We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yuck!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Marina Inn Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pacific Marina Inn Airport
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yuck!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Heed the low rating people! It's there for a reason. We stayed here for two nights when our place was being fumigated for termites and will not stay here again! For the price we paid, it's not worth it. We could've stayed at other hotels in Waikiki for a cheaper price and been within walking distance of beaches and shopping.

It's not overly expensive here but as a warning to tourists, you're probably better off paying the same amount of money or just a little more for places closer to all the attractions. This hotel is remotely located after passing a few auto dealer centers. There is a park area next to the hotel which is nice for walking. They also have a swimming pool which can get loud with all the people screaming, running, and jumping into the pool. So if you want peace and quiet, this is not the place for you.

The furnishings are basic: cheap bedding, cruddy flat carpeting, bar soap with no suds...that type of place. No other amenities, no niceties, no aloha at the front desk. Just process in and process out. For a cheaper price I would understand. For $140 a night, I expect something more.

Room Tip: First floor rooms can get noisy with people walking to the pool. Rooms have slatted windows so the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank csamcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    58
    140
    65
    93
See reviews for
64
142
62
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Read a lot of pretty negative reviews for this place but we decided it was so close to the airport and the right price for us so we took the chance. After a 12hr journey from New Zealand, we arrived at Honolulu Airport and made a call using the supplied free phone and the complimentary airport shuttle was there within minutes. Check in was pleasant and friendly and we arrived at our room exhausted. Very basic room, but exactly what we needed for one night before our flight to Kauai the next morning. The pool was a welcome sight at midnight and 26 deg c, and the room was tidy and the bed comfortable. This may not be a luxury spot, but for one night, it certainly did the job and the location so close to the airport that it seemed like a good option. Free shuttle back to the airport the following morning was very appreciated and the concierge who drove us was very forthcoming with local information and a very friendly attitude. Keep your expectations realistic and the location and convenience of this place will reward.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TashandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Ok, we "won" the bid on hotwire for $99. The Motel (not inn as they suggest) is near the airport its only advantage as we just spent 10 hours in the air and we were leaving for Maui the next morning.. Rooms are out of the 50's. Double beds etc. We would not venture out of the room after dark.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiaman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Paris, France
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Everything is basically in the title: the room was a bit old and needed refurbishment, the staff was not always friendly, and I ended up by paying c. 120$. So a good choice, but only if you're between planes, I wouldn't stay more than a night...

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank matthieu_paname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
173 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just got back from a 5 night Stay at this property.Only thing this Property has going for it was location to airport.If you want sleep forget about it at this place very noisy walls paper thin.Front Desk Staff very unfriendly felt like I was putting them out when I needed something.My Wife & I have travelled ali over the World and this is the First time I'm compelled to write a negative review.

Room Tip: Unless it's a One Night Lay over don't stay at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I spent a week here alone and the staff was extremely nice. There were no other rooms to be found on the island due to the Chinese New Year. Its old but my room was clean and my first room's AC broke and they moved me immediately, offering to move it all for me. They made me feel safe and they had coffee in the lobby. There are a couple of quick marts at the end of one street, just a few hundred feet away.

The ride to and from the airport was quick and friendly. They even carried me to my rental car on my second day there.

The restaurant on the grounds was passable - always busy. Yes its in an industrial area and yes it costs more than mainland motels. It felt like Grandma's place.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms cost more and there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bbwisblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I read the reviews here before booking. We had to stay over one night between travelling from Big Island to Australia. I reluctantly booked this and lowered my expectation level to zero.

On arrival the staff were very friendly and they had free wifi. The room was simple but clean. The bathroom was clean. I can compare this to a clean Motel 6 room. This was perfect for a one night stay over but don't book this as a holiday destination as it really is just a transit hotel.

We ate before we arrived as I read from previous reviews that there is only one Chinese restaurant nearby. The Motel has a bar but no food.

They offer a free shuttle service which was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonicP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Waikiki
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
Hawaiian Monarch Hotel
#79 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Pagoda Hotel
#67 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Waikiki
Holiday Surf Hotel
Holiday Surf Hotel
#75 of 84 in Honolulu
3.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Marina Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Marina Inn Airport

Property: Pacific Marina Inn Airport
Address: 2628 Waiwai Loop, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1938
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Marina Inn Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is one Oahu hotel you can count on for convenience and value. This is the Pacific Marina Inn, five minutes from Honolulu International Airport, 15 minutes from downtown Honolulu, and 20 minutes from Waikiki, making it perfect for the business traveler or commuter. With complimentary 24-hour airport shuttle service, this hotel is a great option for those looking to spend an evening in Oahu between flights or for an affordable option that offers a location off of the beaten path. The hotel room accommodations include air conditioning, private bath, flat screen TV, and high-speed Wi-Fi connectivity. Guests may enjoy the hotel's swimming pool, a drink at the Canoe Hut Lounge, or complimentary musical entertainment and dancing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pacific Marina Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Marina Hotel Honolulu
Pacific Marina Honolulu
Pacific Marina Inn Honolulu
Pacific Marina Inn Airport Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing