We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisy”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Eugene OR
Level Contributor
65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Good location but noisy”
Reviewed June 27, 2006

We stayed at the Pagoda in Honolulu June 2006, in a family room (2 bedrooms with kitchenette). The location is fine if you are willing to take The Bus to get around; it's a 5 minute walk to the nearest "The Bus" stop; and it's about a 30 minute walk to Waikiki Beach, slightly less to Ala Moana Beach Park. There is a parking fee if you have a car. The kitchen is great to have if you have a family and want to save some money on meals. That said, there were some problems, although they were not serious. The worst was the nightly noise level from the street outside (we stayed in the building called the Pagoda Terrace; it's possible other buildings are quieter). The A/C drowned some of the noise but not enough for restful sleep. The kitchen was minimally equipped...two pots, dishes and flatware for 4, one sharp knife, one cutting board, one small two burner stove, coffeemaker (and coffee), fridge, microwave; but plenty of small "sugar ants" to get into any food left on the counter. The unit was older and somewhat worn, but otherwise clean. However the front desk person was very brusque upon check in., enough that I would try to stay elsewhere next time. MAKE SURE you have the EXACT SAME credit card you used to make the reservation and first night's deposit, as they will not allow you to use a different card to pay for the rest of your visit. This policy is to prevent ID theft, but the logic escaped me as we had ample photo ID to prove who we were and the reservations were made in our names! (We wound up paying with traveller's checks and having the original deposit credited back to our card). There was a nearby WiFi network we could access but it was not the hotel's network, and it was not always on. There are two small pools but the one at our building was full of small children whenever it was open. All in all the value for the money (about $140 with tax per night) was good, for a family, but next time I'd see if we could find something else.

Helpful?
3 Thank KarenGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    129
    110
    60
    81
See reviews for
146
75
67
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

Stayed at the Pagoda Hotel with a friend in early June. Conveniently located close to Waikiki (within 6 blocks), Ala Moana Shopping Center, Walmart and several "local" style restaurants. I like the location because its fairly centrally located, if Waikiki is not your only destinaton.

Our room was in the Terrace across the street from the main lobby. The rooms were clean, but definitely shabby (cracked plaster, stained tub, chipped sink, "tired"/dated paint job). This place has definitely seen better days. It looks to be stuck in the late 60s/early 1970s era.

The room had a coffeemaker, small refrigerator, microwave, sink and some kitchen utensils. Small bathroom and water temperature changes when someone on another floor flushes or uses the sinks. Small air conditioning unit, but it worked OK. Not great lighting, but better than some I've seen. Closet space was good and there is an in-room safe. Parking is included and there were adequate, but small spaces; additional parking is available in the Ross parking structure one block over. Maid service was inconsistent - one day our kitchen towels weren't touched and no new towels were put out; another day, everything was replenished incuding extra soaps, towels, etc. Staff were generally friendly; some of the other guests were more somber and standoff-ish.

They have 2 pools, a gift shop, a beauty shop and travel/tour agency on site. The buffet restaurant across the street was nice and reasonable considering the offerings (with a Japanese/"local" slant). The restaurant has a massive fish pond filled with koi and nightly feedings are an event. Any phone messages to your room are taken by and then relayed to you by a live person, not a voicemail service. There was some noise from gardeners and other guests using the pool, but after 9pm it generally was quiet. Access to the terrace after hours is by keycard only.

Pagoda seems to be a favorite for expatriates returning to Hawaii and low budget customers. It is generally cheaper than Waikiki hotels, but you do get what you pay for. I wouldn't stay here if you want any amenities or to impress anyone. But if you just want a bed and mostly clean room away from Waikiki, this would be OK.

Helpful?
6 Thank CatMagnet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Big Island, Hawaii
Level Contributor
258 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2006

I have stayed at the Pagoda Hotel in the past. It's a very good $ deal, BUT, this time I had extended family with me and we stayed in the Pagoda Terrace across the street. That was not so good. LOUD LOUD LOUD LOUD LOUD. Street noise on one side and googles of school kids going in and out and in and out of their rooms all night on the other side. Whew. I'm going to step it up the next time I go to Honolulu.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wannago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 27, 2006

I have been taking college groups to the Pagoda for 15 years. My students love the Pagoda. It is a modest hotel , the staff is uniformly excellent, the location is superb and the restaurant is hard to beat anywhere in Honolulu. I would book the Pagoda again for my student groups in a heartbeat. Dr. William Stob

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 29, 2006

This hotel was absoutly dreadful . Bathrooms stunk to high heavens bugs everywhere, horrible service i was with my kids and they told them to F*** off.I told the manager and he told me the same thing.The food looked like it was going to be fed to pigs.Overall this place SUCKED do not stay here or you will be commiting a sin

Thank you

Moe Lester

  • Stayed January 1999
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2006

Our room at the Pagoda was absolutely horrible and we definitely did not enjoy our stay! The room was filthy! The carpet and walls were extremely stained and beyond dirty! The bathroom was deplorable! The tiles on the floors were broken and the sink and tub were extremely dingy! The towels were smelly, thin and very old. There was a fist hole right in the middle of the bathroom door. One of the beds in the living room was right up next to the window air conditioner unit and it made for very uncomfortable resting. We even saw a roach scurry across the floor. The issues mentioned above are beyond any cleaners and/or vacuuming. For what the Pagoda charged us, over $100 per night, the room was absolutely unacceptable.

We sent a letter to the Pagoda Hotel almost a month ago mentioning the issues listed above. We have not had a response, as of yet.

After our experience at the Pagoda, we moved to the ResortQuest Pacific Monarch in Waikiki. We were charged under $100 per night. Our room at the Pacific Monarch was beautiful, updated, and clean. We even had a partial ocean and city view.

There are wonderful hotels in Hawaii for people on a budget. The Pagoda was not even decent!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank We-Travel-The-World
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 8, 2005

Pros:
1. Beautiful koi pond
2. Moderate price
3. Convenient location

Cons:

1. Bathroom smelled like a dirty public restroom. It reeked of urine. There were strands of hair left from the previous hotel guests on the bathroom floor. icky.

2. The ventilation in the bathroom didn't work, which made the urine smell even worse. Also, the electric socket didn't work, thus, couldn't shave in the bathroom.

3. Housekeeping took over 1 1/2 hours to come. They didn't think that the urine smell and the hairy bathroom floor was an issue. It took them so long to come because there were so many calls that night requesting housekeeping and only 2 housekeepers on staff.

4. Television and in-room safe didn't work.

5. According to their website, parking was free. This was untrue, we were charged $5.00/night. False advertizement.

6. Loud banging on someone door late at night. This was scary. We were scared to leave our room.

7. Our window faced the back parking lot. Very noisy with slamming car doors and early wake-up by garbage trucks.

8. Breakfast at their hotel restaurant wasn't very good. All the food was cold. They charged me $2.00 for a cup of hot water. Wow.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#64 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,871 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Property: Pagoda Hotel
Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing