We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Mahalo Queen Kapiolani"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #61 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Love the idea of tanning/surfing on Waikiki Beach but hate the thought of teeming crowds and irritating traffic spoiling your Hawaiian getaway? Thought so! The Queen Kapiolani presents the perfect option as she is extremely close to the beach and all the shops and restaurants the area is famous for without plunging her patrons into the maelstrom that is the other end of Waikiki. Our room, 1604, was fairly standard in terms of hotel rooms, offering two double beds, a chest of drawers, flat-screen television, spacious bathroom, and lanai. Additionally, our room came equipped with a larger mini-fridge, perfect for storing water and snacks for our beach and hiking excursions. Everything was clean and well-maintained, and the level-3 pool deck, in addition to offering a fantastic view of Diamond Head, served up excellent hamburgers and chicken wraps; it was a welcome escape from the salt and sand of the beach. Mahalo to all the staff, who were exceedingly friendly and helpful in every respect; they truly presented "service with aloha."

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank the4shells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Aloha!! Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you feel we are a perfect opiton as we are extremely close to the beach and all the shops and restaurants in Waikiki.

It was wonderful to hear that your room was clean and well maintained. And even more heart warming is to hear that the Staff were exceedingly friendly and helpful in every respect, they truly presented service with Aloha!!

If I may be of assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,553 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff was awesome, from the valet gentlemen, to the bell hop and the the fabulous Front Desk staff that greeted us with so much ALOHA! Yes check-in was very fast and the service and information that is given to you is so terrific. The rooms are the best we ever had in any of the hotels located right in the heart of Waikiki. Spacious is the word, clean and just love the rattan furniture that graced the living room, you can't find those type of furniture anywhere nowdays. We are very particular with hotel rooms and we must say this hotel made our trip the best we ever had. We would recommend this hotel to ALL who are looking for location, price (so reasonable) and the ability to get in to and out of Waikiki so fast. Housekeeping you are the best; always came back to a very clean room.
Yes to say the marvelous view of Diamond Head and the Waikiki coastline all the way to Ala Moana Beach Park was a dream to come true. Enjoy all, try it and we tell you, you will like IT!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ClayAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Aloha!! Thank you for sharing your wonderful experiences while staying at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It is so heartwarming to hear that the Staff was awesome, from the Valet to the Bellman and the fabulous Front Desk Staff. That they greeted you with so much Aloha,
that magical word that describes Hawaii.

Thank you very much for appreciating the rooms, from the cleanliness to the spaciousness and the terrific location. And we must not forget the Housekeeping personnel that kept your room very clean during your stay.

One thing we are so proud about is the awesome view of Diamond Head and Waikiki Beach,
which for you was a dream come true.

If I may assist you on your next visiti, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We found a great online deal ($80) and were impressed with the elegant decor of the lobby. The room was teeny tiny, but equipped with everything we needed, and we spent all our time either at the beach or the pool anyway! Happy hour starts at 11am and the bar and pool and lounge chairs are all on a sunny rooftop patio on the third floor. I recommend watching the aqua hotels website, new deals seem to come up every few days.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindsayandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for staying with us and we are happy that you found a great online deal, which is for a Standard Room. As you mentioned, the room is small but had everything you needed. If you wanted a larger room, we recommend that you book a City View or Diamond Head View for a nominal upgrade fee.

Thank you very much for staying with us and if I can provide assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed one night at the hotel. The staff was really nice and gave us a worm welcome. Easy to check in and we got our key really quick. The location was perfect. Close to everything. Don't get scared that it's "a block" away from the beach, it's really close.
The room was clean but the interior was old.
A good place to stay with friends and if you don't need a romantic hideaway.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and it was wonderful to hear that the Staff was really nice and gave you a warm welcome. That it was easy to check in and the location was perfect. It was also good to hear that the room was clean and that everything was close by.

Thank you and if I many assist you on your next visit to our beautiful islands, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Upon arrival we learned that the disabled room we reserved was not available but the receptionist was gracious and upgraded us to the Penthouse at no additional charge. As such the room was spacious and clean, though the furnishings were nothing special. To marvel at was the view of Diamond Head and the Waikiki coastline offered from the balcony. The real icing on the cake, however, was the hospitable and overly accommodating staff, especially two of the doormen who stood out: Shane and his cousin Kevin. These two men go beyond their call of duty to please the hotel visitors, always ready to greet everyone with a charming smile and dash of chivalry thrown in. Hope their boss gets to read this review and reward them.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Aloha!! Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. It was wonderful to hear that you were upgraded and that you marveled at the view of Diamond Head and the Waikiki Coastline offered from the balcony.

What was music to our ears was that you felt that the real icing on the cake was the hospitable and overly accommodating staff, especially Shane and Kevin at the Bell Desk.

If I may assist you on your next visit to our beautiful property, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My mom, daughter and I just returned from our Hawaiian vacation including a 3 night stay at the Queen Kapiolani. I was a little hesitant making a reservation at a hotel that I was not familiar with but based on price, location, and other trip advisor reviews decided to take the leap. We were not only pleasantly surprised we were very happy at the Queen Kapiolani. It is a beautiful properly, well maintained, wonderful location (less than a block from the beach) and the staff was great. There is beach rental equipment located in the lobby which saved us a lot of money when we rented our equipment there instead of getting it on the beach. The valet attendants recommended local eateries and had printed directions to all the major tourist destinations. We took advantage of the hotel's snooze and cruz package and couldn't have had a better experience. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Loved the snooze and cruz package which included a rental car and hotel parking. We requested a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews!!! That your decision resulted in a pleasant surprise and that you were very happy at the Queen Kapiolani. That it was a very beautiful property, well maintained, wonderful location and the Staff was great.

Again, Thank You, and if I may be of assistance in booking your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed at the Queen K for one week while in Honolulu for business. The first room I had was a standard room with a view of the ocean. It was incredibly small. In fact, it reminded me very much of a Japanese business hotel. The A/C unit (located below the window) blew straight into me, there were no bedside tables or lamps (so no reading in bed!) and I could only glimpse 30% of the television screen. But, it was very clean. The next day I asked for a room change, and for only $20 more/night I got a room twice the size! It only had a city view, but it was worth it to have the extra space and updated bathroom. The valet cost of $25 per night is expensive, and for a hotel like this I would expect it to be a little less. But, the staff is SUPER nice, SUPER friendly, really really pleasant. Every staff person I interacted with was equally wonderful. So, for that reason I might stay again. The location is also fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for the room upgrade right away! City view is cool, but can be noisy (if you like to have the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent stay at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. Yes, the standard category is our smallest room and we are glad that you upgraded to the City View for a nominal amount and that you felt it was well worth it.

It was wonderful to hear that the Staff is Super nice and Super friendly and really, really pleasant. That every staff person you interacted with was equally wonderful and for that reason you might stay again.

If I may assist you in booking your next stay, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
1,712 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $137 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing