We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed February 13, 2014

If you are just looking for a decent place to stay, Pagoda Hotel is a good one. We stayed in a room with a kitchenette, so we were able to cook a quick meal if needed. Everything that you need is all close by the hotel. My sons visited the Koi pond and fed the fish . I recommend the hotel if you just need a comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maestra2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Aloha maestra2014,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review! I am so pleased that you were able to enjoy our location, kitchenettes, and all of the koi that frolic about at our restaurant. We eagerly await your return to the Pagoda Hotel.
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 512 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Very unfriendly staff, where we stayed was not attached to the main hotel, it was not what the pictures looked like on the nett when booked, building was a dirty looking building across the road from the main building, disappointing all round, even the locals we spoke to were amazed we were staying there; its only benefit was it was walking distance to wallmart, I was there in may 2012, never again.!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Aloha Janet H,
Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts. I apologize for the state of your room and the unfriendly staff. Though I have been at the property since June 2013, I know that we have made great strides with customer service and our rooms have improved dramatically since you stayed in 2012. We have refurbished the entire Tower and are currently working on renovating all of the Terrace units. Though you said you would never stay with us again, I do hope that you could reconsider as I am positive, you would be impressed with the changes.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

One great location. Walking distance from Ala Moana BLVD and many more important places. Wall-mart is a whisper away. Rooms are average and the bed is comfortable. No free wifi is a big disappointment. You need to pay $9 and $.40 tax per day for internet via a cable. You need a laptop for that. if you are only on a smart phone or tab, good luck.

The location is the reason to select this venue. Rooms will get road noise!

Room Tip: Higher you go lesser will be the noise. So pick a room on top most floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mark135904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Aloha mark153904,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed our awesome location...we are uniquely located in the Heart of Honolulu near Ala Moana and it's easy to get around. You will be happy to know that we are very close to installing wifi capabilities in our Tower and eagerly await that to happen soon. (Unfortunately, there will continue to be a charge. As a Lite Hotel, we offer value through affordable rates with no mandatory resort fees (that some of our competitors charge) with a la carte amenity fees for certain features.) We hope to welcome you back to the Pagoda in the near future!
Me Ka Ha'aha'a,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We live in Hawaii and needed a place to stay while home repairs were being done. Pagoda Hotel was the perfect solution for us. It's conveniently and centrally located in Honolulu near shops, various eateries; yet also minutes away from Waikiki. Great value and service, very friendly and helpful staff. It was like our home away from home for us. We stayed in a Tower Deluxe room; it met our needs (comfortable queen beds and pillows, also loved the room's layout). We enjoyed our stay, would stay there again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank iokuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Aloha iokuda,
Mahalo Nui for taking the time to post such a wonderful review! We pride ourselvse on welcoming both malihini and kamaʻāina alike. I am thankful that you loved our location and that the rooms met your needs. Also, I am overjoyed that you will continue to recommend us to your friends and family! All of us here at Pagoda hope to see you back very soon.
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

When we arrived we were given a room in the Terrace. It was really horrible, with old damaged furniture and depressing colours. When I rang the front desk, we were moved straight to the Tower (building with reception in it). Our room was refurbished, similar to the one pictured above, clean and had a view. The staff were extremely helpful, they made up our room every day, gave information and change and twice when I rang for maintenance a man arrived in about 5 minutes. The location is good, close to many restaurants and walking distance to the Ala Moana shopping centre for gifts, food and transport. There was usually at least one taxi waiting outside the door too.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Aloha AussieAdventurer50,
Mahalo for posting a review. Though I am sorry that you did not like your Terrace room, I am delighted that we were able to accommodate you in the Tower and that you were pleased with it. Thank you for pointing out our great location and helpful staff. All of us here at the Pagoda look forward to you returning to our little slice of Honolulu in the near future!
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Bedroom had fist holes in the door. The upholstery was worn through so badly you could see the foam padding. The carpets were badly stained. The aircoditioning unit in the bedrrom had leaked and stained the carpet. The air conditioner from the room above had leaked through the ceiling and the plaster had fallen off. The veneer had fallen off the coffee table. We arrived after 11pm and were told our room was not in the main block but up the street and across the road - no offer was made to help with bags or escort us to the room - not very comforting for 3 women late at night.

Room Tip: Website images are not a true repesentation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parky462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Aloha Parky462,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize for the worn state of your room. Currently, we are renovating the units at the Terrace, including new carpeting and upholstery. I am also sorry that we did not offer assistance with your luggage. Though we do not have a Bell Department, we could have had someone assist you. I do hope that you afford us another chance in the future, with perhaps one of our newly refurbished Tower rooms? Until next time...
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great accomodations in a very convenient location. Close to Ala Moana Center (5 min. walk), Waikiki (15 min. walk or 5 min. bus). Fantastic on site restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Near lots of shopping including Walmart and Don Quiote. All the employees, especially the front desk and restaurant were wonderful. Had a room in the tower on the 12th floor. When you stay here, forget about renting a car, no need. We look forward to returning to be a part of the Pagoda Ohana (family) again. Mahalo to all.

Room Tip: Room in the tower, high floor a must. Street peolple do loiter, but they also loiter in Waikiki in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ichiban2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Aloha ichiban2013,
I very much appreciate you taking the time to post a review! I am thankful that you found our service and location a great value to you and your family. Our 'ohana will be proud to welcome you back to the Pagoda very soon.
Mahalo Nui,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
265 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,453 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $143 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing