buses pick up right at the hotel. Renting a car? The street in front of the hotel leads easily to the freeway and the hotel valets are fantastic--friendly, efficient and great resources for advice. While it is an older hotel, it has been well upgraded, without losing it's character. It has a picturesque lobby, very clean, quiet rooms with comfortable beds, washrooms with tubs and showers and incredible staff. We are repeat visitors, but this trip was our best stay yet. After a very difficult travel experience, we finally arrived to discover there was confusion with our reservation, due to our delayed arrival. Not a problem! Not only was the young man at the front desk that night friendly and helpful, he had us settled into our wonderful room very quickly. All staff are welcoming and go the extra distance to provide great service. Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Diamond Head or the ocean for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we truly appreciate your comments. To be referred to as a Gem of Waikiki is a wonderful compliment. We absolutely agree that Queen Kapiolani Hotel is in a perfect location, minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, right across the street from beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

It is truly wonderful to hear that while we are a older property, you found it well upgraded without losing it's character, pictureque lobby, very clean, quiet rooms with comfortable beds, washrooms with tubs and showers and incredible staff.

The comments regarding the staff are truly heartwarming, for we are very proud of the employees and their abilty to share Aloha with each and every one of our visitors.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed 3 nights. Hotel was old but elegant. Newly remodeled in many areas__New elevators. White marble floors, room furnishings,etc. We had a king bed.mountain view,overlooking the pool. Pool beautiful place to relax and very private Crystal chandeliers were beautiful. Jocelyn at the facility's front desk was exceptional. All front desk staff were caring and helpful. We will definitely return. Great location near beach and overlooking the park.

Room Tip: Mountain view overlooking Diamond head great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate you comments. Queen Kapiolani Hotel is definitely old but elegant. It was nice that you noticed the remodeling - new elevators, marble floors, room furnishings, for it is our intent to continually improve the product.

What was music to our ears was that Jocelyn at the Front Desk was exceptional and all the Front Desk staff were caring and helpful. We pride ourselves on sharing ALOHA with each and every one of our guest for that is what the islands are all about.

We agree that we have great location, on the quiet end of Waikiki, yet minutes away from world famous Wakiki Beach and beautiful Kapiolani Park across the street, not to mention
iconic Diamond Head in the background....ahhh, the beauty of the islands.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

the lobby, valet and front desk personnel were fantastic and up to date. the personnel will give site locations and insight that you wont find in a brocure! as far as our room, it was straight out of the 80s and early 90s so dont let the nice entrance fool you.
we stayed for a week on the 18th floor with no view and low budget and an artifact of an air conditioning unit. we switched to the pacific beach hotel for a few bucks more after a week and we didnt regret it. better rooms but the personnel is a big change. queen kapiolani has the staff by far. but the view and location budget goes to pacific beach. *****not one bug in queen kapiolani though****

Room Tip: dont go economy. they dont care for the economy rooms. mildew. popcorn ceilings. failed upgrades. to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brwboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and we truly appreciate receiving feedback from our guest so that we may improve our product and services. It was so wonderful to hear that the Valets and Front Desk personnel were fantastic and up to date regarding locations and insight that you won't find in the brochures.

We truly apologize that the room condition was not acceptable and that the A/C did not work efficiently. For your information, we are changing the window units to split systems, which will be more efficient and quieter. This project will be completed by the end of March 2014.

Again, thank you for complementing our Staff and the cleanliness of the property, finding not one bug in Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We would like to invite you back to Queen Kapiolani
and would recommend the Diamond Head View, which is spectacular.

If I may be of assistance, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $126 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing