We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget for $100 per night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pacific Marina Inn Airport
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Budget for $100 per night”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

When did I suddenly wake up and find that $100 per night gets you budget accommodation? Well it does in Honolulu. Location, Location, Location I guess is the key to it.

In reception they have photos of the cast of Hawaii 5O thanking them for filming there. The cast didn't stay there but I am guessing the hotel was used for where the plot tracked some low life criminal who was crashing at a cheap hotel. (Photos showed the cast with guns drawn around the hotel) Anyway the Hotel was proud of it's 3 seconds of fame.

So don't stay here if your overweight or have a heart condition because it is a 3 story walk up with no elevator and if you get a room on the top floor which I did then you’ll want to be part pack mule. They don't have a anyone to help you with luggage either or, if they do they certainly didn't volunteer him when I complained. I had 3 bags one heavy so I made 2 trips up and 2 trips down.

The room is very spartan but has a bed and a shower. There is a microwave and an empty fridge. No jug, no tea or coffee and no cutlery and no minibar. I made the joke when checking out that I didn't have anything from the minibar and the guy serving me looked confused. Okay, so my sense of humor might be a bit esoteric.

The hotel is isolated so you'd need to get a cab for a restaurant but they do have a restaurant downstairs next to reception. It's a Chinese Hamburger crossover joint if you can cope with the food culture. Next to the restaurant there is a Bar too. I didn't eat there so I can't vouch for the food.

This place did have a really nice swimming pool and it was well maintained. The internet worked great and was free and easy to log onto with no stupid passwords. It also has a 24 hour shuttle that runs every half hour on the hour. I found it clean and reasonably well managed.

So if you need a one night stop over near the airport at a reasonable price then this place might fit the bill.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    78
    162
    79
    101
See reviews for
76
173
75
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

For me the most important criterion was location when looking for a hotel for our late night arrival in Honolulu as I would be driving, tired and slightly disoriented after a long flight, in a city whose streets I didn't know. So I chose the Pacific Marina. It is about a 3 minute drive from the car rental area of the airport. I highly recommend this hotel for its location. The room was OK. A bit run down but clean (that was the next important or equally important criterion) and there was a second room where we left all our luggage and as it was late went right to sleep. In the morning I went down for coffee and, tea, for my husband. The sign said they provided both but there were no tea bags and no hot water. However when I pointed this out the young man behind the desk gave me a tea bag from his personal stash and heated up hot water so my husband could have his tea. Very thoughtful. This hotel was OK and I recommend it for its location and as an overnight hotel.

Room Tip: Room on second floor above the office was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

The pick up from the airport was good. But then you enter a complex reminiscent of the crystal palace in breaking bad. Add to this that the room smelt like toilet cleaner, the air conditioner was so loud one ear seems quieter this morning, and they failed to tell us that the shuttle back to the airport requires you 10 minutes before the departure time (although the 'it's not my problem' sign was tapped this morning displaying this rule - it wasn't shown after midnight last night) and all in all I'm not a happy camper this morning. Spend $20 more and go for the next one up.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Detunednath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed one night here on our way to Maui. We had a room with a queen bed and two full size beds in the other room. It works great for families as our 13 year old daughter and 17 year old son each had their own bed. A little on the small side but clean. They have free airport shuttle and coffee. That's about it for amenities. The Chevron station is around the corner so the kid and I went and got ice cream. Woo hoo. There is also a small fridge in the room so it makes it very handy. I am pretty sure that there are people living at the hotel so that makes it kind of weird. However we felt safe. No elevators so you have to carry your luggage if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floors. Nothing to do in the are so hopefully you are coming to sleep, shower and leave. Great for one night stays. I wouldn't do more than that. Oh, and some of the new Hawaii 5-0 has been filmed in the hotel lobby. That makes it fun. Or at least notable.

Room Tip: Our room faced the pool and was on the 2nd floor. We didn't notice any additional noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The right hotel for staying overnight close to the airport. They provide all the basics for a fair price and they offer a free and very convenient free shuttle service to the airport. We didn't try the pool, the chinese restaurant wasn't really worth it. The room was small and very noisy, at the ground level and on the outside, so that in addition to airplanes flying over our heads, we also had cars and passers buy keeping us awake.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannythyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We used the hotel as a day room for a long lay over in Honolulu. The hotel is close to the airport and has a free shuttle. After arriving at HNL we called the hotel for the shuttle and it arrived within 15 minutes, although it passed us and we had to run after it. Check in was very nice and courteous. The rooms are very similar to a Motel 6,'plus the hotel offers free parking. It might be noisy at night since the windows are not isolated. The pool is nice although cold. The hotel is in an industrial area void of civilization, no shops, no services. Several buslines pass by closely. There is a good and friendly Chinese restaurant in the hotel-- the only one around. The area is filled with several homeless, scavenging through the garbage. The hotel might be filled with Section8 type housing. Although safe, not inviting and a far cry from paradise. Avoid unless you are desperate.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomSonntag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Was here for a quick night in Honolulu from an international location before flying in to Kona the next morning. Regretted staying in this hotel. Very small room. Bathroom and bed were ok. Restaurant does not open to serve breakfast until 0900. Staff not customer-service trained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,031 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Tower Waikiki
#84 of 84 in Honolulu
245 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,347 reviews
White Sands Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Marina Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Marina Inn Airport

Property: Pacific Marina Inn Airport
Address: 2628 Waiwai Loop, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1938
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Marina Inn Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one Oahu hotel you can count on for convenience and value. This is the Pacific Marina Inn, five minutes from Honolulu International Airport, 15 minutes from downtown Honolulu, and 20 minutes from Waikiki, making it perfect for the business traveler or commuter. With complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle service, this hotel is a great option for those looking to spend an evening in Oahu between flights or for an affordable option that offers a location off of the beaten path. The hotel room accommodations include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen TV, and high-speed Wi-Fi connectivity. Guests may enjoy the hotel's swimming pool, a drink at the Canoe Hut Lounge, or complimentary musical entertainment and dancing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Marina Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Marina Hotel Honolulu
Pacific Marina Honolulu
Pacific Marina Inn Honolulu
Pacific Marina Inn Airport Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing