We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great facility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We spent two nights here in October 2013. After reading reviews about how small the standard rooms were, we booked a Diamond Head view w/balcony and requested a remodeled room. On check-in, it was obviously not touched in years - avocado green/harvest gold carpet, chipped bathroom fixtures, worn furniture. When I called the front desk to request a remodeled room they told me it had been remodeled just last year - ! Unfortunately the AC would not cool the room down nearly enough to open the drapes and enjoy the view we paid extra for. Maintanence came and said it worked fine - it did not. I had to call 3 times to get a tub stopper. When I went to make coffee, the grounds were still there from the previous occupant and one of the styrofoam cups had grounds in it.

It did have a nice big TV and they have resolved the wifi issue not reaching the upper floors - we were on 15. The king bed was fine. And the location was great - close to the beach and away from the worst of the Waikiki congestion, just across from a lovely park and the zoo.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vamanos828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel, and we certainly do appreciate your comments. We truly apologize that the room did not live up to your expectations and the items you mentioned are being addressed.

The vanity and bathtub are being refinished with replacement of the vanity lights to improve the overall bathroom experience. In regards to the A/C, we are planning to change out the window units to split systems, which are more efficient and quiet and reduce our electrical
consumption. The grounds in the coffee maker and cup is totally unacceptable and we have met with the Executive Housekeeper, who will be working with his Housekeeping Staff.

It was wonderful to hear that you liked the nice, big TV, king bed, and that you had no problems with WIFI on the upper floors. We do agree with you that the location is great - minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach, but away from the worst of the Waikiki congestion, just across from beautiful Kapiolani Park and Honolulu Zoo.

Again, please accept our most humble apology and if I can be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

Everything was wonderful, penthouse with great view, lanai, breeze. Great maid service, great parking attendants, desk service always friendly & helpful (first trip) & best location ever. Outskirts of waikiki - 1/2 block to b beautiful beach & shopping, restaurants & entertainment right in walking distance. No congestion, just gorgeous scenery everywhere. Rent a car and drive eastern coast line- breath taking views & no big cities. Also go card best way to go for first time visitors, suggest 3 day card. Saving to go back!!!

Room Tip: Highest floor you can get with lanai facing beach & diamond head.o Great breezes and great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jafNewport_Kentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we truly appreciate that you felt Queen Kapiolani Hotel was a great place to stay. That everything was wonderful, great view, lanai, and breeze. Great maid service, great parking attendants, desk service always friendly and helpful and best location ever. Just minutes from world famous Waikiki Beach
with shopping, restaurants and entertainment within easy walking distance.

Queen Kapiolani Hotel is in a great location, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park with iconic Diamond Head as a back drop....no better place to be.

Again, thank you and if I may be of assistance during your next visit to Queen Kapiolani
Hotel, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is an awesome little hotel. It's not located right on the beach, but about a block away, literally a one minute walk away, and for the price, we weren't complaining. We stayed on the 5th floor and had great views of both the pool and ocean. We didn't use the pool though, but with the warm, crystal clear beach a minute away, would you? We did go down there to get a drink at the bar, which was lacking to say the least. I think they just renovated, so we just figured they haven't gotten to the bar yet. The bar area also doubles for the "restaurant" area. The tables are really only used for the breakfast buffet, and the bartender confirmed this when someone asked where the server was and she said they don't have servers. Our room was nice and clean, including the carpet, which some seem to complain about.The staff was super helpful and friendly. Overall, it's a great hotel and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ingrid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and that you think we are a awesome Hotel with a terrific location. Just minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach with iconic Diamond Head in the background. That even from the 5th floor, you had great views of both the pool and ocean.

It was wonderful to hear that you found the room nice and clean, including the carpets. What was even more wonderful to hear was that the Staff was super helpful and friendly, for we are very proud of our Employees.

In regards, to the F&B, we are definitely addressing this area and that we will be providing
a full service, which will be breakfast, lunch and dinner. We anticipate this occurring by November 2013.

If I may be of assistance during your next visit to our beautiful island, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Excellent location, front of the zoo, the kapiolani parc and the sea. Bed room are clean clear. With fridge and kitchen furnitures.
The employees are very cleaver, and you can organize all your visit tours with the concierge help

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluestone976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us, for we certainly do appreciate your comments. Like the majority of our guest, we do feel that the Queen Kapiolani Hotel is in a excellent location, minutes away from world famous Waikiki Beach, across the street from Honolulu Zoo and beautiful Kapiolani Park, with iconic Diamond Head in the background.

It was nice to hear that the employees are very cleaver and that the concierge was able to origanize all your visit tours. That the bedrooms were very clean with fridge and kitchen furniture.

If I may assist you on your next visit to our beautiful islands, please do not hesitate to gvie me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We booked a city view room in advance and expected the same. Once we checked in after 23 hours flight we found a room with an ocean view. That we did not get a room with a balcony was fully acceptable as the ocean view was a great surprise. The staff was very friendly at the check in, breakfast and valet parking - thanks guys for patience as we went in and out several times a day !! The room was clean and enough for us as we went out most of the time to explore the beutiful island of Ohau. Bathtube needs to be remodelt Moderate price ! We would book again any time ! Mahalo !!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay and it was wonderful to hear that you were greeted with a wonderful ocean view. What was very heart warming was that you found the Staff very friendly at check in, breakfast and Valet parking.

In regards to the bathtub, we are currently refinishing the vanity sink and bathtub with new vanity lighting to create a positive experience in the bathroom.

We look forward to welcoming back and if I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My friend and I had one of the best rooms in the house...corner room on 18th floor with magnificent view of Diamond Head and glorious sunrises. It was fun to hear the roar of a lion or an elephant trumpet at night. The zoo is wonderful also. Very clean and animals well cared for. Room was very clean and had an extremely quiet air conditioner. Location at the edge of town provided a more quiet experience. Very short walk to protected beach which was heavenly. Breakfast buffet was very good, especially the omelets, but we would suggest an a la carte menu for those of us who just want a light meal such as cereal and fruit.(although the well equipped kitchen is convenient). All in all, we had a terrific stay and would take the same room again. You can't beat it for the price.

Room Tip: Room 1817 was perfect. Large with fantastic view. Extremely quiet air conditioner. There is some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skelly44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and it was so wonderful to hear that you had a magnificent view of iconic Diamond Head and glorious sunrises. Not to mention the bonus noises of the roaring lions and trumpeting elephants adding ambience to our beautiful tropical island.

It was wonderful to hear that the room was very clean and had an extremely quiet A/C. That the location at the edge provided a quiet experience, yet minutes away from famous Waikiki Beach with it's protected swimming areas.

If I may be of assistance in making your next booking, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

A good location but really dated facilities. Scratches on the hand painted basin and bath. You can see where all the touch ups have been done around the place. Very old air con in room. Burn mark from an iron on the floor. The curtains do not cover the windows properly. Single glazed windows on the main road. Ok if you rise very early. The staff leave you alone. No greetings when leaving or arriving through the foyer. Best thing was the microwave which is good because there is no kettle. We would stay in a better hotel next time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ScottParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and we certainly appreciate your comments for they allow us to focus on the items that impact you, our valued guest.

For your information, we are in the process of refinishing our vanity and bathtub, with lighting improvements, to create a better bathroom experience. We are also embarking on changing our A/C units to split systems, which will be quiet and efficient, allowing us to save on utility cost. In regards to the burn mark, I will be working with the Executive Housekeeper to correct this and we are in the process of replacing our curtains.

We would like to invite you back next year and you will be pleasantly surprised with the product and staff, who we are especially proud of. If I may be of assistance in handling your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
506 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
1,661 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $126 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing