We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Ranked #62 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a week. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was clean and the position was great. It was a very short walk to the beach and restraraunts. Being on one of the upper floors we had a lovely breeze each day that cooled the room so we never needed air conditioning. The bed was a king size and very comfortable. The only slight problem we had was the 3 o'clock check in time. We arrived after an overnight flight from Australia at 8am so we had to dump our bags and spend the day in Waikiki feeling very second hand. Maybe 3 o'clock is customary in Hawaii. It's usually earlier in Australia. Overall I would definately stay there again though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter_G3228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

My room was very nice with a nice view, the building is very well located (a couple of blocks from Waikiki Beach) and in front of the zoo!...but the greatest thing was the house keeping, the first day my room was cleaned, the house keeper left me a very nice welcoming note that made me feel home! God bless her and all the staff at the great Queen Kapiolani Hotel!!!

Room Tip: choose a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capaza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We had requested an ocean front suite, but when we got there they had us in a city view regular room, even though we had confirmed the upgrade with the hotel's group coordinator. The front desk was not very helpful at all, and didn't believe we had requested the upgrade. Two more couples from our group arrived as we were checking in, and there were no records of their confirmed upgrades either. The front desk clerk finally found us a room with partial ocean view, but no apologies for the mixup on the reservations. Our corner room was on the top (or close to the top) floor, with views of the zoo on one side and partial ocean on the other. We had wrap around balconies, but it was sooooo windy out there that we could sit out there and enjoy it. The windows in the room are the older multi-leuvered type, that crank shut. Since they are so old, they leaked quite a bit, so being so high and with the wind blowing so strong, there was a constant howling in the room. Even the drapes were blowing around from the window leakage. They were also stingy with the soap. We were there for 3 nights and our soap got so tiny, but they didn't replace it. There was also a room safe, but they didn't tell us about it when we checked in. We went downstairs and told them the key to the safe was missing, and asked for a replacement. They said if we wanted a key it would require a $50 deposit, which we would forfeit if we lost the key. Ok, fine, we need to use the safe so we put up the deposit, but couldn't they have asked if we needed to use the safe when we checked in? They have free wireless internet access, but don't give you the password when you check in. We called down from the room to get it. All of these little things just add up - a nicer place would have provided you with all of this info upon check in. I couldn't wait to check out of this hotel. I didn't feel like we were in Hawaii at all. I will say the valets were awesome - friendly, quick service, and professional.

Room Tip: Avoid the higher floors - too windy. Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Newp0rtBeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights and everything went well. The rooms are essential, a little bit "old style", but quite clean and comfortable. The location is excellent, very close to Waikiki shops and restaurants but quite far from noisy places. The perfect starting point for Oahu exploration

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Was greeted with friendly staff at the Front Desk everytime I neded anything. They truly had the "Aloha Spirit". My room had a gorgeous view of Waikiki Beach. My room also had all the amenities of a five-star resort. The swimming pool was better than most hotels i've stayed at, with a gorgeous view of Diamond Head. Was made to feel very comfortable staying here and I will definately be back.

Room Tip: Call in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The Queen Kapiolani Hotel is truly a jewel! Thank you Debbie Tuaileva, Marina Pasion, Star, May, Suk, Kawika, Arthur and Jocelyn -you are just a part of the fabulous staff who really are the aloha spirit! My daughter and son-in-law's (Hoku & Kamu) wedding reception was perfect from the planning phase to the actual event! You all made our stay at the hotel such a memorable and special one! Everyone we came into contact with from your hotel made us truly feel the real aloha spirit we've been missing for soooo many years! If this is a sign of things to come from the Queen Kapiolani Hotel, we'll be your faithful and loyal local patrons and recommend you to all our friends and family. Glad to see ongoing renovations. Mahalo nui loa! -Doug & Marilyn Correa (Ewa Beach, Hawaii)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was my first stayat the Queen. The desk staff are very friendly. When we first checked in the bell/parking staff was so friendly! Especially Kawika and Shane.(Thanks for all the help directing us to local eateries). I will definitely return and book my next stay there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,914 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,614 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#30 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queen Kapiolani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queen Kapiolani Hotel

Address: 150 Kapahulu Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4097
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $122 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Queen Kapiolani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named after the beloved wife of Hawaii's last reigning King, the historical Queen Kapiolani Hotel is conveniently located one block to Waikiki beach and near the Honolulu Zoo, Kapiolani Park, Waikiki Shell and Waikiki Aquarium. Most upgraded rooms feature views of Diamond Head and/or the ocean and the following FREE amenities: WiFi Internet access throughout the hotel, daily local newspaper, mini-refrigerator and coffeemaker. Additional hotel amenities include meeting and banquet facilities, pool with sun deck and restaurant with panoramic views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Queen Kapiolani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queen Kapiolani Honolulu
Hotel Queen Kapiolani
Queen Kapiolani Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing