We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for your Buck”
Review of Pagoda Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pagoda Hotel
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at the Pagoda from 12/07/2012-12/11/12, we had a great experience with the room, we requested a nice clean room before our arrival because of all the reviews i read, but when we arrived at the hotel we were greated by warm spirited front office staff, the room was nice, clean, bed was soft. We didn't spend much time in the room of course because of other great things to do in the city! great location though!

Room Tip: request not to be in the Terrace, non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawaiian2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 512 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

For local residents of Hawaii, this hotel ranks as one of the favorites. It has been around for a long time and return visitors know what they will get for their money. It is conveniently located in walking distance to the Ala Moana Shopping Center and Ala Moana Beach Park. It's location makes it the gateway to Waikiki, but visitors must take a bus or drive into Waikiki.

Although the Hotel claims to have remodeled the room that we stayed it, there appeared to be minimal changes. It still had that well lived in looked that was both welcoming, but not fancy. The only problem was that during my five day stay, only one elevator was working. Lines were frequent, but for a mostly patient and understanding crowd.

Front desk personnel as well as housekeeping are friendly and helpful. They are very accommodating. You can get a special rate if you are from another island and on Oahu for medical reasons. You need to inquire at the front desk. Late check out is available. The restaurant is popular with the local crowd...prices are reasonable.

For a short stay to do shopping at Ala Moana and Walmart, it can't be beat. Parking is available for a fee. You could stay here without renting a car, but unless bus travel and waiting for the next bus is your thing, then i would advise against it.

A stay here won't break the bank, but don't expect 4 star service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was my second stay in the Pagoda. It's an excellent low price hotel, giving very good quality for the dollar. The Pagoda is also very well located. Ala Moana is just blocks away but the neighborhood is not the slightest bit touristy.

My room was large, bright and clean, though there were quite a number of broken or rusty things. The TV was nearly antique! The A/C thermostat turned off both the fan and cooling leaving the room silent. Then it cycled back on with a big swoosh! Fortunately I'm a sound sleeper. The bath was sparkling, much nicer than expected at this price.

The public spaces, the dark halls and the outside had a run down feeling. The management said a major renovation and complete painting were in process. The much ballyhooed Koi ponds were a let down.

The Pagoda is my hotel of choice in Honolulu when my brother's home is full.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ed G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We selected this hotel because of its location. Only 5 minutes to Ala Moana Shopping Center,
2 minutes to Walmart, Walgreen,Ross stores. There are many small ethnic restaurants within 4 blocks of this hotel, The best Japanese Sushi restaurant,called "Sasabune" is 4 minutes walk from here. Sasabune's dinner for 2 was equivalent to 2 nights hotel here. Pagoda employees the best people, friendly and efficient. Housekeepking staff are hard working people. It is a very Basic hotel but Clean. We liked the big Korean Restaurant across the street as they are open 24 hours and menu selection is large and food delicious. Good idea for travellers suffering from different time zone. Pagoda room (Terrace section) was much larger than any Waikiki hotel, had a stove, small refrigerator and microwave oven. This is the only hotel we will stay while in Honolulu. Enjoyed shopping at near by super store called " Don Quijote". The price of souvenirs was the lowest at this superstore.This area is more fun than Waikiki.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AthenaMSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My Boy Scout Troop and I recently spent a weekend at the Pagoda Hotel. We had a large group of Scout's and Adult Leaders that participated in our traditional Urban Camp. This event starts in the morning and ends up at the Pagoda Hotel at night. We do an Urban Hike which takes all around the Ala Moana and Waikiki area . It's a very fun and educational experience!

We have been staying at the Pagoda Hotel for years and have always had a very positive and enjoyable experience. The Staff is very professional, and will always accomodate my Group. They have plenty of Aloha Spirit! The rooms are nice, they have great ammenities and the price is outstanding! Great location with plenty of parking. It's in the middle of fun and excitment central
.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Al M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed at the Pagoda for a total of 10 days. It was a great experience one which I would love to repeat!

Location: Pagoda Hotel has a great location. It is a great place to start exploring Honolulu on foot. It is situated within 5-7 minute walking distance of many shops and restaurants and the Ala Moana shopping center. (There is a bus stop at the Ala Moana center from where you can explore Hawaii by bus).

Staff and Service: Both the front desk staff as well as the housecleaning staff are friendly and efficient. Example: I flew in from India and arrived early in the morning at 9:30 a.m and I was in need of a good wash. Since my check-in time was 3:30 p.m, my room was not available. Mr. Carlos at the front desk arranged the needful, and I was free to explore Honolulu for the next few hours. The housecleaning staff were quite good too. The towels and sheets were changed regularly, and coffee was made available in the morning

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krishnamoorthy_Iyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

stayed here only one night. Having had read some of the reviews i wasnt certain at first if this was gonna be the place to stay, but after some deliberating, i decided that i would stay at the Pagoda after hearing some good words from some of my friends who have stayed here in the past. being a solo traveller who was in Honolulu only overnight on a business trip, the Pagoda suited me just fine. sure, its a bit dated, and there is some work going on currently to improve the property, so at least that shows that the hotel is working on its appearance and maintainence issues. the room itself that i took, was an internet special priced, was decently cleaned all around, the air conditioner, you need to crank up to high, as the room is a bit stuffy as the windows dont open, but overall it suited me just fine. the Pagoda hotel staff was very prompt and curteous to all my needs during check in and check out.. plus this hotel is always busy. and another good thing is it being centrally located by a huge shopping district. overall i enjoyed my stay here and would choose the Pagoda upon my next visit to Honolulu. Cheers!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingfaamao75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
265 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,453 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Hotel

Address: 1525 Rycroft St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814-2494
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range: $143 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pagoda Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring warm island hospitality and a water garden of shaded paths, tumbling falls, and colorful koi, Pagoda Hotel is centrally located in the heart of Honolulu. Guest rooms include a refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Situated near Ala Moana Center, the hotel is conveniently located close to shopping, beaches, downtown Honolulu, Hawaii Convention Center and Waikiki. With our daily convenience fee, Pagoda Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include: DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki shuttle service, daily newspaper, in-room internet access, in-room coffee, in room safe, and local & toll-free calls. You'll also enjoy an outdoor swimming pool & sundeck, a renowned restaurant, meeting & banquet facilities, ample guest parking (fee), sundry shop, self-service & valet laundry service, and a beauty salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Pagoda Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Oahu
Pagoda Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing