We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“don't believe the web site” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
california
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“don't believe the web site”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

stay away ! ever since the current corp. owner took over, approximately 4 years ago, Pagoda has slide to the bottom. the response from management consistently rebuffed any mention of an issue. the stained carpet, broken furniture, filthy bathrooms, and smell that would make a person choke. new management kept telling me that improvements were being made. not so. i am in Hawaii quite often for family. i now stay at the Ala Moana Hotel.

Room Tip: rooms near laundry are loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberto R, General Manager at Pagoda Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. I can certainly understand and share your disapointment. Please know that we are taking steps to better maintain our facility. I have discussed your comments with our management team, and we are very sorry for our inability to achieve the Aqua experience. Please be informed that the Pagoda Hotel is doing some renovation such as building painting, elevator modernization, electronic lock system upgrade, and room refresh which consist of unit painting, new carpet, new drapes, tiling, new lighting and bath fixtures. We have other plans to improve the facilities which inludes the pool, lobby, hallways and other common area spaces. Most of the works are in progress and it will take few more months to complete.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    119
    102
    58
    79
See reviews for
136
71
60
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Well i booked this hotel at last minute ,im thankful there was availability. The location is good next to like like drive inn and a few blocks away from Ala Mona Mall. Only thing i did not like was outside noise from the room i could hear everthing going on at street level and i was on the 8th floor. beside that a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Earl O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Sp
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

we ( 3 adults me, my daughter and her boyfriend) stayed for 12 days at the pagoda terrace hotel in a 2 bedroom +kitchenette room
the room has a very good space and woul easily accomodate 5 persons .
Kitchen and "living room"are good for breakfast and some fast food meal , has rice cooker,cofeemaker,microvawe,refrigerator,full suplie of tableware and dishes.
very good localization, walking distance from Alamoana shopping/wallmart/Ross and even if you like to walk, Waikiki beach.
bad points: as we arrived the room had a strong smell of fish ( probably from the previous guest)and it took almost a week and lots or room spray to feel ok.
it do needs renovation ( they said they were renovating the hotel and this room definatelly would need it)
elevator didn't work properly 2 evenings in a row.( or it was turned off)
I found a roach in the bathroom and I do killed it with my flip flop.but it stayed at the wall for 2 days till we removed it .( cleaning of the room was average)
even though the parking is paid separately, we have received 2 parking tickets : one for parking at a wrong spot ( we were told to park in the parking building werever we wanted ) and the second one because the parking "voucher"was not properly placed ( we did not removed it the 12 days we stayed there) both ticket were voided after we went to the parking office ( at least i hope they did) because at the front desk I was told that they could not help and that I had to go to the parking office.
Wifi not available ( only ethernet cable) and is collected separetely as well as the parking ( Thanks God I took my laptop with me)
They charge .75 for local calls even if you dial a 1-800 number
I did not used the pool or any other hotel facilities.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We traveled to Hawaii the first time in 2011 as a couple, then in 2012 decided to take the family. The first time we stayed in Aqua Wave Hotel which was nice.

When booking the hotel we thought that we did not need a nice place, all we need is a place to sleep, and shower, after all we would be out and about all the time so wasting money on a nicer hotel seemed ridiculous. Plus the pictures made it seem like a rather nice place. Boy where we ever wrong, this is just horrible. You cannot imagine how bad this hotel is!

Every morning, yes EVERY morning even Sunday, garbage trucks made very loud banging sounds while picking up the large medal garbage containers on the street. This happened from 2:30am - around 6:00am, our guys usually sleep like rocks but even they woke up. We traveled with a young couple and their baby could not sleep at all, so they transferred to the Aston on the beach in Waikiki and paid $300 more, I wish we would have done the same.

Rooms, filthy, stinky, moldy, beds uncomfortable, the halls are not even painted, cracks at the seams in the drywall, my garage has a better interior. The AC units have large gaps around as they are the "in window" type, ours almost fell out. The window opened and closed like a shutter blind which let in a-lot of sound at night as previously mentioned. Bathrooms are dirty, tile was cracked and peeling off, the bathroom doors had gaps in them which you could clearly see into the bathroom if someone opened the door to the hall. Also when we where the they were doing renovations and starting at 7:00am they were drilling and hammering outside and it sounded like it was in your room! Pool was also closed.

This hotel also is NOT structurally sound! Call me insane but when I placed my coffee on the table it was not level, so out of curiosity I went into the WalMart next door, purchased a small level and to my surprise parts of the floor where almost 3/8" off level, the walls and ceiling are also not level. I don't know who their inspector , but here in Cali those structural problems would have them shut down for sure.

This hotel is for the "hourly" people only, this is not a Hotel to say with a couple or family.

The Pagoda Restaurant has bad food too, at high prices, not nearly as horrible as the hotel but we went in for breakfast it tasted stale and wasn't fresh, even our toast tasted off :/ There is a McDonald's & Denny's in walking distance if you want a better breakfast.

In conclusion, I would say cancel your Beach-side Steakhouse reservations and pay the few hundred dollars more for a nicer place. You can actually get a nicer hotel for a mere $30 more than this. Just stay away.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms, I went to all the floors and they all are loud in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArteomS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Honolulu
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great location - very close to conference center, shopping and beach but needs painting, better decorating and upgrading the bathroom.
Nice staff, clean rooms.
Nothing special but overpriced - like all hotels at this time of the year.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Viera S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stay away from this hotel! Their prices are incredibly high for what it is! It makes a motel 6 look like a 5 star hotel. We were actually upgraded to a better room and it was a total disappointment! It was old, smelled like feet, had no wifi and charged $10 for using cable internet, it was very noisy, and the shower had sudden and unpredictable bursts of scorching hot water. For the price, you can have a much better deal in a hotel that's in a nicer area of Waikiki and with far better service! DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJTamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suva, Fiji
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed at Pagoda for a day and it was ok. The staff were very accommodating. They answered all the questions I had and even recommended a couple of places they thought would interest me.

The room itself is not too special. It is not a flash room but serves its purpose. The only problem I had was the air-conditioner which was a little noisy but that did not bother me too much. The thing I really liked was the size of the room. Compared to other rooms I have seen in Hawaii, this room was pretty large.

Also, on the day that I checked out, the hotel stored my luggage until my evening flight. So overall I was happy with the service I got for my money.

Don't go with very high expectations and you will be fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
1.2 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#53 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ala Moana Hotel
Ala Moana Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,948 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luana Waikiki Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Property: Pagoda Hotel
Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing