We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #59 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great trip”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The hotel is nice but can do with a little tweaking, the pool area and restaurant are very nice areas. The room we were assigned had a King bed and a kitchen. Our 10 year old was with us so we had a bed brought in to the room to accommodate her. The room we were given was on the 14th floor which was great because the view was spectacular and we could hear the zoos animals at night as we over looked it. The hotel was a few blocks from prime part of the strip, but i have stayed there and know the noise that goes on 24 hours a day. ( unless you are on the ocean in an ocean view, this is good! ) We were happy with the kitchen, it was a surprise and we made some use of it. Good bar at the pool....different drink sales each day

Room Tip: get up above the noise of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Aloha from the Beautiful Queen Kapiolani!

Thank you for your kind comments and many of our guest appreciate the spectacular view of Diamond Head and the noises of the zoo animals at night as you did. Another area that you appreciated was the pool area and restaurant on the third floor that also has a amazing view while you dine.

Our Junior Suites do have kitchenette facilities and we are glad that you made some use of it during your stay.

Again, Thank You for staying with us and if I can provide assistance during your next visit, please do not hesitate to ask.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    583
    325
    107
    77
See reviews for
351
574
140
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kamloops
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I will say I don't usually stay at 3 star hotels, so this was new for me.

The service at this hotel was excellent, front desk staff always smiling and willing to assist you. The housekeeping staff always greeted you with a smile, and were very friendly.

The rooms need some updating and are very small. The lanai is a great size with table and chairs, you will either have a city view, very nice at night, or Diamond Head view. Located right next to the zoo there is less traffic at this end of Waikiki but still within walking distance to many of the best restaurants in the area. The beach in this area is also less crowded.

The wifi was intermittent when we first arrived for about 3 days, then a car accident next to our hotel caused a power outage, which was quickly fixed at our hotel, some of the neighboring hotels and shops were not so lucky, nearly two days without power.

The beds are quite comfortable, however the A/C can be very loud, that combined with the street noise can make for noisy and unwelcome early rise. Older building with very old windows does not filter out the noise very well, even on the 18th of 19 floors.

There is a lovely breakfast buffet available poolside with an amazing view of Diamond Head and the pool area itself is very quiet and relaxing.

Overall the hotel was clean and great if you are on a budget, but with small and dated rooms I do not think I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor, Diamond Head view, away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for your comments informing us that the service was excellent from all the departments. We pride ourselves in providing great service and a wonderful guest experience to all our guests.

In regards to the loud A/C and street noise, we are in the process of changing out the window units and looking at ways to minimize street noise on the lower floors.

We are glad that your enjoyed the lovely breakfast buffet available poolside with an amazing view of Diamond Head. We feel it it the best view of this Waikiki landmark from our 3rd floor restaurant.

If I can be of service during your next visit to Waikiki, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just got done staying at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel for 30 days, and I would go back in a heartbeat. The staff is one of the best I have ever encountered. It is at the end of Waikiki, so it has a real laid back atmosphere. If you are looking for a great hotel to stay at for a reasonable price this is the one.

Shout out to a couple of great staff members: Shane, Micah, and Atta

Best customer service ever!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha!! Thank you for your comments and we also feel that our Staff is one of the best and they are why our guest keep on coming back to the Queen Kapiolani Hotel.

As you say we are a great hotel to stay at for a reasonable price on the quiet end of Waikiki with a amazing view of Diamond Head.

Again, Thank You and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Queen Kapiolani Hotel!!!

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

we had a wonderful vacation and truly enjoyed our stay. very helpful and friendly staff. very clean although our room showed it's age. public areas are updated with some updates in the room. We loved the open air effect of the pool/bar area and lobby. mahalo

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for your kind comments and it was wonderful to hear that you had a wonderful vacation and truly enjoyed your stay.

We strive to provide a wonderful guest experience so it was nice to hear that the Staff was helpful and very courteous. We also believe that the lobby is majestic and the pool bar area has the most spectacular view of Diamond Head.

Again, Thank You for staying at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel and if I can be of assistance during
your next visit, please do not hesitate to call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Price is reasonable and the location is great, about 2 blocks from the beach and across from the Honolulu Zoo.

The place needs an overhaul. I have stayed there in previous years but the bathroom was in extremely poor condition with the wall paper coming off, the toilet leaked and sink was pitted.

Staff was helpful and very courteous.

Biggest mistake was to print 3 boarding passes from the lobby computers that cost $5.00 to use just to print the boarding passes.

Probably will go back down the street until hotel is remodeled.

Room Tip: Booking on-line was cheaper than calling the hotel direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greatplacesnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha! Thank you very much for your comments and we certainly do apologize for the poor condition of the bathroom. For your information, we are embarking on upgrading our bathrooms which will address the sink and bathtub.

Thank you for acknowledging that the staff was helpful and very courteous. We strive to create
a wonderful guest experience and feel that staff interaction is very important. It was also nice to hear that you felt the price was reasonable and the location great.

If I can be of assistance on your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My parents just got back from their annual trip to Hawaii.
This was the second time they stayed at this hotel. They stayed 8 nights.
They love the location of this hotel because they take a walk on the beach before their breakfast every morning.
One thing they kept mentioning to me (the reason why I'm writing this review) was about the service, especially one particular gentleman Blane Yoshida.
My parents and their friends had a late flight around 8pm but the shuttle bus operator said they only came around 12 noon to do pick up and drop offs from the hotel to the airport and gave them a bit of a hard time. What were they supposed to do at the airport for 8 hours?
That's when Blane came to the rescue. He somehow negotiated a later pick up time and my parents were happy to spend a few more hours out in the Hawaiian sun.
Also, one of the friends had forgotten their credit card and the staff made sure to return it to the rightful owner before they would even miss it.

GREAT SERVICE! Thank you for making their stay memorable. They will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank captainsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your parent's experiences and it was wonderful to hear that Bell Captain, Blane Yoshida went out of his way to arrange a later pick up, so that your parents were able to enjoy a few more hours out in the Hawaiian sun, which we feel is magical.

It is our intent to offer a wonderful guest experience and would like to extend "aloha" to each and every one of our guest. We will recognize Blane Yoshida in our hotel newsletter and appreciate your kind comments.

If I may be of any assistance during your parents next visit, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the Queen Kapiolani for two nights last weekend. We arrived on Saturday and checked into the smallest hotel room I have ever seen. I live in NYC and have stayed in many hotels, but this room was by far the smallest I have ever stayed in. I believe it was room 415. Since this was a holiday weekend, the hotel was at full occupancy and we could not switch rooms. The woman at the front desk told us to come back in the morning on Sunday and check to see if any rooms opened up for us. When we went back on Sunday morning we were told that there was a larger room available for us, which made our stay a little more enjoyable. The room was still on the small side, but at least we weren't on top of each other. The hotel is clean and the employees are accommodating. For the price that we paid I am unhappy with my decision to stay at this hotel, but for what it’s worth the only thing we did at the hotel was sleep, so I have nothing to complain about. This hotel is a short walk to the famous Waikiki Beach and all of the attractions. One advantage is that you are close to Diamond Head and that hike is a must do. One disadvantage is that the hotel is at the end of the strip, so be prepared to be walking!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, these are much larger and more accommodating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manninod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your recent experience while staying at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel and we apologize for the size of the room. Your booking was for our Standard category, which is the smaller accommodations. If more room is needed, our City View is larger and would be recommended.

It was good to hear that you feel the Hotel is clean and the employees are accommodating, that they were able to move room move you the following day to a larger room. In regards to the location, many guest enjoy the location as you state, since it is a short walk to the famous
Waikiki Beach and all of the attractions.

If we can assist you on your next visit, please do not hesitate to give me a call so that we may
book the appropriate room on your next visit.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#69 of 84 in Honolulu
492 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
275 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,805 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Property: Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing