We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel but the people are -- by far -- the best part”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Boise, Idaho
1 review
“nice hotel but the people are -- by far -- the best part”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

The hotel is nicely located near the beach and the zoo, and the rooms are adequate. But the staff was so friendly and helpful that I would never consider staying anywhere else! One gentelman - Shane - even gave us a ride somewhere in his own car when he was off duty. Wow! I want to go back - just to say "hey" to everyone.

Room Tip: Don't worry about the room - go OUT and see the beautiful beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    575
    317
    106
    76
See reviews for
346
564
137
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights at the end of our honeymoon.

This hotel was dissapointing. I had requested an upgrade when we booked the accomodation due to it being our honeymoon and my request was declined. At all other Hawaiian hotels we stayed at, an upgrade was given immediately due to the special occasion and a bottle of champagne was provided. We did not receive anything from this hotel.

The hotel room we were given was extremely old and outdated and the matress was so uncomfortable we could not sleep at night. The phone in our room also did not work, which was an inconvenience. We were told a new phone would be provided, but it was not. Our hotel room was at the end of the hotel, which meant we had a view directly into another hotel's rooms, which was not appealing and meant we had to keep the curtains closed. The bathroom was extremely small and very outdated. We were seriously considering checking out of this hotel early and finding alternate accomodation.

The hotel is in a good location though, one block from the beach and directly opposite the Honolulu Zoo. We could see animals from our balcony (an Elephant) and we had a fantastic view of Diamond Head, which was nice.

We will not be returning to the Queen Kapiolani Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelover209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for sharing your experiences and we do make every effort to ensure that our guest have an enjoyable experience at the Queen Kapiolani Hotel. We truly apologize for not being able to fullfil your request for an upgrade due to it being your honeymoon. Unfortunately,
we were at high occupancy and did not have availability in the next higher category.

In regards to the telephone not working properly, we have notified the vendor since it is a new telephone system recently installed this year, 2012. Thank you for bringing it to our attenton so that we may correct the problem and we are looking into the breakdown in communication.

A bathroom upgrade is being finalized and we are looking at installing new pedestal sinks and refinishing the bathtub and surrounds. This will greatly improve the overall "guest experience'
and we are excited to embark on this improvement.

Thank you for mentioning the good location, one block from world famous Waikiki Beach and directly opposite the Honolulu Zoo. Many people appreciate the fantastic view of Diamond Head from the lanai as you have mentioned.

If you do plan to visit Hawaii, again, please give me a call so that I may personally assist you with your reservations. We will continue to improve our product so that you may enjoy the "Aloha Spirit" we are known for.

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We just spent 10 days at the Queen Kapiolani and were so very pleased with our room selection.
We prepaid for a junior suite and got a wonderful room on the 15th floor with views of Diamond Head, the Pacific Ocean and some city views. Unless you are on a very tight budget the larger room is just delightful. Large room with a fridge, microwave, nice table and chairs, King bed (very comfortable mattress and choice of pillows), wonderful lanai and large screen TV. By working with the front desk, who worked with the head housekeeper, we were able to arrange early cleaning every day of our stay. We like to go to the pool early (8:30'ish) and have the room cleaned by 10:30. Wonderful staff coordination on their part. Yes, all the elevators are now new and working very well. This is not a luxury resort. There are areas that might need some updating but overall the hotel is clean and well run. It really has to be one of the best values in that part of Waikiki.

Unfortunately there are no umbrellas on the pool terrace and therefore no shade after about 9:30 AM. We had this same problem at a sister property (the Aqua Park Shore) last year. We also pointed out to that hotel the problem for those of us who love to be near the sun just not under it all day. Friends visited the Park Shore last April and found umbrellas on the pool deck. We walked by this trip and also saw the umbrellas. We understand the challenge of occasional high winds but come on, you need some shade on those lovely sunny days.
Stay at the Queen Kapiolani and have a good time. It really is worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trombert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed at the Queen Kaoiolani for a week in in October 2012. The hotel is a little tired in some areas but was clean and more than adequate for me. Staff were very good both, front desk and bell desk. Biggest issue was the elevator situation. Apparently they are completely rebuilding two of the three main elevators which can result in a little longer wait for service. There is a utility elevator available which I did not use. The morning breakfast buffet had an adequate selection and is reasonably priced with a plus for the view of Diamond Head. Being at one end of Waikiki has its advantages and disadvantages.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Ideal for our purposes. Easy walking and driving to everything of interest to us, quiet, excellent staff, relaxed atmosphere, good beds. We stayed there in September 2011. We had no problem finding self-parking in the underground garage, with staff there to keep an eye on things.
I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: North-facing room on upper floor was quiet and comfortable, close enough to the beach to not require...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLSmith_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hills calif
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

good location and value. very close to the beach and center of waikiki
hotels and restaurants. excellent views of ocean and diamondhead.
I have stayed there for many years and the service is consistant. Hotel is
newly remodeled and facilities upgraded.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank southland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

the location is good infront of the zoo, and across waikiki, the hotel needs renovations for sure, looks like the rooms got some upgrades like the wall paper and flat screen, but the bathrooms are awful, l found a cockroach inside the towels, it was nasty!
the main elevators were broken so we had to take the service ones, not too bad since they were 2...
the rooms are clean, in general they are okay for what you pay, we paid 100 dlls per night, we didn't spend too much time on the hotel so was fine, the rooms have a fridge and safe, they are quite big compared to other ones, the furniture was old.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asnaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron K, General Manager at Queen Kapiolani Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Aloha! We certainly do apologize that your visit to Queen Kapiolani Hotel did not fulfill your expectations, for we do make every effort to ensure that our guest have an enjoyable experience.

In regards to the insect, please rest assured that they are not acceptable and we have notified the pest control company to address this concern immediately. Unfortunately, you have been impacted and we are truly sorry.

The bathrooms are being addressed and we are replacing the vanity sink with a pedestal sink and refinishing the bathtub and tub surrounds so the bathroom will have a totally new look. This project will be completed by the first quarter of 2013.

The other concern you experienced has been corrected. We have completed our much needed
Elevator Modernization in October 2012 and now all 4 elevators are providing very fast and efficient service to our guest.

Thank you for your comment that the rooms are clean with new wall paper and wall mounted 42" flat screen TV. Our guest enjoy the great location next to the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani
Park and across world famous Waikiki Beach. Not to mention the amazing view of Diamond
Head.

Again, please accept our most humble apology and if we can serve you in the future, please do not hesitate to give me a call, so that I may assist you,

Mahalo,
Ron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,605 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Property: Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing